Ratings based on 493 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Madrid

Posted Oct 15, 2017
Lovely hotel and welcoming staff. Terrace and garden are great if you are staying when it is warm.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Best hotel, service not so much.

Posted Oct 15, 2017
Cons: Friendlier staff.
Hotel will exceed any possible expectations, the building, history, architecture, character, furnishing, design, mattresses, sheets, towels, everything you can think of is absolute top notch. We stayed at a lot of hotels and found the staff here to not be the least warm and friendly here than any of them. Maybe their high end clientele prefers that but we don't. Even with that being said I do recommend staying here for a night or two. If your here on a Sunday you'll need to try the brunch for sure.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Lovely hotel. 6 star prices 4 star standard

Posted Oct 11, 2017
Pros: Courtyard drinks.
Cons: Loo brushes. Better warmers to keep the breakfast hot. Better service at breakfast. First day waiter was attentive and impressive - service dropped.
Location: Everything - Madrid is a wonderful city so much to do. Reina Sofia museum - first floor NSK hard core art lovers only.
Good check in. lovely room. Quaint old style that has had some upgrade, but I am not sure they have the meticulous intricate cleaning routines for a 5 star hotel - I mean spotless. Toilet brushes in room and communal lavatories would safe unsightly messes. I had to fight to get into the mini bar as I was not told about the separate key.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Old World Style with modern amenities

Posted Oct 10, 2017
Elegant Old World hotel reminiscent when travel abroad was the ultimate luxury. Interesting and useful configuration of rooms and suites to suit traveling companions or families. Regal décor and an elegant treat at a good value. Very good location with access to many museums, parks and restaurants.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Miami Florida

The set from a 1920's ghost story

Posted Oct 7, 2017
Checked in and checked out immediately after walking in the room. Everything In the room was at least 50 or 60 years old, dirty and old. I truly don't know where the reviews I read befor booking came from. Very disappointed from a property that is ran by the Manderine Oriental! When I went to the front desk to tell then I could under no circumstances stay in that room, he asked if it was because it was old or dirty ? I said I'm sorry but both. I was then told that the hotel was going to go under a 90 million dollar renovation in 2018. I suggest to every one to wait till then before you make a reservation to stay there. Truly the room and hall ways looked like something out of a ghost movie from 1920! :((((( The only beautiful thing about the hotel is the immaculate exterior.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from vancouver

Hotel room looks tired and outdated

Posted Oct 4, 2017
The outdoor patio area is great! The room is small and tired looking
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new york

Nice Setting - great garden but

Posted Sep 28, 2017
Terrace setting and food are the best. Gym is the worst as it's basically just 2 treadmills and a few free weights crammed in between the treatment rooms where people go in and out. But you can have a great jog through the beautiful park nearby!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Scottsdale, AZ

Madrid Masterpiece

Posted Sep 20, 2017
Pros: Friendly helpful staff. Fantastic buffet breakfast. Wonderful tapas in the garden restaurant and oh my, what a dinner at the Goya restaurant.
Cons: Don't ever try to fix anything. It already is perfection.
Location: Within walking distance of great shopping on the Gran Via. Great Tapas restaurants everywhere near. Magnificent parks nearby and of course the Prada.
The Ritz is one of Madrid's most beautiful hotels and everything about it is terrific! From the moment you enter until you leave after your stay you will be royally taken care of by the most friendly staff you have ever encountered. Do yourself a big favor and give the Ritz Madrid a try.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dallas

Grand Dame showing a bit of age

Posted Sep 20, 2017
In real estate, it's location, location, location and the Hotel Ritz has the best location and oozes the elegance of days of yore. When you check in as an Expedia traveler, you are brought to feel a bit more like a cheat than a luxe traveler. I was paying more than $500 per night for my room. My "superior" room was--for the Ritz, where I have stayed before--quite average. The decor is a little tired. Carpeting throughout the hallways is a little shabby. BUT: service, cleanliness, food quality, gentle treatment: who could ask for more except at the Connaught in London? One feels safe and coddled. Amazing factoids: staff doesn't know without consulting Google where Cafe Gijon can be found (just up the street) or what a tertulia is. Happily, they were interested to find out.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida

Great location to museums and cultural areas.

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Pros: We enjoyed the friendly staff and fantastic amenities at this hotel. You can walk to everything from there so no need for taxi's. Rooms were well done
Location: Prado and Sofia museums. Plaza Mayor. everything
We enjoyed the friendly staff and fantastic amenities at this hotel. You can walk to everything from there so no need for taxi's. Rooms were well done with great period looks but with modern amenities. Would stay there again.