Ratings based on 89 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Diego

Quiet, clean and friendly

Posted Sep 7, 2016 on Hotels
We had a nice stay here. The front desk lady was so nice! We had our own"apartment", which we cooked in. Breakfast was nice. To go to downtown walking is not realistic, it is best to drive. Overall, a nice, quiet location with amazing staff.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 29, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Jenifer from U.S.

great for family

Posted Jun 17, 2016 on Hotels
The guesthouse was cheery and the staff were helpful. The room was quite private as we had the back cabin. A great pool/ hot pot is just down the street.
4 out of 5
by William from DC

5 star Breakfast, helpful hosts, comfortable stay.

Posted Oct 5, 2015 on Hotels
More of a home-style, Mom&Pop operated B&B than a classic hotel. What was surprising was the breakfast, which was first-rate. Hosts were very helpful with tourist suggestions, maps, bus tickets, etc. plus car rental- they arranged a rental for me that beat all other prices. They have a hot tub that I did not use, too. But, check-in was very frustrating. They own 2 properties with same business name, and both Google maps & Apple maps sent me to the wrong one. Find the one on Borgarholtsbraut, catch the Gray Line airport shuttle to Hamraborg. Then walk due West on Borgarholtsbraut about 6 blocks. #44 is on the right. I recommend clear directions like that, including the watch-out for the alternate location, should be on their website and on the Hotels.com confirmation email.
4 out of 5
by Eric T from USA

Romantic extended layover in Iceland

Posted Oct 3, 2015 on Hotels
Overall very good. It is a quiet neighborhood and we slept pretty well. We requested an extra roll-away bed and it was there when we arrived. Breakfast was good.
5 out of 5
by Vivien

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 27, 2015 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Jonathan

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 16, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Lia from Connecticut, USA

Perfect home away from home

Posted Jul 10, 2015 on Hotels
I was very pleasantly surprised with this guest house, and will definitely stay here again during my next trip. The BB44 Guesthouse is a family-run home that is warm and welcoming to its guests. I was a solo traveler, and my room was simple but extremely comfortable - bed, desk, side table, chair, and closet. After traveling for weeks, the bed and pillows here were by far the best on my trip! Just about everything you need is freely available in the house, including laundry and a kitchen area. There are plenty of places to relax and chat with fellow house guests, too, like the wonderful glassed-in patios (my favorite) and a hot tub. Breakfast was great, and a really good deal, since cafes and restaurants are rather expensive in Iceland. In addition to the guest house, the family is happy to help with other aspects of your trip. Maps, travel information, directions and advice is all easily available. They also run their own car rental service and will gladly help you make reservations, provide transportation, and even create personal tours based on your agenda. This guest house is not in Reykjavik proper, but can look a lot further away on a map than it really is. It's perfect if you have rented a car, but is also only a 5 minute walk to the bus stop that will take you right downtown. I had no problems with transportation and appreciated the sense of "coming home" after a day out exploring.
4 out of 5
by Ed from Albany, NY

Great B&B With Very Helpful Staff!

Posted Aug 21, 2014 on Hotels
This B&B was a great place to plan my trip from! The staff are extremely helpful and will handle any bookings you need to make, as well as answer questions, and make sure you have everything you need during your stay. The breakfast is a big mix of breads, cheese, meats, egg, fruit, veggies, etc...and was more than I expected. The B&B itself is very pretty, well laid out, and has all the amenities you'd want on a longer trip, such as a stove, fridge, laundry machines, and a hot tub (!), The cost for a room is reasonable, and the owner can get you a good deal on a car rental, and get it delivered right to the B&B so you don't need to worry about picking up or returning it!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

upgraded to a Studio Apartment

Posted Aug 13, 2014
when we checked in we were told that they made a mistake with the booking and we would be upgraded to a Apartment Studio not far away! Great, the owner took us there and it was a brand new building with a kitchenette and shower. We loved the view overlooking Reykjavik. We had the most beautiful sunset from our window. For Breakfast we drove over to the Guesthouse, only about 2 min away! Lots of food but the room was a little crowded. Would have been nice to have Breakfast a little earlier. Overall we were very happy with this property!