Ratings based on 6,029 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.3 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Monterey, CA

Worst hotel experience I have had

Posted Nov 22, 2015
The front desk clerk was very helpful and pleasant. She answered all my questions. The downside was the room did not have have any of the basics to make my stay easy and comfortable. The room did not have a iron, nor a coffee maker. The beds in my room had hair all over the place as if they were only dusted off after the previous guest. The inside of the drawers were also dusty. The worst part was when I witnessed a prostitute offering services to guests in the casino!. The prostitute was sitting at the slot machines pretending she was playing the slot machine and as a young male walked by she offered "services " to him. It was extremely discussing. Also another bad experience was when "Chad" one of the dealers at a table robbed a guest of his winnings. Chad claimed he had payed the guest after winning a game of cards, which was false. Chad kept the winnings of the guest and walked away from the table and told the guest he could have the guest kicked out from the table if Chad wanted to. Chad seemed to have a cocky attitude. Chad the dealer at the Sands Regency hotel and casino is thief. This hotel has ALOT of cleaning up to do. Everyone please be aware when staying at this hotel if you have to. If you can avoid staying at the Sands Regency hotel and casino, do avoid it.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler


Posted Nov 22, 2015
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from san jose

Good location

Posted Nov 19, 2015
Pros: Location close to AMTRAK and bus.
Cons: New ventilation, new paint, clean carpets.
An older hotel near the heart of downtown Reno. Ventilation was weak. Lots of cigarette smoke in the air. Good location for restaurants and tourist faciliites. Room was pleasant with a good view of the Sierras.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The Hotel/Casino time forgot.

Posted Nov 19, 2015
The hotel misrepresented the "voucher" I was to receive, and when I complained offered me a coupon for the buffet which was really the regular price. I would not eat or drink at the Sands. Expedia should no longer do business with Sands.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Old hotel needs updating, seedy people galore.

Posted Nov 18, 2015
Pros: The gambling downstairs and diner were extremely fun and friendly.
Cons: The security and rooms. Its not the most 1970's anymore.
Location: There's other hotels and a convention center. If you wanna drink and gamble, then the sands is for you.
My first trip to Reno and I booked this hotel. I was scared the minute I went and parked my car in the lot. There's unsavory characters at the entrance as well as gambling inside. The security doesn't make you feel secure when they stand there looking into space either. The rooms and hallways might as well all be smoking, the lobby, elevators, and halls reek of smoke and alcohol. I was very disappointed.
3 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from World Wide

Ok for the price

Posted Nov 18, 2015
Pros: price is the only real selling point however the bar downstairs has a good selection and is priced well
Cons: cleanliness. if the hotel was cleaner its other shortcomings could be overlooked
Location: pretty close to all the downtown casinos/bars/restaurants but not the friendliest area
Ok for the price, facilities are definitely old and worn down but are functional. Cleanliness leaves something to be desired....bits of food in carpet / booger on bed skirt
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from tacoma wa

Worst room ever. Carpet was gross.

Posted Nov 17, 2015
Pros: Good parking.
Cons: Recapped the rooms. Friendlier staff. Longer buffet hours.
Location: Reno Nv
This casino needs an update. Filthy carpet, no blanket on the bed. No refrigerator, coffee maker or iron in the room either. Spend a little more and go to any other casino in Reno. Buffet didn't open until 4 pm, already out of town by then.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Francisco, CA

Slightly below average.

Posted Nov 16, 2015
Pros: Staff was nice and courteous.
Cons: Updating of the rooms.
Location: Very close to Virginia Street. Less than a 5 minute walk to get to the other major casinos.
Room was not clean. There was a layer of crumbs and dust where the walls meet the floor. Carpet was very old and tattered. NO soap or shampoo? I didn't realize any hotel ever actually didn't have them in the room standard. Housekeeping did bring some when I called though, so that was nice.
3 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sacramento

Cheapest casino-hotel on/near the downtown strip

Posted Nov 15, 2015
Not bad. We checked in late and they had already run out of king beds so they gave us a room on the top floor with two queen beds instead. The tv worked and the heater worked. No complaints about that. A mini fridge and microwave would've been nice but most Reno hotel rooms seem to not have them I've noticed. I've stayed here before and well probably be back again.
4 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Philadelphia

Nice Hotel

Posted Nov 13, 2015
Pros: Inexpensive and clean.
Cons: Some updating.
Location: Limited.
It was a pleasant stay. Some of the facilities required updating, however, the hotel was clean and the staff were affable.