Ratings based on 614 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Great location & staff!

Posted Feb 25, 2018
Pros: Great location next to the train which was perfect for day trips to other Italian cities.
Cons: Thin walls, but you find that everywhere in Rome!
Location: Walking distance to train, subway, Colosseum, Pantheon...
Great location right next to the train/subway and walking distance to many attractions including the colosseum. The manager helped us tremendously when our airport shuttle cancelled on us 2.5 hours before our international flight left (we almost missed our plane but didn't because the hotel manager called a ton of taxis, showed us the closest ATM and then waited with us until the taxi arrived). The walls were thin but so are all the walls in a city as old as Rome! The lights in the shower were very cool. Great king sized bed.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bristol

Good hotel for the price

Posted Jan 7, 2018
We stayed five nights. The location worked really well for us it was five minutes walk from termini or republica so getting about was easy although not too far to walk anywhere. The staff were extremely helpful and room clean and smart. I thought the shared kitchen was going to be a place we could cook but it was a tea making space so hopefully you won’t make the same mistake I did as it meant we spent more on food. The room we were in was on the small side but shower was great although seemed to take awhile to warm up. Also we were catching a late flight so it was great that for one euro per bag we could leave our bags for the day. All in all we liked staying here.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 11, 2018 by Viminale Hill Staff, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your positive review. It is always a pleasure for us to receive our guests feedbacks. We are glad you have found our position a good point to start the exploration of the city, being so close to the main attractions and means of transport. Thank you for appreciating our staff and the room assigned. Showers are definitely a cuddle, with their extra features as chromotherapy and hydromassage help you to relax. We are sorry, but there has been a misunderstanding about the shared coffee corner as there is no mention about a kitchen. We are sorry this has been a drawback for you. Thank you for choosing to stay at Al Viminale Hill, we are glad to know it was a pleasant experience for you, we hope then to see you also on your next trip. Best regards
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from North Carolina

Nice hotel, great walking distance to most things.

Posted Jan 4, 2018
Pros: The hotel staff was incredibly friendly and helpful
Cons: The furniture and decor of the place definitely needs to be updated. It was not up to standards as far as hotel furniture should be.
Location: There were lots of local restaurants nearby (although most of them are tourists traps). There was also a coffee shop and a mini supermarket close by.
Our experience at this hotel was overall good. While the accommodations are a little dated and quirky (it definitely felt like we were staying in someone's old apartment and not a hotel), the best part was the hotel staff. They were amazing from the moment that we checked in. They gave us several maps that marked the things that we must see in the city, some local places to eat, and how to get from here to there. They also helped us book a morning tour of the Vatican. When I asked about the "Travel Buddy" phone that was supposed to be included in the reservation, they informed me that it was not included in the loft/apartment that we had reserved but proceeded to find one for me anyways. (This is a huge plus by the way, they provide a smart phone for you to use during your stay, you can make local and long distance calls on it as well as texts and use data around the city during your stay. This helped save us $30 by not having to use our international data plan on our personal phones during our visit.) I'd also recommend contacting the hotel and arranging for transport from the airport to the hotel in advance. We were ripped off by a taxi driver from the airport who charged us 145 Euros to take us from the FCO airport to the hotel, do not fall victim to one of these scams, pre-arrange your travel to the hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 11, 2018 by Viminale Hill Staff, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your positive review. It is always a pleasure to read our guests impressions as they give us a more realistic picture of the service we offer, what is good and what else needs some improvements. Thank you for the lovely mention on our reception staff, they do always their best to ensure our guests a pleasant stay and an unforgettable experience in Rome.. We are sorry that the impressions on the furniture did not look very great to you, it is a modern, colorful and funny style, which may seem quirky. The "old" feeling is because it still keeps some traits of the building itself, as the old wooden door with its characteristic door lock. About the Smartphone the only thing to do is to ask the reception to have it and they will provide it the soon as possible. We are glad you enjoyed it and that it has helped you during your stay. We are sorry you have troubles with some tourists traps, for the restaurants reception will give the name of just a few nearby which we trust most as we know they have a good value for the money and that prepare truly local recipes. Same with the taxi's and other similar options , we always propose to our guests before their arrival our transfer service as we have a very trusted company we work with. Thank you for staying at our property and also for taking your time to share your experience, hope you were left with a beautiful memory on Rome, the Eternal City. We hope you had also a good homecoming. Best regards
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler from Liverpool

Good hotel if you are on a budget - very central

Posted Dec 23, 2017
Pros: It is comfortable and the room was spacious
Cons: The communal kitchen needs improving
Location: location could not be better. the colosseum, spanish steps and trevi fountain were all an easy walk away!
This hotel is great if you are a student or on a small budget. Everything is within walking distance apart from the Vatican but Termini rail station is only a short walk away. The room was comfortable and the shower was fantastic but our fridge did not appear to be working the communal kitchen also had a broken oven. We also did not receive a bottle of wine as advertised on here. This hotel would be best for those whom are just looking for a hotel to sleep in rather than somewhere to spend time during the holiday. We in all enjoyed our stay and would recommend it to other students.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 15, 2018 by Viminale Hill Staff, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your feedback. We appreciate very much the time our guests dedicate us to write down their impressions. Thank you for appreciating our position in the city center, we are glad this has helped you to get around easily. Rooms have been designed to offer maximum comfort and rest and all showers are provided with chromo therapy and hydromassage, we are happy to know you liked it. We are sorry to hear there were problems with the fridge, sometimes it may happen that the handle was set on the wrong temperature, but we did not received complaints in order to check. There is no oven but just an electric cooking plate that has been dismissed for safety reasons. The corner coffee is not a communal kitchen but just a place to have some hot drinks anytime. We apologize for the error occurred with the wine bottle, it was an our mistake. In case you would like to come back in the future we will make sure to give you a more consistent welcome gift . Thank you for choosing to stay at Al Viminale Hill and we hope you had a good homecoming. Best regards
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Comfortable hotel near Termini

Posted Nov 22, 2017
Comfortable hotel, very convenient to Termini and walking distance to many sights. Room is small but comfortable and quiet. Very helpful staff. Would stay again
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 25, 2017 by Viminale Hill Staff, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for your lovely review. We are happy to know your stay has been very good. We are glad you appreciated our rooms and their extras , they have been thought to offer comfort and welfare. Thank you for mentioning our central position in the heart of the city, from where is very easy to reach all the most important attractions like the Colloseum and Trevi Fountain in a little time, mainly by walking. Also it offers a good choice of places where to eat and shop. Thank you for choosing Al Viminale Hill for your stay, we hope to see you again in the future. Best regards
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Central location

Posted Nov 20, 2017
The hotel was centrally located. Hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. The room was very clean with a fantastic shower 😁. I would definitely recommend this hotel
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 23, 2017 by Viminale Hill Staff, Hotel Management
Dear Guests, Thank you for your review, we are glad you enjoyed your time in Rome. Position is very comfortable, helping you to easily reach most of the important places by just walking and also giving a lot of choices for eating and shopping. We are glad you enjoyed the bathroom's features, like the shower with chromotherapy and hydromassagge. Our housekeeping staff does a very great job cleaning rooms meticulously everyday in order to keep them beautiful and fresh. Thank you for appreciating their hard work. It is always a pleasure to know guest’s have been satisfied as this is our primary goal, it makes us really proud of what we are doing and give us the motivation on doing even better than before. Thank you for choosing Al Viminale Hill for your stay, and we are looking forward to have you back on your next trip to the Eternal City. Best regards
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel, great location, great price

Posted Nov 19, 2017
Pros: Great central location and lovely hotel.
Cons: Possibly a quieter air conditioning unit and maybe a more comfortable sofa bed but this didn't affect my stay or recommending the hotel
Location: 5 min walk from termini station and bus stops for sightseeing. 15 min walk to collessium, Spanish steps, trevi fountain etc.
I booked this hotel for a weekend break to Rome with two girlfriends at the end of September 2017. The hotel is a 5 minute walk from Termini station and within walking distance of a lot of Rome's sights and the bus stops for the sightseeing buses. We arrived on Thursday evening late (don't use terravision coach transfers!!) and there was someone in reception to welcome us and show to our room. The hotel entrance is slightly hidden but quite magical, a large door which goes through to a courtyard and a lovely large staircase and old style elevator. The rooms are situated on the first floor (possible also second floor but not sure!) on the landing is a small kitchen area with a coffee machine and collection of books/DVDs to borrow. We stayed in a triple room. Unfortunately I drew the short straw and slept on the sofa bed which wasn't particularly comfy and was directly under the air conditioning which we had to have on because it was very warm in the room and so I didn't sleep particularly well. Shower is lovely! We did have one occasion when there was no hot water but this was rectified pretty quickly. Overall a great hotel in the centre of Rome and I would highly recommend if you are looking for a central base at a good price!
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 27, 2017 by Viminale Hill Staff, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, We thank you for your positive and kind review, we are very happy you had a pleasant stay. We do our best to ensure our guests a lovely stay, accompanying them to discover the beauties of the Eternal City. Our staff welcome guests from the very beginning with a smile and a positive attitude, always willing to help for any matter, giving information and advices. We are glad you liked the room assigned, we have chosen a style which reminds to the Opera House itself, but to soften it a bit as it may appear not too modern, we choose some modern features either for the rooms and for the bathrooms. The main one is definitely the emotional shower which is by far the most appreciated by our guests, with its color therapy and hydro-massage features, offers moments of relax and welfare, especially if you had a long journey exploring the city. Coffee corner it’s definitely a plus as well, thank you for appreciating it. We are sorry to understand there were some small issues that disturbed somehow your stay. It will be a pleasure to have you back if you decide to comeback in the future. Thank you for choosing to stay at Al Viminale Hill and we hope you had a beautiful homecoming. Best regards
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 11, 2017 on Ebookers
Nice hotel and staff. Couldn't get the air conditioning to work, therefore uncomfortable nights sleep. It doesn't have a bar area like it states. Close to everything.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 25, 2017 by Viminale Hill Staff, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your nice feedback. We are glad you enjoyed your stay in Rome. Thank you for pointing out our position in the heart of the city which allows you to reach all the most important locations in a little time mainly by walking. About the air conditioner it may have happened that windows were not well shut. In the information sheet in the room we mention this, but however our staff can be reached for further expalnations in case guests are not aware of all the room functiones. Our staff is always willing to help during the stay. We are sorry to knmow you slept bad for this reason though. We have always specificated that if the word "bar" is mentioned it stays for the corner where we put at the guests disposal the necessary for preparing hot drinks like cofee and tea. Thank you for staying at Al Viminale Hill and we hope you had a good homecoming. Best regards
5 out of 5
by Jeff

Posted Nov 2, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 8, 2017 by emiliano, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your positive evaluation. It's always a pleasure to receive our guest's feedback to have an idea of how their stay has been, and we are happy to understand yours was a very good one. Thank you for staying at Al Viminale Hill and we hope you had a goodhomecomig. Best regards
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

Good location, clean room, but tiny

Posted Nov 1, 2017 on CheapTickets
The WiFi sucks, and after 9 pm it starts to slow down a lot. The room is nice, but it’s very tight. And if you’re on the heavy side, you will be so uncomfortable trying to shower. The shower is very nice, but it’s literally so small that my dad couldn’t move much inside.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 8, 2017 by Viminale Hill Staff, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for leaving us a feedback on your stay. We are glad you enjoyed your trip in Rome. We are glad you appreciated our position in the city center, we hope this has helped you to easily explore the place, reaching very fast the main cultural attractions. We are sorry to understand that you have found the room very tiny and this did not offered you very much comfort. We always do what is in our power to ensure guests a beautiful stay, that’s why we always recommend to inform us of anything that may obstacle it, if we can do something to improve the stay we are more than happy to do it. In your specific case, we could have search to see if there was any availability for a bigger room, and if you were ok with we would have moved you to it the soon as possible. We are sorry to know about just in your review. For what concerns the shower they have all standard sizes, thought to offer the most freedom of movement possible. About the Wifi, we did other improvements by changing the routers and from our guests point of view, based on their feedbacks, quality has improved. We as well found improvements as we are monitoring the situation. Thank you for staying at Al Viminale Hill, we hope you had a beautiful homecoming. Best regards