Ratings based on 68 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from U.K.

Conveniently situated in the old town centre

Posted Oct 21, 2017
Stayed here for five nights in a Junior Suite. The room was lovely with a large double bed. This room was facing the street and it was a bit noisy but that was the only drawback. Ask for a room away from the street. There are four houses and a wonderful courtyard which is part of the restaurant and where breakfast can be taken. The latter is excellent and the whole dining experience thoroughly enjoyable. The building we stayed in was well appointed with a jacuzzi on the roof. We met the owner who is a lovely lady and who arranged a day out for us by taxi, which proved to be a really good choice. Very conveniently situated to explore the old town and harbour. Would certainly go back again confidently.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 20, 2017
We had a great experience here. The hospitality was unparalleled to any other hotel we have stayed at. Staff are personable, friendly, knowledgable, and happy to provide any recommendations to questions we had. The room was meticulous, well designed, and unique. Would highly recommend and the high rating achieved is well deserved.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sheffield, UK

Beautiful, warm, delicious, characterful

Posted Aug 27, 2017
Pros: Beautiful historic building (i'm an architect, so love!), amazing staff, incredible food, run with care and flair! A one-off!
Cons: N/A
Location: Heart of old town, within close walking distance of the fascinating fort (visit at sunset), markets, shops, port, beach, restaurants, bars- perfect!
Fabulous hotel- really warm welcome from all members of staff- really feel they genuinely want you to have a fantastic time- and in a warm and subtle way, they do all they can to ensure you do. The hotel and courtyard where you have breakfast in incredibly beautiful, from sights to smells, to sounds (had a DJ for the meal playing chilled music perfectly contributing to the atmosphere and making it very special). Food absolutely delicious- and really good value- by far the best food we had in Crete. We had our room upgraded and it was huge- with a massive whirlpool bath. Our son (and we) had great fun every morning and evening in the jacuzzi pool on the roof where, in the evening you could hear cicadas, smell BBQ and watch doves land on the walls and sip water while the sun set... The view over the rooftops has got to be one of the best in the town. A team cleaned our room every day to the very highest standards, and were quick and helpful. The whole atmosphere was relaxing, but also very special... We hired a car- parking was close and easy, and staff at the car park helpful and friendly... Would definitely recommend!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York City

This best hotel on Crete!

Posted Aug 7, 2017
Pros: Everything!
Cons: Nothing!
We had a wonderful time at this beautiful hotel in Rethymnon. The service was impeccable: we were greeted with complimentary drinks and a selection of local cheeses and breads when we arrived and our room was above and beyond our expectations. The staff (Stelios in particular) is incredibly knowledgeable and courteous, and they were quick to answer our questions even before we arrived. The restaurant is wonderful for both breakfast and dinner (you won't find a better place to eat on Crete). This hotel truly made our vacation a magical one we'll never forget.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ontario Canada

A neat experience!

Posted Mar 8, 2017
Pros: We liked everything. It would be a problem if you cannot walk up stairs very well.
Location: can walk narrow streets to shops , harbour, restaurants, fortress, even bus station. Visited archeological museum (small), municipal garden.
This hotel is unique, but very interesting and pleasing! We were upgraded due to my husbands height. We needed a bed with no foot board. We were on the top floor....had a beautiful sunny deck...perfect for March sunshine! We looked out on snow covered mountains , a lemon tree, old buildings and roofs. And we could get a glimpse of the Fort! Very special for we two Canadians. Beds were comfortable, towels and supplies very nice. Breakfast included, down around the corner, was wonderful! Made to order, fresh orange juice, lots of bread, honey, special butter, yogurt topped with thyme and honey, eggs your way, and lots of lovely coffee. All of the staff treated us so well. English was spoken . A. Historic hotel.....an amazing experience!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

great location.

Posted Dec 1, 2016
Pros: General relaxed atmosphere.
Cons: All fine.
Location: Lots to do!
Excellent friendly and efficient staff. They went above and beyond the normal customer service.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Simply Amazing!

Posted Oct 19, 2016 on Hotels
Oh where to begin. I have never stayed in a hotel with such amazing genuine hospitality, this place blew me away. After a long travel day from California to Crete, our host invited us to their restaurant for beers and snacks so we may relax before we signed one paper. He took our luggage to our room and told us everything about the room, including the building/area history. The room (champagne room) was simply fantastic. HUGE bathroom, cold AC, large bed and comfy, living room area, super spacious, very quite and located right outside a busy vendor street and next to an Irish pub. There is breakfast provided every morning from a set menu in their garden restaurant. It was simply the best most relaxing breakfast I've had throughout my travels. The food is all fresh and organic. By all means, get the yogurt with honey! I'll never forget my week long breakfast there. The staff is amazing as well, and they'll recommend activities, directions, what to do, what not to do, etc. On a morning hike to Samaria Gorge, they packed us a sandwich with juice, fruit, and chocolate bread- all for free, and in a nice bag. We parked in a parking lot all week, and they covered any fees associated. This place will bend over backwards to make your stay as best as possible, and also to make feel at home in Rethymno and Crete. By all means, please learn how to say please, thank you, good morning, good evening in Greek, you have no idea how happy it makes them, who knows, you may get more Raki
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Amazing apartment/hotel

Posted Sep 17, 2016 on Hotels
We had an excellent stay at Avli. Our suite was amazing and luxurious. Reception was amazing. I would stay there again when I go back to Crete. Better than many of our hotel/motels despite being "Apartments"
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful comfortable hotel. Great location

Posted Aug 3, 2016
Avli is a beautiful boutique hotel with rooms that are uniqie, tastefully decorated and also extremely comortable. The bed, sheets towels etc all best quality.The location is great. Right in middle of old city. Unfortunately very short stay but we will return.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington DC

Sophisticated room and wonderful breakfast

Posted Jul 21, 2016
Room: big, sophisticated, ancient looking, stone walls, comfy bed. Champagne Suite is VERY silent which is amazing considering the busy nightlife at the old town. Breakfast: delicious and gigantic, if you have all the available options. Restaurant area with aromatic herbs. Service: attentive and kind. Just learned they kept a dress I forgot which I will pick up! Freebies: Raki bottle!