Ratings based on 479 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Scottsdale, AZ

Madrid Masterpiece

Posted Sep 20, 2017
Pros: Friendly helpful staff. Fantastic buffet breakfast. Wonderful tapas in the garden restaurant and oh my, what a dinner at the Goya restaurant.
Cons: Don't ever try to fix anything. It already is perfection.
Location: Within walking distance of great shopping on the Gran Via. Great Tapas restaurants everywhere near. Magnificent parks nearby and of course the Prada.
The Ritz is one of Madrid's most beautiful hotels and everything about it is terrific! From the moment you enter until you leave after your stay you will be royally taken care of by the most friendly staff you have ever encountered. Do yourself a big favor and give the Ritz Madrid a try.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dallas

Grand Dame showing a bit of age

Posted Sep 20, 2017
In real estate, it's location, location, location and the Hotel Ritz has the best location and oozes the elegance of days of yore. When you check in as an Expedia traveler, you are brought to feel a bit more like a cheat than a luxe traveler. I was paying more than $500 per night for my room. My "superior" room was--for the Ritz, where I have stayed before--quite average. The decor is a little tired. Carpeting throughout the hallways is a little shabby. BUT: service, cleanliness, food quality, gentle treatment: who could ask for more except at the Connaught in London? One feels safe and coddled. Amazing factoids: staff doesn't know without consulting Google where Cafe Gijon can be found (just up the street) or what a tertulia is. Happily, they were interested to find out.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida

Great location to museums and cultural areas.

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Pros: We enjoyed the friendly staff and fantastic amenities at this hotel. You can walk to everything from there so no need for taxi's. Rooms were well done
Location: Prado and Sofia museums. Plaza Mayor. everything
We enjoyed the friendly staff and fantastic amenities at this hotel. You can walk to everything from there so no need for taxi's. Rooms were well done with great period looks but with modern amenities. Would stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Baltimore, MD

Incredible hotel in a perfect location.

Posted Aug 23, 2017
It was a perfect experience at the hotel. The staff and concierge were incredible. They were so helpful in arranging tickets to events or museums as well as reservations. I was in communication with them via email for weeks in advance and they were great. They knew we were celebrating a birthday and had a small cake delivered. Very thoughtful. The hotel is old world and gorgeous. The location was prime for seeing the sites of Madrid and just walking around. A perfect stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

An elegant dowager

Posted Aug 6, 2017
Pros: The staff, the Old World charm and sense of nostalgia it evokes.
Cons: Improved? Maybe changed or updated would be better terms. To find fault with this place seems fussy.
Location: Next to the Prado and the old town...enough said.
This is a legendary, old-school glamorous hotel that has maintained its Old World charm but might be due for a modernization (see, for example, El Palace Hotel in Barcelona or Hotel Maria Christina in San Sebastian.) I say might because in spite of its dated appearance, this is still a very enchanting property and it's kind of fun to pretend you're in the glam 1920s while there. While the feel is old, everything is well maintained and perfectly comfortable and attractive. It's just that it feels a little small and cramped, especially in the bathrooms. The outdoor terrace restaurant and bar, however, are absolutely beautiful and charming: a perfect, perfect spot to sit and enjoy a Madrid evening.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Jacksonville

POSH HOTEL IN MADRID

Posted Jul 23, 2017
We enjoyed our stay. The hotel was very posh. Beautiful interiors. Rooms were exquisite and well laid out. (We had adjoining rooms). The staff were very attentive. The children loved the thick robes and slippers. Dinner in the garden was magical and exactly what we needed after all day walking museums. The tasting menu for tapas was great as well as the white sangria. Very well situated right next to El Prado.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida

Excellent in every way!

Posted Jul 3, 2017
Pros: We loved everything--the wonderful breakfast and internet, the amazing location, and the incredible service were all the best. Everything was super!
Cons: Nothing needs improvement.
Location: The great museums are nearby, beautiful walks with parks are nearby, lots of places to eat are nearby.
Everything was perfect. We had such a wonderful time there and it is in the perfect location.
5 out of 5
by Hilda

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 7, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hong Kong

Classy, luxurious hotel that you never forget

Posted Jun 6, 2017
All the staff are very professional. The food of GOYA is excellent. This hotel will make your trip to Madrid unforgettable.
5 out of 5
by JOSE

Posted Jun 4, 2017 on Hotels
Best hotel ever!!