Ratings based on 94 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Stylish, great location, exterior rms can be noisy

Posted Sep 8, 2015
Pros: Location, staff and style
Cons: Soundproofing
Location: Shopping and nightlife streets of Reykjavik. The Opera House, Hallgrimskirkja church and Perlan as well as dozens of great restaurants.
Loved the hotel, its location and service. The airport bus dropped us a few blocks away so the location was great. It was also just one block away from the shopping and nightlife streets of Reykjavik. The Opera House, Hallgrimskirkja church and Perlan were a reasonable walk as were dozens of great restaurants. We also thought the service was excellent from breakfast to check in to help with tourist arrangements. They answered an email before check in promptly with very helpful information on renting a car in town and bus service to the Blue Lagoon from the hotel. Hotel breakfast is good but not extraordinary but service was friendly and helpful. Homemade waffles, eggs, bagels and coffee were all available. More than that but that's what we were focused on. The only thing that prevented me from giving it five stars was the noise level of the rooms. We had a fourth floor exterior room and it was noisy many times at night. It is close to a nightlife district so there were revelers most nights that we stayed there. It wasn't to the point that we didn't get any sleep but we were awakened several times each night. The solution is to ask for an interior room. You'll miss some fabulous views of the new Opera House but you'll sleep better.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boulder, CO

Hipster Modern

Posted Sep 5, 2015
Pros: I liked that the bed did not have the split linens like the other Iceland hotels we stayed in. Nice shower and good bath amenities.
Cons: Why not include samples to try before I splurge on the large sizes of the Blue Lagoon products?
We had a good stay at the 101 Hotel in Reykjavik. The room was modern and sleek. Bed had fabulous linens. The staff was friendly and helpful. The lobby had a hipster vibe but the staff didn't make you feel unwelcome like some other hipster hotels do. My one big complaint about the hotel room was that all the extra storage space was taken up by items you could buy and we had to do a lot of rearranging to get our gear in an orderly fashion. Not enough plugs. iPod deck was outdated model and our phones wouldn't fit. Not enough venting in bath - every shower steamed up entire room. Great location and available parking (not free) nearby.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice Design but...

Posted Jul 24, 2015
Pros: Design, staff, breakfast, location.
Cons: Window insulation, respect of quite hours
Overall the hotel is nice as far as design and location is concerned. Staff is polite and helpful in general. Breakfast is nice. However rooms are quite small and extremely noisy! Windows are not properly insulated so if there is wind, the noise is so bad you think you are sleeping outside. Same with the rooms located over the entrance of the hotel where there seems to be the hang out place for drunk people after hours, so if you are unlucky enough to get a room on that side then you end up "celebrating" with the young crowds until the early morning hours in the comfort of your own room. Forget about sleeping however! Quite pricey as well for what it has to offer.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Eric from Ellington, Connecticut, USA

Too Loud for Sleeping

Posted Jul 21, 2015 on Hotels
My wife and I stayed at the 101 hotel, shelled out $558 U.S. Dollars (roughly €520,00 = ISK 82.000 = £341) for a night of no sleep. With the windows slammed shut, you could hear relentless shouting and screams from 10pm until 5:45AM and absolutely no privacy. Basically it would be easier to sleep in an airplane in economy class than in their hotel. At 3AM the noise was at its worst and the front desk informed us that the noise continues into the 5AM hour. Despite our dissatisfaction and the familiarity with the front desk to our noise complaint, we were offered a measly 10% refund for the night stay. The hotel lounge and decor is amazing, don't get me wrong, but this is no place to catch sleep. Go enjoy the lounge but strongly advise not to stay the night unless you plan on sleeping during the daytime and partying 11pm to 5:45AM.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Stylish, but too much noise and too little service

Posted Jul 13, 2015
The best thing about this hotel it is also the worst: location. It's right by a great selection of restaurants, shops, and bars. That's super during the day and evening but not at night. The noise from drunken Icelanders and tourists spilling into the streets kept happening into the wee hours of the morning. Sleeping in Iceland during the summer is already a challenge due to the lack of darkness. Noise makes it much worse. Good things: the bed was very comfortable, and the safe was roomy. Other than that, the hotel scored high on style points but low on service and consideration of actual guest life. Examples: the shower remains open to the room, meaning that the whole room gets steamed up to a point of discomfort. The sink is also right there in the room, which guarantees waking up your mate if you need to use it at night. And the toilets require you to grab the inner rim of the seat in order to put it up or down. The staff we encountered were nice enough but not as eager to please as you might expect from a high-end hotel. They also seemed a bit out of it. For example, the hotel web site advertises a business center, but when I asked where it was, the guy at the front desk stared at me blankly and said he didn't know what I was talking about. Even if there web site is wrong (which apparently it is--there's no business center), there's no way I was the first person to ask this!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Richard

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 5, 2015 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

立地最高

Posted Jul 2, 2015 on Hotels
便利な立地ですが、駐車場がありませんでした。
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Expensive but great hotel in Reykjavik

Posted Jul 1, 2015
Pros: Clean and comfortable. Good service. Good breakfast. The view from our room was fantastic and we enjoyed the spa.
Cons: Even though it was only 10 degrees outside, our room was a bit too warm in the evenings - however, by morning it was quite cool and comfortable.
Location: Very central location - an easy walk to the harbour, shopping and restaurants.
From the moment we arrived the hotel staff were friendly and helpful. We enjoyed the modernity of the hotel but, even by Reykjavik standards at high travel season, it was expensive. Because we were able to save on accommodation during the rest of our travels in Germany, we were able to rationalize the cost. That said, we fully enjoyed the hotel and had no complaints. Parking was easy (with a few tips from the hotel staff) and the location was good to explore central Reykjavik in foot.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Great modern boutique hotel

Posted Jun 13, 2015 on Hotels
Stayed in Reykjavik for just 2 nights at the 101 during June and while the hotel was in a great location, it was quite loud because there are so many bars around. People are out ALL night in the summer b/c the sun doesn't set. My boyfriend and I weren't there to party so I had to wear ear plugs to sleep. On the plus side,the hotel is very clean and modern and the staff is exceptional. Everyone who works there is extremely nice and helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Carol L from Seattle, WA

Great hotel, great service!

Posted Apr 6, 2015 on Hotels
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this hotel. The ONLY complaint I have, and it's not major, is that it is not an easy hotel to find. There are no signs on the hotel at eye or street level, so you need to be really good in finding and reading Icelandic street names and also in finding the building number. I walked and drove past it 4 times before finally seeing the work "hotel" on the top of the building. it sure wasn't an easy task of finding it. However, once found, I have rave reviews for the staff, room, and general appearance of the hotel and room. The sink in the bathroom is interesting. it's part of a standalone stand, not connected to a physical bathroom - perhaps that's a "Europe-thing", but I never saw it before. Nonetheless, it was fine. When I go back to Iceland, I'll stay there without hesitation. Especially since I now know how to find it :-)