Ratings based on 906 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Lots of Steps

Posted Jul 22, 2017
Pros: The location was great.
The hotel was conveniently located and staff were accommodating. It's a basic no frills hotel, but certainly adequate. The breakfast was fine. There are a number of high steps to deal with before you can benefit from the elevators to get to your room so if you have heavy bags this may be a consideration.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Miami, FL

In the middle of everything

Posted Jul 18, 2017
Super clean, great beddings, nice bathroom. Breakfast buffet excellent
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London, Canada

Well located for downtown activities

Posted Jul 12, 2017
Pros: Staff assistance excellent and friendly.
Cons: Handrail to assist climbing steep front steps to street; these were a killer for my spouse.
Location: Steps to bars, restaurants, bus stops for tour pickups and transfers
Crazy expensive like anything Icelandic; breakfast was continental style but very good with lots of fresh fruit, cereals, oj, decent tea and coffee. The rooms are a bit spartan, but otherwise just fine and clean. Staff was very helpful about confirming tour bookings, bus transfers and restaurant reservations. Hotel has a good lift/elevator that was a must for my spouse.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Awesome hotel

Posted Jul 5, 2017
Very good hotel, it's located downtown on a quiet Street. Room are clean. Breakfast was good. Staff was very helpful
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Port Townsend, WA

Good location' close to many, many restaurants.

Posted Jul 2, 2017
Pros: Breakfast facilities. Central location.
Cons: Shower incidentals.
Location: Perfect access to really good restaurants.
The bathroom was clean but was way too small. The shower has hair and bath soap in a bottle that is not convenient for either washing your hair or your body. No hand soap anywhere! The rugs were a little dirty. The breakfast facilities were excellent, had a good variety and were constantly kept clean' The clerk who checked us out was very helpful and professional (young man with glasses). The elevators did not work when we first arrived. The steep stairway into the hotel while short was not convenient when carrying luggage. While the check out clerk offered to carry our bags down stair, the check in clerk did not offer any assistance other than fixing the elevator.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Great location in the center of the city, ok room

Posted Jun 4, 2017
Pros: Location, toiletries, breakfast
This small, somewhat hard to find hotel is in the perfect location on the main street in the heart of the city. For that, I would recommend this place. The room itself was very small, and seemed a little old and rundown. We got a good price for it, so I'm satisfied with our stay. The included breakfast was good, and the shampoo and body wash were actually fantastic. Surprisingly the best we experienced on our trip.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Downtown location

Posted May 31, 2017
Lobby in the second floor and steep steps to the elevator created difficulty with luggage. Our room was too small. Especially the bathroom would not accommodate an average American traveler. Very sparesely furnished although had all the essentials. Although stated to have sattelite tv we only had 2 working channels. Staff we encountered (2) were pleasant and helpful.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Markham

Right in the downtown

Posted May 9, 2017
I am sorry to say that I was unhappy to stay this hotel. There is a big moth in the bathtowl when I had bath and tried to get the towlandi found there was a big moth among the bathtowl. This is unbelievable!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from seattle,wa

Right in the heart of the city

Posted Apr 27, 2017
Perfect, for being city center, especially if you are on a stopover and just want to shop.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Norfolk, VA, USA

Perfect spot for last night in Iceland

Posted Apr 25, 2017
Pros: location, staff
Location: perfectly located in main shopping, dining, walking center
Parked conveniently across street in covered garage (~21USD /24hours). Walkable location for shopping and dining. Great check-in and Lydia (housekeeping) ensured our group was comfortable (extra towels, etc). Booked two rooms for four adults and two children. Room off street was quieter, however street side was not too loud (fourth floor). Great European style breakfast (cereals, yogurt, fruit, hard boiled eggs, cheese, juice, coffee, tea). Easy check-out and carried luggage back across street to car enroute airport.