Ratings based on 976 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Ideal location

Posted Apr 3, 2018
Cons: Housekeeping could have been improved because they left a rotting banana on a plate in our room the length of our stay.
Hotel Fron is located in the most perfect location right on the main shopping street. Every shop and restaurant was right next door and was about a minute walk from bus stop #7 where we had to be picked up for each of our bus tours. We were able to check in earlier than our scheduled arrival, which was nice. The room was a bit loud at night at times, but probably because the majority of our stay was on a weekend when people were going out. The hotel had an elevator and free breakfast every morning. The beds were comfortable and we had a mini kitchenette. Overall, would recommend and stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, BC

Good location in the centre of thencity

Posted Mar 19, 2018
If you want to be close to all the restaurants, shops and attractions, this is the perfect location. Our room was very comfortable and spacious, with kitchen facilities which we didn’t use much, but with the high cost of eating out in Reykjavík, could be very useful. A basic European breakfast is included, which we really appreciated. The only negative was the late night bar noise coming from the surrounding streets on the weekend - could be an even bigger problem in the warmer weather when you’d want the window open at night - but on the weeknights it was very quiet.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Perfectly Located on main street

Posted Mar 14, 2018
Pros: Perfect location for downtown and local bus stops.
Cons: The only problem we had was it was too warm so that is an entirely personal thing, we just turned down the heat and opened a window.
Location: Right in the heart of everything, very close to bus stop 7 which is a local pick up point for excursions. A short walk from downtown Reykjavik.
This was our third visit to Hotel Fron. The hotel is quite unassuming, set on the main street leading into downtown Reykjavik. Everything is on your doorstep!! We were greeted by very friendly check in staff who are so helpful, they can advise you on where to go, what to do and how to do it. Always happy to help, we booked excursions whilst we were there and they happily printed off our tickets ( I like mine on paper not phone), they also printed our boarding passes for us. Breakfast is a typical cold continental serving with cereals and yoghurt, various cooked meats, cheeses, fruits, boiled eggs and breads. There is a toaster, copious amounts of butter, jams and marmalade. Coffee, tea, hot chocolate and fruit juices. Something for everyone! Our room was a very spacious double, bathroom with walk in shower was huge. There are no coffee and tea making facilities however, if you ask at reception they will provide you with a kettle, cups etc so we would recommend taking your own coffee, tea bags etc. You can of course book a studio ( we have had one before) which has a kitchenette and table which is brilliant. You get a small hob, toaster and microwave with all of the cutlery crockery etc you can think of. Ideal if you are on a budget because Iceland is very pricey to eat out. A basic pasta dish cots on average 3,500 ISK which in English is about £25. A beer is 1200 ISK and a coffee 600 ISK. There are a few supermarkets but again these tend to be expensive.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from UK

Very convenient hotel

Posted Mar 9, 2018
Pros: We felt at home, very comfortable, well fed and independent.
Cons: The floor needed a good wash!
Location: Reykjavik is small so probably best to book trips out of town eg Golden Circle tour, Northern Lights tour, Blue Lagoon. Harpa is worth a look
This hotel is in central Reykjavik in walking distance of all museums, many restaurants, cafes, pubs, old town, old harbour, souvenir shops etc. We booked a twin bedded room and it exceeded our expectations. It was a good size and included a small kitchenette with 2 hotplates, fridge and coffee maker and crockery, cutlery and 2 saucepans. The travel kettle I took with us was very useful as there was no kettle. The furniture was modern and comfortable. Ensuite was separate and water always hot. Saturday night was noisy with passing revellers and some guests but the rest of the week was undisturbed. Towels were changed and the room tidied and beds made daily. TV worked well and featured BBC and foreign channels. Breakfast was self service with a wide choice of cold meats, cheeses, breads, muffins, salad, boiled eggs, toast, jam, yogurt, teas, coffee, fruit juices and cereal. There was no limit on how much you could eat and it was all fresh and good quality. However the choice was the same every day and we did miss the opp'ty to have something hot.
5 out of 5
by Liliam Elena

Posted Dec 28, 2017 on Hotels
Excellent location, on the main shopping street, but still very quiet, 2 min from a bus station and 7 min to the main touristic agencies; breakfast - served in a cozy restaurant of the hotel with 5 or more bread choices, cereals, 3 types of yoghurt, coffee, teas, cocoa, eggs,... - sometimes a little bit crowded, but typical Scandinavian; very good security - the front doors of the hotel entrances open only with chip cards; lifts everywhere - spacious, many leaflets, guides of the town, maps. Highly recommended. Please be prepared that Iceland, Reykjavik excursions, restaurants etc are very expensive.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from wales

Great central place to stay

Posted Dec 20, 2017
Lovely hotel, great friendly staff, I stayed in a single room in most other places that means a box where they just about fit a bed and bathroom to maximise revenue, but not here, fantastic space with its own balcony, small double, desk and refreshing ensuite, all done to a lovely high standard and kept very clean. Great space for exploring from with comforting food served in the restaurant.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great stay

Posted Dec 19, 2017 on Hotels
The hotel / apartment is situated in a great location to the bus stop as well as town centre. The room was very comfortable with a large queen bed, lounge area and kitchen facilities. The only thing we found was that even though it was cold outside, the heating was off, the room was still really hot. After leaving the window open in the evenings for a few hours the room felt cooler. Staff were very helpful and breakfast was good & healthy.
5 out of 5
by Anncy

Posted Dec 17, 2017 on Hotels
It's so nice and cossy. Love the design and decoration, make me feel so relax and comfortable.
5 out of 5
by Christopher

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 15, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel in central Reykjavik....but noisy.

Posted Dec 13, 2017
Centrally located, clean, modern and spacious, the Fron is reasonably priced and the staff are courteous and helpful. BUT...the restaurant turns into a bar at night and the sound of revelry can go on well past midnight; earplugs helped somewhat. The breakfast buffet was a bit of a letdown, perhaps because of the sumptuous offerings of the Scandic Ishavshotel in Tromso, where I'd just stayed. Overall....a nice place to stay, especially if you're young and lively.