Ratings based on 553 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Great hotel in City Center

Posted Aug 8, 2017
This hotel was great! I went with 4 guests including myself and we had 2 rooms. Both were beautiful and exceptionally clean. The beds were comfortable and the view was beautiful, especially at night.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 9, 2017 by viminale hill, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for leaving us this nice feedback. We arwe glad you had a beautiful time at Al Viminale Hill. Thank you for appreciating our services and features. We hope you had a good homecoming and we are looking forward to have you back. Best regards
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Columbus, Ohio

Nice hotel but not the most ideal location

Posted Jul 26, 2017
Hotel and staff were not but not the ideal location for my family.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Montreal

Very pleased

Posted Jul 24, 2017
I really liked this hotel. The room was nice and clean. Very well located at 10 minutes walk from Rome Termini trail station. There is also a fabulous restaurant located just beneath called Matriciana. I have nothing to criticize about this hotel. I strongly recommend tgis hotelm
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from m

Good

Posted Jul 19, 2017
Staff was helpful upon arrival, location was good 😊, but the picture they advertise with a big building is not the hotel.. other than that everything it's good
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Alberta, Canada

Could be excellent if you get the correct room.

Posted Jul 16, 2017
Pros: Clean, friendly staff.
Cons: Putting you into the type of room that you booked and paid for.
Location: 8 min. walk from the train station. Lots of restaurants. Within walking distance to several sites. Close to public transportation.
We stayed at this hotel in March 2016 for 5 days and had a lovely, clean, spacious room with a comfy bed on the first floor, looking out onto the street and the Opera House, which we would rate as a 5. So we booked the same type of room again (an executive room) for a short 2 night stay at the beginning of July and when they checked us into our room, it was a tiny room with a pull out couch for a bed, a chair, a bathroom, and nowhere to put our luggage except on the window sill, where the window opened up to a balcony from the adjoining building where we could have shook hands with the noisy occupants. The refrigerator did not work, and neither did some of the bathroom lights. This room was obviously a budget room which we later realized by the plate on the door which read BR with no room number. We went to the office to complain as this was not the room that we had booked. They apologized and said that they could not do anything for us that day as they were fully booked, but would do their best to move us to an executive room for the next night and gave us coupons for a free 7 Euro breakfast, which we did use but did not make up for the terrible sleep we had on the pull out couch. They did move us to an executive room for the second night which was a very nice room, but I don't think I can recommend this hotel if you cannot be assured that you will get the type of room that you book and pay for.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Amazing hotel

Posted Jul 15, 2017
We spent 3 nights at this hotel. Rooms were comfortable, clean and everything was in great working condition, brilliant aircon and a safe was provided with neither having an extra charge. The hotel was a 5 minute walk to the nearest metro station (republicca) and as we only needed the metro for 2 days we paid €12 for unlimited use for 48hours, this allowed us to visit all the main attractions in rome. We had a flight delay meaning we were late checking in but the man on reception was brilliant, he made us feel welcome, amswered all the questions i had and showed us to the room and how to work everything. Can't fault anything with the hotel or our stay in rome. Wifi worked well. Free teas and coffee were great. Overall excellent experience from this hotel, highly reccommend it. (Young couple staying for 3 nights)
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ranchi Cucamonga, CA

Not a comfortable place

Posted Jun 30, 2017
The hotel is well located, close to touristic sites and the train station. However, the building is unkept and short staffed. The reception is a very small room that opens late in the morning and closes at 10 pm. It has a very old elevator that sound like failing at any time. The stairs are dirty and there is a funny smell all around the building including the room which is very small and uncomfortable. Not a place to recommend for regular travelers.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 12, 2017 by viminale hill, Hotel Management
Dear Oscar, We are sorry to read this bad review from you. It's very disappointing to see you are revenging on us this way because we couldn't allow a refund because you were coming in 2 instead of 3. We were fully booked when you did the request and there was no more possibility to make a change with a double one. More disappointing is you did not mention anything either during your stay or at the check-out. You just waited to write it on internet. The building is a heritage one from the '800. Elevator has a classical style and goes under maintenance regularly. We understand though that those people who may have not used one of this kind can feel very uncomfortable, but being made partially by wood it's clear you will going to hear wood creak. By the way photos and mentions of the building, elevator and rooms, and other many information can be easily find online, in order to help you on making an idea before booking. Reception opens in the morning at 8.00, which is not actually considered late morning. We are sorry you could not enjoy your stay. Hope you had a good homecoming. Best regards.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne Australia

Great holiday

Posted Jun 11, 2017
Pros: Very clean and secure.
Cons: n/a
Location: Great location walking distance to the Trevi Fountain and the Spanish steps, some great restaurants near by, small supermarket a few doors down
We loved the hustle and bustle of Rome, its definitely an experience trying to cross roads which don't have traffic lights.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 29, 2017 by viminale hill, Hotel Management
Dear Susan, Thank you very much for leaving us a very positive feedback on your stay. Thank you also for pointing out our great position in the heart of the city, we are glad this has helped you to reach all the most important attractions mainly by walking. We are glad you enjoyed very much Rome atmosphere. Actually there are traffic lights in the city, maybe you are talking about those very little streets were no many cars are circulating. Thank you for staying at Al Viminale Hill. Hope you had a nice homecoming. Best regards
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chesham, UK

Excellent rooms in a central location

Posted Jun 3, 2017
We arrived for a late check-in (gone midnight, check-in closes at 10pm) for which the owner had created a brilliant short WhatsApp video to show us how to let ourselves in. However, when we got there he was there to welcome us and guide us to our rooms, which was a real bonus when you're tired. After that, reception staff were always to hand, courteous and helpful. This hotel has no bar, restaurant or lounge areas, however we were planning to spend all our days out in the city, and just wanted a really good standard of room for a good night's sleep. In addition, the ability to walk to all the main attractions. Well, this place does not disappoint. If you're after the same, go for it!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 12, 2017 by viminale hill, Hotel Management
Dear Paul, Thank you very much for your kind feedback. We are glad you had a beautiful stay at Al Viminale Hill. Our very first thought is to make our guests feel comfortable and satisfied. As we are very well located, we are surrounded by many restaurants, bars, and markets. We however put at the disposal of our guests a little corner coffee area where they can have some coffee and tea, anytime they want. We are glad also that out position has helped to easily reach the main attractions. Hope you had a nice homecoming.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Great location and good value

Posted May 24, 2017
Very convenient location near metro and train station. Very clean and large room. Very helpful staff who speaks English. They handled my late arrival very well.