Ratings based on 1,137 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Great location but....

Posted Oct 18, 2017
Location of hotel is fabulous, right at the harbor and close to downtown. It's a reasonably good hotel, room was fine, breakfast was beautifully presented and delicious. The hotel is a bit run down, carpets are stained and worn, spa facilities were broken and neglected and staff was not well informed about Reykjavik.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from iowa

So so

Posted Oct 12, 2017
Room & bathroom were extremely small, cracks throughout the building. Great Location to downtown! Spa was not worth the extra money, especially when most hotels had hot pots included in the fee. dinner on the roof was nice, but over look is not always available, get a reservation. Breakfast was great-coffee sucked, very diluted.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Seattle, WA

Nice view of the harbor, bad room & shower design

Posted Sep 29, 2017
Pros: View of the HARPA concert hall and the harbor. Ample breakfast with lots of variety.
Cons: Install a second curved water shield, so two shields form a closed circle, Keeping water from splashing the sink, toilet, and fresh towels.
Location: Easy walk to HARPA and old downtown (pedestrian walks)
We stayed at this hotel for three nights. Very disappointing about our $$$$ per night room. There is no separate shower area or a closet in our room! The shower is simply a shower head in the corner of an about 8x8ft space combining the toilet, sink and drain. There is no way to keep the shower water from wetting the sink, toilet, floors, and clean towels hanging in the area. For about the same rate per night we had luxurious rooms, fruit baskets, and chocolates on our pillows at night, and a lot more amenities -- even in Switzerland where the cost of living is as high as Iceland. Being a VIP with Expedia didn't help much.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Colombia

Great Location, nice staff, good value for money

Posted Sep 28, 2017
Pros: Location and staff.
Cons: Nothing
Location: Kapra, old town, harbour.
Stayed there for just 1 night, hotel is in great location, some rooms have ocean view, it's across the street from the bus stop, and across from the "Kapra", old town and other popular attractions are walking distance, the room I had was very small but it was just for me and had no trouble, bathroom uncomfortable but nothing too bad, staff super helpful, restaurant/bar on top floor is nice, overall a very good option in Reykjavik.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Central to everything.

Posted Sep 12, 2017
Able to walk to everything. Only negative was that you had to park across the street in a pay lot.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 11, 2017
Great staff; very helpful- I arrived in Reykjavik a few days before my reservation on my way to the Thorsmork area. Staff permitted me to leave luggage at the hotel while on my trek. Great location, good restaurant.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from saudi Arabia

Wonderf views

Posted Sep 10, 2017
Pros: The views and location
Cons: The tour busses collect guests on the other side of the dual carriage way from the hotel, in bad weather you have no protection whist you wait.
Location: Near the tourist center of Reykjavik and the port area but with wonderful views, for me it was the best located hotel in the city.
This is a lovely hotel with wonderful views over the bay to the mountains opposite. The rooms are clean and comfortable with underfloor heating. The rooms are however basic but adequate. The bathroom is a wet room with a very good shower but this gets the floor wet, careful use of the glass screen reduces this minor problem. The Sky Bar/Restaurant on the top floor shares the same wonderful views and also overlooks the port area to the side of the hotel. The food is not cheap but is of excellent quality. The Sky bar is where the buffet breakfast is served and this proved an excellent start to our days sightseeing. The hotel is very close to the tourist center of Reykjavik and so makes an ideal location for a visit.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Millburn NJ

Great location.

Posted Sep 4, 2017
This hotel is near the harbor and had easy free parking. We were able to walk around the neighborhood and shop and eat with an excellent recommendation from the staff. Breakfast was exellent and the room was comfortable.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good location but not worth

Posted Sep 4, 2017
Room was too small , although had seaview room was on 2nd floor all I could see was road and parking lot and noise of road
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great place to stay

Posted Aug 30, 2017
The Hotel was very engaging in making my visit as comfortable and helpful as possible. The staff was very friendly and always had time for the many questions. The location was across from the harbor and only 4 short blocks to the great shopping.