Ratings based on 2,466 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.1 out of 5
61% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very basic. Perfect for events nearby

Posted Sep 29, 2016
Pros: Great location, cheap price.
Cons: Rooms need some TLC. Paint, trim, electrical panels to cover exposed wire, comfortable bed.
Location: Lots of casinos, a few concert halls, bars
This hotel/casino was comfortable yet very basic and a great place to stay if you're needing a one night or short stay. A great central location for bargaining price. We were able to walk anywhere we needed. The walls were thin though, we could hear anyone walking by and anyone talking around us. Below, on each side, and above. Some of the wall paper was peeling, trim coming up, cable exposed, but it kept us safe and gave us a place to sleep. The beds weren't that comfortable though, I woke up very stiff the next day. I would go back again if I needed. 3 out of 5
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Santa Cruz, CA

Good place to stay!

Posted Sep 27, 2016
We had a good experience, however on a separate incidents I went up the the check in area to ask the staff about the activities for that evening and about their restaurant and both employees were unfamiliar with both.. staff needs to be more knowledgeable of the business they are working for.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Issaquah, Wa.

The Sands Hotel staff were great.

Posted Sep 27, 2016
Pros: The hotel staff were excellent.
Cons: The physical condition of the hotel has deteriorated over the years.
Location: The La Famiglia restaurant serves the best Italian food.
The Sand's hotel staff were friendly, and know their jobs. However, the hotel has seen better days.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Ok Hotel close to everything

Posted Sep 26, 2016
Cons: Our bathroom was not very clean.
We have stayed at this hotel for the last several years and it has been ok. However for the last couple of years the cleanliness has gone down steadily as well as the City of Reno but the prices keep going up. Probably my last year for Street Vibrations.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 26, 2016
Pros: comfortable bed and spacious room. Excellent water pressure on shower
Cons: perhaps a coffee pot in the room. coffee in kiosk was expensive and weak
Fairly quiet rooms. Buffet was great. Could have used a coffee pot in the room
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 26, 2016
Pros: The casino was nice and the eating facilities were quite nice.
Cons: Read my experience
Location: many
The first room we had the calking around the tub was filthy and was cracking and coming up. We got moved to another room and checked the tub area, it was acceptable. What we didn't notice was the night stand between the beds was covered with a lot of slop (filthy) and there looked to be , well nose waste to put it bluntly. I cleaned it. I proceeded to let the front desk know about it and they had nothing to say, except, well we're sorry. When someone comes into our home, I want to honor them by making sure they are always taken care of and making sure their room is clean. your goal should be to never have this kind of incident happen. You failed and need to see why. We stayed in this hotel several years ago and it was very nice, it has been allowed to become run down and very second rate.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 26, 2016
Staff were excellent, from security, to maids, to desk clerks. But, the facility is being bled by the owners. Missing light bulbs, erratic performance of electronic room keys, as confirmed by staff, etc. Only by hiding in one's room can a patron get away from the awful noise they post as "entertaining" music.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Heart of the action

Posted Sep 26, 2016
Stayed for 4 nights Street Vibrations. Hotel was clean. Beds comfortable. Food good. Everything I could have wanted. Close to center of the action. Safe place for motorcycle with security guards. Price was great. Staff was curtious and helpful. What else do you need.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Dirty room, terrible food, no pay back on slots

Posted Sep 26, 2016
The room was the dirtiest I have ever seen the windows the mirrors the pictures the TV we found sunflower seeds in the air conditioner fan in the bathroom full of dust the toilet paper holder have stains, on the countertop edges had an inch of dust , dusts everywhere, the buffet was terrible the salmon was dry enchiladas were hard no flavor on anythong and the pound of steak was kind of Overkill considering the time you got it you were done with everything else The Improv Comedy Show we didn't like they were supposed to be the best in Reno and thei slots are really tight no payback on anything
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Calling this a 3-star hotel is being generous.

Posted Sep 26, 2016
This place is dated. There are no refrigerators in the rooms unless you get a suite. The sheets are rough, the beds are uncomfortable and there was no hot water in the morning to take a shower. The parking lot and garage were full, so we had to park a couple of blocks away. Unless you are getting a really good deal, I wouldn't recommend paying full price for a room here.