Ratings based on 195 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from England

Posted Feb 27, 2018
Ideal location close to bus station lovely traditional guesthouse.very welcoming nothing is too much trouble! Met Jelly belly ( their beautiful cat )
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Lovely guesthouse close to the BSI bus terminal

Posted Feb 14, 2018
Pros: We had a TV with english channels (handy for when the weather is so bad you can't do anything), full kitchenette, sofa bed (as well as the bed arrange
Cons: Nothing! We had a really nice time and were surprised by the good quality of the apartment for the price.
Location: The guesthouse is situated close to the BSI bus terminal, which is where Reykjavik Excursion trips depart from and is an easy place to grab a taxi.
We had a pleasant surprise when we arrived at the guesthouse, check in was seamless and we were presented with a whole apartment to ourselves.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ireland dublin

Cheap and amazing place to stay

Posted Jan 26, 2018
At the heart of the city and 5min walk to the bsi station. Staff are extremely friendly and helpful. Will never forget the two generous owners who have helped us in so many occasion. Need to make a call? Theyd be happy to help. Customer service is excellent and so are the rooms. Literally have nothing negative about the guesthouse.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

Clean and comfortable, but a bit noisy

Posted Jan 13, 2018 on Wotif
The guesthouse is clean and comfortable, the bathroom is lovely, and the location is walking distance from Halgrimskirkja and the BSI bus station. The owner was friendly and the check in process was really easy. Downsides are that the room was really hot and the heater could not be turned off (we tried, and the lady who was cleaning the room also tried) so we had to sleep without a duvet and with the window open to be comfortable. We were in a ground floor room and the walls are pretty thin so we could hear footsteps and voices in the next room and the room above really clearly. Would not recommend to light sleepers but if you aren't bothered by noise this is a really nice place.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Northern Michigan

Great Guesthouse--close to downtown, friendly

Posted Jan 7, 2018
I had never stayed in a guesthouse so I was a bit apprehensive. However, this was a great place--clean room, interesting older home, close to downtown but in a quiet residential area, and with ready access to transportation. Owner very friendly and helpful. When I return to Iceland, I will stay here again
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 9, 2018 by Thorey, Hotel Management
Thank you for your kind review. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Upgrade tings

Posted Dec 13, 2017 on Hotels
Got a free upgrade to an apartment rather than a double room, lovely place and a friendly cat
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 4, 2018 by Thorey, Hotel Management
Thanks for staying with us. We appreciate your feedback!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely Guesthouse

Posted Nov 18, 2017
Really enjoyed our stay, we where very lucky and had a lovely apartment. Very cosy and clean. Within walking distance to shops and restaurants. Thank you
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 4, 2018 by Thorey, Hotel Management
Thanks for staying with us. We appreciate your feedback!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Second time staying here

Posted Oct 10, 2017
Stayed here last year and again this year. This is my place of choice for Reykjavik. Location is great. Its a super guesthouse.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from St. Paul, Minnesota

Great location

Posted Sep 29, 2017
Pros: location, large bathroom, comfy bed
Cons: Not much!
Location: Walking distance to bus station, Cafe Loki and other restaurants, close to nearby sites and the water.
This hotel is in the perfect spot, in a quiet neighborhood that is very close to both the BSI bus station and the lively downtown area. We were within walking distance to everything we wanted to do or see (except CrossFit Reykjavik). We stayed 2 nights and it was perfect; a bit cramped with 2 people (with 3 bags because we were in France for 3 weeks prior to our short stay in Iceland) but the bed is comfy and the bathroom was large. We were in a studio apt with our own bathroom.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wisconsin

Great location, accommodations, and hostess

Posted Sep 25, 2017 on Orbitz
Pros: Location, accommodations
Cons: Bit of mildew in the shower, but otherwise very clean
I've stayed in Reykjavik six times - from fancy hotel, to Bed & Breakfast, to AirBnB - and Guesthouse Galtafell is my top pic for value, location, and overall experience. We had reserved a double room for our 2-night stay, but unexpectedly received a 1br/1.5ba, garden-level apartment with a mini-kitchen that had everything we could need- 2-burner hot plate, coffee maker, electric kettle, fridge, and all cooking and eating utensils. All of the furniture was very comfortable, and both the bedroom and living room had TVs. Shower was lovely- very hot and great water pressure. Check in was very easy and straightforward, our hostess (Ms. Thorey), was easy to contact. We did not partake in breakfast but it was nice to know it was available. The walls *are* a bit thin, so if your neighbors are early risers as ours were (6am) you may hear them. Also, a room/apartment facing the garden would be preferable as there is a bit of street noise, but nothing major. Overall it's a very charming and quiet neighborhood- right by the Tjörnin, which I love, and easy walking distance to everything- including the shuttle stop to get to KEF airport. We were very satisfied with the price paid, and I'd recommend Galtafell to anyone!