Ratings based on 21 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by Leo

Excellent

Posted May 19, 2017 on Hotels
Upgrade to a room with bathroom. Great hosts, excellent room and breakfast
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego, CA

Quiet guesthouse with very accommodating staff

Posted Dec 18, 2016
We were upgraded to a room with its own bathroom. This was probably due to us being the only guests there that night, but nice nonetheless. We ate a delicious dinner at the attached restaurant, which was also run by the guesthouse staff. Afterward we mostly just stayed in our room until one of the women working there knocked on our door to let us know that the northern lights were out, which was very nice of her.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

A bit pricy in terms of facility

Posted Oct 8, 2016
Location: cute little harbor town.
Compare to other guesthouse in Iceland, think it's a bit pricy. Although breakfast was disappointing and we could hear drunk people were screaming all night from the outside, the room size was good for two and warm.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Quiet, peaceful, remote.

Posted Oct 1, 2016 on Hotels
I spent one night here. It's really off the beaten track. Very quiet and a quaint village. The room was nice and the breakfast was good. I had nice Northern Lights that I could photograph right from the window in my room. The only downside is that there is just one tiny restaurant in the village and it has a very limited menu (and typically Icelandic high prices). Some people at the guesthouse were cooking for themselves, there's a very well equipped kitchen that is free to use. That would be a good option here, but you would have to bring in all of your own food, nothing to buy here.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston

Great location near the water

Posted Jun 5, 2016
We went there unaware that Fortitude had been filmed there. After having a great stay there we watched the series and it was a strange experience to see the guest house popping up every few minutes. It was easy to see why they selected such a beautiful location.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pasadena, CA

Stay there

Posted May 21, 2016
Pros: Friendly staff and the hotel/guesthouse is right next to a pub.
Cons: Shower curtain please.
Location: Shoot photos. I'm an avid photographer. And go during early spring.
I got placed in the new building. Besides the shower lacking a shower curtain, everything was awesome. I'd stay there again.
4 out of 5
by Frank from Brooklyn

Cool place, not too many alternatives around anywa

Posted Aug 17, 2015 on Hotels
We did not stay in the hotel but in the annex with private bathrooms. It's a motel like setup, the rooms are big and clean. Our bathroom was bigger than some other hotel rooms we encountered. Friendly pizza restaurant and good breakfast, recommendable.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

one night

Posted Aug 30, 2013
O.K. room with a sink. If the plumbing is already in the room why don't they add a toilet?
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Friendly welcome from helpful staff

Posted Aug 17, 2012 on Hotels
This place was easy to find, centrally located in a small Iceland town. As this is not an expensive place to stay, it´s not so attractive from the outside, and inside it´s like an old English pub with rooms upstairs and bar meals. However the kindness we found there made up for any shabby appearances, and the rate included an excellent buffet breakfast. We also ate good food selected from quite a varied menu. Wireless internet and TV in a communal lounge. Recommended for anyone on a budget who is happy to share a shower room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Halifax, NS, Canada

A decent guest house

Posted Jul 26, 2011
We were surprised to find that the guest house was above a bar. However, the bar quieted-down around 11pm, so noise wasn't an issue at bedtime. The restaurant served pizza, and other meals. There were a number of bathrooms/showers, but no kitchen facilities for guests.