Ratings based on 119 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 18, 2017
The hotel staff are very friendly and always very happy to help you
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from scotland

Very relaxing

Posted Jun 29, 2017
Pros: Fantastic sunset views, lovely staff, beautiful pool area, not too far to old town of Rethymon
Cons: Some music in background especially in evening sitting outside for meal , also towels in room could be better, appear old, discoloured, not very white
My second visit to hotel, still as good, lovely bar/restaurant staff, always very obliging, friendly, large balcony, will definitely be returning,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Close to town and coast

Posted Jun 18, 2017
Pros: Close to old town and coast. Parking outside the hotel. Fantastic buffet breakfast. Large comfortable rooms with reasonably private balcony.
Cons: More kitchen utensils. Better choice of food in the hotel restaurant/bar. Cheaper rates for the spa facilities. More English channels on the TV.
The hotel is only about 100 metres from the coast where there is a small secluded and sheltered beach. There is a busy main road between the hotel and the coast but the hotel is on a hillside above the road and so insulated from most traffic noise. The hotel is about a 15 minute brisk walk to the old town where you can find lots of shops and restaurants/taverns. There are a few shops and restaurants slightly closer, including a supermarket.The rooms are large and have a good sized and comfortable kitchen/lounge, bedroom, bathroom and balcony. Having an executive suite means that a good sea view was guaranteed The hotel staff was wonderful and the cleaners fastidious. Food in the hotel restaurant/bar was pretty basic but on the other hand the buffet breakfast was fantastic. Parking was available outside the hotel on a quiet side road.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Close to town and coast

Posted Jun 18, 2017
Pros: Close to old town and coast. Parking outside the hotel. Fantastic buffet breakfast. Large comfortable rooms with reasonably private balcony.
Cons: More kitchen utensils. Better choice of food in the hotel restaurant/bar. Cheaper rates for the spa facilities. More English channels on the TV.
The hotel is only about 100 metres from the coast where there is a small secluded and sheltered beach. There is a busy main road between the hotel and the coast but the hotel is on a hillside above the road and so insulated from most traffic noise. The hotel is about a 15 minute brisk walk to the old town where you can find lots of shops and restaurants/taverns. There are a few shops and restaurants slightly closer, including a supermarket.The rooms are large and have a good sized and comfortable kitchen/lounge, bedroom, bathroom and balcony. Having an executive suite means that a good sea view was guaranteed The hotel staff was wonderful and the cleaners fastidious. Food in the hotel restaurant/bar was pretty basic but on the other hand the buffet breakfast was fantastic. Parking was available outside the hotel on a quiet side road.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient and clean apartments with spa.

Posted Oct 21, 2016 on Hotels
The second time that we have stayed. Buffet breakfast in pleasant surroundings is healthy and varied. The rooms are well equipped both for self catering and relaxing but it is a very short walk into the old town and its countless restaurants. The Italian ice cream is particularly delicious but be careful from which animal the milk came from if your choosy. We never felt in any risk whilst wondering around during darkness.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

OK Hotel

Posted Oct 18, 2016 on Orbitz
We checked in at 9pm, we were greeted by this young gentleman "veliz" he was nice and welcomed us. He gave us directions to go to Elafonissi and not to mention he sent us a complimentary Champagne for our Honeymoon trip. Out of all staff i think he's the only one who gave us smile at all times. I feel like the rest of the staffs didnt want to be there. Bathroom smells moldy, it needs better lighting. Def AC needs to be colder, pillows needs to be replaced. That ivory sheets needs to be changed to white color (looks old). Other than that, everything else's is great. Varieties of breakfast was wonderful. Hotel close to Fortaleza Rethymno port.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 18, 2016 on Hotels
Stay was fine, the staff were not as welcoming as they could have been.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Spacious and wonderful hotel with a perfect team!

Posted Oct 5, 2016 on Hotels
Thank you Macaris Suites and SPA Team for the amazing stay: wonderful view, spacious room and it is cozy. I would like to thank the staff again, and personal thanks go to Manolis. He is an amazing person! Helped us a lot advising where is it better to go/see/visit/etc. Thank you, Manolis! Hope to stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Leeds, UK

Lovely hotel and staff - great for a relaxing stay

Posted Sep 29, 2016
Pros: Loved the location - in the new town but a nice 20 minute stroll to town and very clean and tidy. The pool area and sunbeds are very comfortable.
Cons: Happy hour at bar to create more atmosphere and be able to change pool towels every day not every 2 days.
Location: The location is great and 20 minute stroll from the old town. There is a stunning restaurant close by called Prima Plora - definitely would recommend!
We stayed at the Macaris from the 17th - 24th September as a last minute get away at the end of the summer. Overall the look of the hotel from reception and the communal areas is great. The staff are all very friendly and helpful. We had a room on the first floor which was ideal for accessing the restaurant for breakfast and the pool. The room was clear and very spacious and the lounge, kitchen and bedroom were to a high standard. The only thing that let this down for being a 4 star hotel was the bathroom. This was poorly finished and a bad design with a shower over the bath and no screen so the floor got wet when you showered. The hairdryer was also poor and took ages to dry my hair. The cleaners were fabulous and left the room very clean each day (mopping the floors too!). There is a big bar area at the hotel and fabulous Sky Lounge which is rarely used from the look of it. This is a shame and I think there should be happy hour between say 5 and 7 or at sunset to encourage guests to use these areas as they are not used. Perhaps they could have a little cocktail party once a week at the Sky Lounge as they have a built in bar upstairs to again give guests a reason to mix and socialise.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Gloucestershire

Exceeded our expectations

Posted Sep 11, 2016
Pros: The hotel's modern, bright and spacious design. The friendly staff and hotel location.
Cons: The restaurant menu could do with a few more vegetarian options. A few minor interior & exterior repairs would further enhance the hotel's appearance.
Location: The hotel is only 15 minutes walk to the Old Town and Fortezza. Car hire, buses and taxis offer opportunities to visit locations further afield.
A very relaxing hotel with excellent staff and facilities making our holiday very special. Our 8th floor suite was spacious with an excellent range of facilities that would also suit self-catering, the enormous balcony offered a lovely view towards the Fortezza. The breakfast restaurant offered a wide selection of food for all tastes in a lovely and relaxed atmosphere. Although in the evening we preferred to walk into the Old Town to experience a wide range of local cuisine, the hotel's rooftop restaurant offered a good menu and a wonderful view over the bay. In addition the poolside restaurant offered good food and service. The pool area was clean and attractive. The staff were always friendly, helpful and professional.