Ratings based on 36 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 24, 2015
Pros: Close to the beach, good transport links, plenty of restaurants nearby and excursion centres to book trips around the island.
We were provided with a pool view as requested and emailed the hotel before we arrived who ensured that a taxi was there to meet us at the airport. The staff were very friendly and happy to answer any questions we had. Our room was quite close to reception and the bar area and as such we did get quite a bit of noise throughout the night - even in the really early hours with people clattering and talking down the hallway. Luckily we took earplugs! The hotel is in a great location with close access to the beach and there are many restaurants and bars along the strip as well as shops and places to book trips. As some have noted, the maid service can be quite inconsistent - sometimes they will provide you with sheets and blankets to make your own bed, sometimes they will do it for you, single sheets one day, double another, not empty the bins or not visit at all. It did not imapact our enjoyment of the holiday however but needs improvement. Overall we enjoyed our stay and the hotel receptionists were excellent. Hotel Axos is in a good location that allowed us to explore Crete both East and west.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from E. Sussex UK

Comfortable hotel close to a lovely beach.

Posted Jul 28, 2015
Pros: This hotel is run by a family who are all warm and very friendly - couldn't be more welcoming and helpful - excellent!!
Location: The beech is within a 5minute walk - numerous bistro type eateries & a 15min taxi ride to the Old Town. Taxis arranged by hotel (also family!)
The hotel is a little dated but was more than adequate for our purposes. The bar is lively with a huge choice of beers & cocktails. Yannis (?) who runs the bar is brilliant, plays great music & is the perfect host. The pool is not huge but clean and does the job.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice hotel, close to beach and nice resort.

Posted Jun 4, 2015
Went with my partner. Nice for a couple holiday. Maybe not for a more lively week but nearby rethymnon very nice
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Edinburgh

Nice clean hotel

Posted Jun 3, 2015
We booked a standard Studio room for a week as we would only be using it for a couple of days either side of a wedding on Crete. It was perfectly adequate (and good value for the price). It was cleAn, very handy for access to the pool and spacious enough but we would definitely have gone for the larger Superior room for a full week stay. The pool was very clean but We think it would definitely be a bit cramped in high season. Only 5 minutes stroll from clean beaches though Platanes itself has the usual touristy shops and bars but Rethymno old city centre is only 10 mins drive or 20 mins bus away.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Perhaps not worthy of "Excellent" reviews.

Posted Oct 4, 2014
Pros: Location in Platanias.
Cons: Bedding. Wi-fi. Cleaning standards/consistency.
Booked this hotel as a couple for a two week stay end Sept 2014. Decision was based upon apparent value for money, distance from nearest beach, and small kitchenette in room - but primarily opted for this particular accommodation due the very positive reviews from the majority of previous travellers. Overall, there is nothing exceptionally wrong with this hotel - indeed, it's location in Platanias (and closeness to the beach) is a positive. However, there were a few "niggles' that are probably worthy of note... Firstly, the bedding (two single beds pushed together - absolutely fine). No complaints about the cleanliness of it, but remain confused as to the inconsistency of how it was made up - sometimes it was with two separate bottom sheets and two top sheets, sometimes one double bottom sheet and two top sheets, sometimes just a pile of freshly laundered sheets on the beds for us to make up ourselves. Regardless of this though, the sheets all appear to be far too small for the beds - resulting in an uncomfortable sleep, as they untuck very easily. Either way, my daily task was to remake the beds after the maids' attempts. Secondly, our booking confirmation from Expedia shows that we had booked a "Room Studio, includes free wireless internet". Unfortunately, the wi-fi was only available in public areas, or in rooms very close to reception/pool. We had no wi-fi in our room. Thirdly, no cleaning equipment was included in the kitchenette. No more space to write...!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Coventry

A good base for Northwest Crete

Posted Sep 20, 2014
The hotel was very friendly, a good cocktail bar and great pool nicely placed for the national road and local beach and restaurants
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by older single from Oxfordshire, UK

Great value for money

Posted May 27, 2012
Certainly achieves it's aim of affordable luxury; it delivers a lot for the space available and works hard to maintain it. it's roadside position won't suit everyone but it makes it very convenient with Tavernas, supermarket, bakery and bus stop all close by. My second year because I've found the staff extremely helpful to making the most of your holiday.
1 out of 5
Recommended
by Peter from London

Newly refurbished, great staff - nice hotel

Posted Jun 23, 2009
We've just spent a week at the Axos and enjoyed it very much. It's very close to the beach and Planatias is a quiet resort which suited us down to the ground. The hotel has just refurbished all the rooms and it was a very comfortable stay. Staff were very friendly and helpful. The pool was immaculate and there were always plenty of sunbeds.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from france

bien

Posted Aug 24, 2016
Pros: rapport qualité prix
Cons: petit dejeuner
sejour ok petit dejeuner moyen chambre studio spacieuse exeptée la salle de bain petite avec baignoire sabot...
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Koselig lite hotell, 4 min fra stranden

Posted Jul 25, 2016
Kort vei til stranden resturanter butikker og supermarked