Ratings based on 33 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Edmonton

Good guesthouse in the city center

Posted Nov 30, 2016
Nice little place in a good location near the city center. No kitchen or kettle in the room which is inconvenient. The breakfast served in the mornings is great and the staff are very attentive. I should add that I realized my bank card was wrongly overcharged while at a gas station and the owner allowed me to make a call to my bank. This was much appreciated and alleviated a lot of stress.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Standard Accomodation

Posted Nov 10, 2016
Pros: Warm and cosy
Cons: Distance from the city and any amenities.
Location: Think that there were some parks but mostly for activities you would need to walk to the city or closer to the city.
The Alba guesthouse is at least a 20 minute walk to the city centre. If you don't like walking I wouldn't recommend you stay here. When booking tours I never got dropped off back at the guesthouse as most vehicles couldn't access the road easily so again walked back after each tour. The single room was small but warm and cosy. Breakfast was served everyday basic food as well as tea and coffee. The staff weren't the most helpful with questions or suggestions. There are shared bathrooms which is fine there was a bathroom upstairs so that could be utilized if no other was free. Was a basic accomodation.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice guesthouse

Posted Sep 28, 2016
Nice guesthouse, friendly staff, nice breakfast. Just a little too far from downtown. 18mins walk to Hallsgrimkirkja and 15mins walk to Perlan. Overall a good stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 15, 2016
I enjoyed my stay at the Alba guesthouse. The host was friendly and helpful and I really enjoyed the breakfast.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice host, clean, good location

Posted Mar 27, 2016
The host was very nice. He prepared some food for my friends in the midnight as we needed to leave for the airport at 3am. The breakfast was very good as well (a wide choice of food). The location of the guesthouse was very nice. Only 10 minutes to the church and within 15 minutes to down town. Sincerely recommend this guesthouse.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Whitby, ON Canada

Close to downtown area

Posted Feb 7, 2016
Iceland is very expensive and this guest house is very reasonable and breakfast is included which is great as there is nothing without walking 10 minutes. The breakfast was a great European spread. Would stay here again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 22, 2015
Very good food, but the building isn't in great shape. Also very few showers for the guests, and those were shared. It was warm and the beds were comfortable though, and it is not too far from the city centre. Would recommend to anyone wanting a budget holiday.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from swansea

Posted Dec 21, 2015
Pros: very close to down town reykjavic aprox 16 mins walk
Location: road house theme resurant is 10 mins away, the pearl resturant and viewing deck is about the same distance up the hill,
Spent 3 nights here, and would stay again, you have your own door and room key to come and go as you please. the owners are very very helpfull, if you are on an early flight you can leave ur bags there and go explore but let them know first breakfast is a sort of cold buffet plus toast and cereals and coffee and juice rooms are small, and very warm i had to turn my radiator down in december as i was too warm
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice guesthouse, convenient for the city center

Posted Nov 11, 2015
Pros: Excellent and very friendly staff. Very clean. Good facilities. Warm and comfortable. Nice breakfast.
Location: Only a 10-15 minute walk to the city center. Close to the BSI bus terminal for day trips etc.
A reasonably basic but very nice guesthouse which is well located. The staff were extremely helpful and welcoming. The room was very clean and comfortable although it would have been nice to have a small TV or Radio in there. Breakfast was nice and was served promptly every morning. Checking out very early was no problem and they even left out some food for me. For the price this was very good and I would happily recommend this place!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, Canada

Great quiet and friendly host.

Posted Oct 8, 2015
This was a delightful and relaxing place to arrive at. The rooms were comfortable and clean. The breakfast was DELISCIOUS! thank you.