Ratings based on 1,409 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Pleasing stay

Posted Nov 13, 2017
Pros: Close to Atocha train station and in a safe area.
Cons: Cant think of anything.
Location: 5 minute walk to Atocha train station, some bars and restaurants around the area, but the main are to go would be Gran via, Sol area, for food, shops.
I had stayed here before and had a bad experience with the single bed being too hard and uncomfortable for me, but needed to come to Madrid, as this hotel done a good offer, I reserved a room, when I got to the hotel, they gave me a 7th floor single, I wasn't happy, I asked for an upgrade to have a room on a lower floor and have a double instead of a single, I wasn't charged the extra, so I cannot fault the hotel staff, nor the hotel, the room was spacious, and had a window facing the street, breakfast was the usual, plentiful, large choice, everything was perfect, location was safe, was near Atocha train station, enjoyed my stay and would come here again, and recommend this hotel.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 6, 2017
Staff was not friendly, long waits in reception area and the breakfast is expensive for what is served
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from florida

Clean good staff

Posted Nov 5, 2017
Excellent staff ready to help w everything, rooms clean and confortable
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney Australia

Very busy hotel in Madrid

Posted Nov 1, 2017
Pros: .
Cons: Food handling practice, layout of breakfast room could be improved to improve traffic flow.
Location: Hotel is close to Madrid Atocha rail, metro stations & within walking distance to some museums. Within 200m is a supermarket for food purchase.
We turned up before 2pm check in time & were given a room so we're grateful for that. This hotel was very busy with several large tour groups staying even for late October. Buffet breakfast was a hit & miss affair with some items not being topped up when empty, particularly for cooked food. Food handling was also a concern, I watched kitchen staff stacking half empty plates on top of each other, then brought out several full plates of food also stacked partly on top of each other, all done with bare hands, no gloves and fingers nearly touching the food. On one morning, only 1 coffee machine was working so the queue was long to this machine. Our room was facing inwards & was stuffy, although a working aircon brought instant relief. Windows can be opened but we found out there was a bridge thoroughfare right outside which can be quite noisy & renders the room insecure.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bolton, UK

Great location, friendly staff, large scale hotel

Posted Oct 29, 2017
Pros: Location close to Atocha station, the Retiro park and the Prado and Sofia Reina art galleries.
Location: Central to main train station, Art galleries and Retiro park.
Room was large and clean, staff friendly and helpful with requests. Large scale and group bookings made it feel a little impersonal and the location on a main road made it a little noisy. But air con was good when windows closed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Aberdeen, Scotland

Cannot fault Hotel Agumar, a five from us.

Posted Oct 25, 2017
Pros: Clean, well maintained and the staff are always polite.
Cons: Just hope it continues to please!
Location: Hotel is situated in a nice area, we enjoy the views of the city and , of course, the hotel is adjacent to Parque Retiro.
We stay in the Hotel Agumar when we visit Madrid primerally because we come by train to Estacion Puerta de Atocha. It is a short walk from the station to the hotel and we find the Hotel Agumar is situated in an area of the city that we enjoy. We just cannot fault the quality of the rooms and the staff are always really polite.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 24, 2017
Good breakfast but quite a long walk from the station
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from berlin ct

Near public transport and Prada

Posted Oct 20, 2017
The Prada was impressive. The hotel is a five minute walk from metro, which brings affordable restaurants within reach. Ten minute walk to Retiro Park. Hotel was clean and well organized. Bed was comfortable. Room size was adequate. Staff must have been trained to be detached and inhospitable, but upon approach they would respond to questions while seemingly scanning the area for a disapproving manager.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Helsinki

Nice hotel in great location

Posted Sep 24, 2017
I had only positive experiences at the hotel--the staff, the comfort and cleanliness of the room, the amenities, the breakfast. In addition, the hotel's location was perfect for me--next to the El Recife park and close to the museums and old Madrid. I can fully recommend it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Great hotel close to the park and train station

Posted Sep 23, 2017
Beautiful hotel and excellently situated, the perfect pit stop between train rides and surrounded by decent restaurants and bars.