Ratings based on 948 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Excellent location

Posted Nov 14, 2017
Pros: location
Cons: Elevator ..It starts from the 2nd floor
Location: Location is on the main shopping street.
Friendly, helpful and efficient service. The breakfast provided had many choices. Room was very clean .
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Posted Nov 13, 2017
I stayed at this hotel twice, once upon arrival and again prior to my departure. The first stay was satisfactory. On my second stay, the mattress was slanted. I caught myself rolling toward the floor. Sink drain was clogged and in need of some maintenance. I was disappointed that the hotel would not provide any remuneration when the city of Reykjavik closed the airport and my flight was delayed 24 hours. I did book a non refundable rate, but the circumstances should have been considered. The location of hotel is convenient.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Plymouth, UK

Posted Nov 11, 2017
The hotel is in a great location in Reykjavík. The staff are all helpful, especially the housekeeping. They are such lovely ladies. On check in, we were surprised that we needed to make a cash deposit. They initially didn’t accept our debit card and we were left cashless for a day (we travelled on a strict budget) but thankfully, it was resolved the next day and they returned our deposit. Overall, staying here has helped make our vacation in Iceland memorable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from St Louis, Mo

Best for your money

Posted Oct 10, 2017
Pros: Location, staff
Cons: Stairs leading up to registration may cause problem for people with mobility issues.
Location: Bars, restaurants, shops, bus stops are all within short walking distance. Perfect location.
Perfect location, everything within walking distance. Rooms and the hotel itself are basic but clean and comfortable. Great staff. Took care of all our needs. Breakfast is typical European, but tasty and satisfying.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel in city center

Posted Sep 11, 2017
This hotel has a great "Old Town" location. Bus Stop 7 is in the next block, convenient for tours and connections. Be aware that Iceland is super expensive.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

Minimalist Accomodation

Posted Sep 9, 2017
Thankfully, I only stayed one evening. Entry at street level required me to carry my heavy luggage up stairs to the main floor where the lobby is located. The refrigerator did not work, my room was street side so I had lots of pedistrian noise into the late night and early morning, and there was construction near the hotel resulting in a loud jackhammering noise. The weather was warmer (rare occurrence) and the room did not have air conditioning or a fan. The continental breakfast was good. Great city location to explore the city. I would not stay at this location again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Merritt Island, FL

Great Location but on pedestrian only street

Posted Sep 7, 2017
The short walk from taxi drop off and hotel entrance a half story stairs to elevator only downs
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from canada

Nice hotel in centre of town.

Posted Sep 2, 2017
Pros: The location and staff.
Cons: Change up the continental breakfast on occasion.
Location: Everything was close
Centrally situated walking distance to everything. It was noisy at night when all the revellers closed the bars. The staff were very friendly and accommodating. The same continental breakfast got very boring after six nights. There was no on site parking and you had to use city meters which were an inconvenience at times. Overall our stay was very pleasant.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Old Rooms

Posted Aug 30, 2017
I'm giving this hotel a 3 star rating because the room we had was so cramped and dated from the 60s. Was not worth the cost to stay. The staff are friendly, helpful, and excellent.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ecuador

good location, but very small

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Pros: from Expedia
Cons: room size
Location: good
Nice staff, clean hotel. great location. Loved Iceland