Ratings based on 345 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Calgary, Canada

Not like photos!

Posted Nov 17, 2017
Lets start with the good thing just to be fair. The location is great. We were able to walk to any places we wanted to go. Also there is a bus stop 1 min away. Also close to Roma Termini station. The room we got was nothing close to the pictures we saw in Expedia. It was pretty old and on the first look you really feel it is not clean. The bed sheets were clean but the blanket was extremely old and it gave me the feeling that it is extremely dirty! The other issue was the noise issue. I could hear everything from the next room, I could even hear them flushing!! Breakfast was okay. But the breakfast we got in Florence and Venice were much much better. I was so disappointed. The only reason I chose this hotel was the photos which shows clean and renovated rooms, although it was more expensive that the other hotel I found on Expedia. At the end the cheaper hotels photos end up being much better than the room we got in Hotel Italia. We even saw small bugs in the room.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Belgium

super clean but terrible smell in the room

Posted Nov 5, 2017
Pros: location, cleanliness, staff
very good location, very friendly staff, super clean room with coffee and tea facilities but terrible smell in the (superior!) room that came from the air conditioning installation outside .. impossible to open a window. room did not had a view whatsoever, so the window and the curtain were always shut. air conditioning had to be on at night in order to keep the smell away.. breakfast was nice, which was a surprise considering the tiny portions served on tiny plates in a tiny breakfast area ..
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California, U.S.A

Nice hotel, great location!

Posted Oct 9, 2017
Pros: The cleanliness and friendly, helpful staff and great location.
Cons: Please be considerate and try to limit loud noises and conversations coming from the front desk and the dinning room.
Location: Short walking distance to the Colosseum, Piazza Venezia, Piazza Repubblica, Metro stations, including Termini.
We stayed at this nice Hotel for 5 nights, located on a quiet street. The room was clean, simple, yet nicely decorated, with air conditioning. The hotel is centrally located, turn the corner with less than 1 min walk and you'll be on the busy street Via Nazionale with many boutiques/shops, restaurants. A short walking distance to many tourists attractions, 10-15 min walk and you'll be at Piazza Venezia, and the Colosseum, 5 min walk to the Metro stations. The staff speak fluent English and were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was plentiful with many food and drink options, including Italian coffee, expresso and cappucino, served by the friendly breakfast staff. One drawback, early in the morning before 7:00 A.M, we were always awaken by the loud noise of tables/chairs being pushed, as well as the clanking sounds of dishes and plates that were being set up for breakfast by the hotel staff, and people talking outside in the dining room. In addition, sometimes, late in the evening we hear people talking loudly coming from the front desk. This is due to the close proximity of our room #2 to the dining room and to the concierge desk. On the 2nd night, we voiced our concern about the loud noises and wish to change room, but the staff said there were no other rooms available. If you decide to book this hotel, request rooms that are far away from the front desk and the dinning room. Overall, the hotel was a good value, great location.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Norwich

J

Posted Oct 3, 2017
Lovely small hotel in great location. Room upgrade which easy nice. Didn't have breakfast so can't comment on this. Staff really helpful and friendly. Plenty of shops and eating places nearby. We walked everywhere but bus stops at end of road. Definitely chose to stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very pleased

Posted Sep 30, 2017
Pros: Location, staff, clean
Cons: Non
Location: Great location little walk to the most things to do
Hotel location is great , most interesting things to do are nearby, close to all ground transportation and airport bus, shopping caffe restaurants, highly recommended
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston, MA

Nice hotel in a Great Location

Posted Sep 18, 2017
I had a one-night stay on a continuing trip. I chose this hotel because it was well rated and close to Termini Station such that I could easily walk to and from. Though my stay in Rome was a very short 18 hours, the hotel was close enough that I was able to walk over to the Coliseum area for a fantastic night viewing. I later slept like a baby in the comfortable bed, and was fortunate to wake up in time to get cleaned dressed and over to the station to be on-time for my train!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Miami

Very well located and clean!!

Posted Sep 17, 2017
It was a good experience, the room were very small but i paid for the cheap room so maybe they have bigger rooms. But it was close to everything and it was very clean!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Colorado

Centrally located, close to colosseum, clean hotel

Posted Sep 11, 2017
Pros: Andreas was very helpful and gave us directions to anywhere we wanted to go. Breakfast was good. Close to all attractions especially colosseum.
Cons: Beds could be updated being softer.
Location: Colosseum 15 minutes. Metro and Train station only a few blocks away. Bus stops 1 block away. Best restaurant right across the street.
We stayed here 9 years ago and decided to stay again. It has been updated since then and is a wonderful clean hotel. Friendly staff. Wonderful circular marble stairs leading up to hotel with a small elevator or lift to send luggage up to check in. Breakfast was tasty and a good start to the day. We always felt safe in Rome as the military had attractions blocked off from cars and military with guns surrounded it so terrorists didn't have access.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Edinburgh

Convenient hotel in fantastic location

Posted Sep 9, 2017
Hotel amenities are basic and breakfast was left wanting - but none of that matters when the location is this good. Really handy from the train station/airport links and a stones throw from the Colluseum (makes for a lovely night time stroll). Just on the edge of an incredibly lively, up and coming part of town full of brilliant restauraunts and quirky cocktail bars and thrift shops and galleries. A really lovely and lively part of town to explore, much nicer than the main tourist trap eateries! Would recommend to anyone lookin. For a good base from which to get out and explore Rome.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 8, 2017
Good value and helpful staff. They allowed us to leave our luggage at the hotel a day before our check-in and already had it in our room when we finally made it there to check-in at 1am.