Ratings based on 28 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Inverness, IL

Old world charm in alpine setting

Posted Sep 27, 2016
Pros: loved the old world charm and quiet location
Cons: better night time directions
Location: only 20 minutes from Neuschwanstein Castle
The area of Berwang, Austria is spectacular. This traditional Tyrolean guesthouse is set in charming alpine setting . The guest house owner did not speak English and was challenging to communicate but her bright smile and willingness to help made up for the lack of communication. We arrived in the dark around 9 pm on a night that the restaurant was not open. It was impossible to find with the directions, and luckily another guest saw us driving back and forth and helped us find our way. Their restaurant is called Cafe Mirabell is in next door to the guesthouse and perhaps if we had that information we would have found things a bit easier. The bedding was so comfortable and we loved our stay once we found the spot!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from a

Beautiful location

Posted Aug 15, 2016
This hotel is located in a picturesque setting. Sensory overload with the sound of cow bells and the smell of flowers in the air. My only regret is we only stayed one night. Within a short drive of zugspitze and neuschwanstein castle.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Quiet rooms with magnificent views'

Posted Oct 20, 2015
The hostess welcomed us warmly in spite of our late arrival, even offering us more comfortable rooms. Excellent breakfasts.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from kansas citian living abroad

Too bad there's no checkin info or procedure

Posted Aug 11, 2015
Showed up at 915pm; reservation said checkin closes at 930pm. I was glad I had read lots of reviews, since one said to follow signs to Mirabell Restaurant. The hotel, next to the restaurant, was dark, no lights on, with the name printed on one of the sides, and the doors were locked. I went to the restaurant next door, where the owner told me in German, through guests who translated, our room numbers, and gave me keys to go back across the street in the rain to let myself in. Sheets on the bed were rough, not good. Floors were so creaky; I'm sure we woke people up the next morning when we left at 630am. The dear lady at the restaurant next door got up early to serve us breakfast, which was FABULOUS, as was the unbelievable view, almost making me forget the awful checkin and bad sheets.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Overnight Stay

Posted Oct 2, 2014
Pros: Staff and location
Cons: Better decor of rooms and more modern bathrooms.
Location: Go and visit the worlds longest toboggan run in Mieders - Brilliant fun and amazing views from the cable car
Very friendly and helpful owner. Rooms are quite basic but comfortable. Restaurant food was very good and staff were good to chat with and provided excellent advice on local places of interest.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Extremely terrible as they are like mafias robbing

Posted Aug 12, 2014
On JULY 17, I booked this hotel (Gästehaus Zugspitzblick, AKA - Restaurant Café Mirabell) for AUG 17 (one night) through Expedia with my credit card paying at hotel or after free cancellation date. However the very next day, due to my schedule change, I cancelled my Aug 17 booking and re-booked the same room to Aug 6. My cancellation is way out of the free cancellation date which is Aug 16, nevertheless, a couple days later, I noticed that my credit card was charged for my Aug 17 booking. Believing the hotel made a mistake, I called Expedia to work with the hotel to get refund. After several calls to the hotel, the Expedia representative told me that the people at hotel either pretended NOT speaking English or I quote from Expedia’s e-mail response to me: “We have provided them the information that they sent to us regarding the cancellation policy however they were rude and not willing to process refund”. Afraid of the hotel will charge me again; I had to keep my Aug 6 booking. After arriving the hotel (realizing it is a restaurant with some guest rooms) on Aug 6, I found out that the room has no balcony while I booked a balcony room, when I asked the hotel; they were very rude and told me there is no balcony room, I can just take it or leave it….by then I was speechless, they are the shame of Austrians. I guess it is because that the hotel locates on the border to Germany and is probably under nobody’s jurisdiction, so they can just simply act like old time mafia….. The wors
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful

Posted Jul 15, 2014
Awesome view...only wished we had more time there. Hard to find in the dark. Great quaint ski lodge type rooms. Very sweet and would be fun in winter...except driving up there! Breakfast was great and she even made it early for us.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bayern

Große Zimmer für günstigen Preis

Posted Aug 31, 2016
Pros: Der Ausblick vom Balkon war spitze, außerdem gab es einen TV neben dem Bett.
Cons: Nein, bitte so weitermachen- war echt super
Location: In der Nähe gibt es ein paar Restaurants und ein kleiner Supermarkt ist um die Ecke.
Man wird sofort freundlich empfangen und zum Zimmer geführt. Das bzw. die Zimmer waren sauber und sehr geräumig mit einem schönen Ausblick vom Balkon aus. Das Badezimmer war etwas klein aber erfüllt seinen Zweck voll und ganz.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from paris

Hotel, pension très conviviale une station de ski

Posted Aug 8, 2016
Pros: L'emplacement, le calme, la patronne est très accueillante , elle nous a permis de venir petit déjeuner avant l'heure prévue.
Cons: Mieux signaliser l hotel, qui peut etre difficile à trouver
Location: Station de ski et proche des chateaux de Louis II de Baviere
L'hotel est idéalement situé dans une station de ski, proche (1/2h) des chateaux de Louis II de Bavière. Les chambres sont très confortables, le buffet pour le petit déjeuner est très bon. Très calme.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Frankfurt

Tolles Landgasthaus mit Flair

Posted Jul 30, 2016
Schöne Lage zwischen den begen. Hotel mit Gaststätte mit sehr gutem Essen und freundlichen Personal. Empgfehlenswert und immer ein REise wert