Ratings based on 1,652 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Baltimore, MD

Good launching point

Posted Feb 22, 2017
Pros: Clean and comfortable.
Cons: Street lights through the windows can be a little annoying at night.
Location: Dining, shopping--lots within walking distance.
The hotel is located near the main shopping/dining street in Reykjavic. It's very lively and can be a bit noisy, but that's part of being close to the fun. Parking can be a little challenging in that meters run starting at 9am. Street parking is free on Sundays and at night. The breakfast was pleasant, and the staff is friendly and helpful. We got a nice upgrade and enjoyed our stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Nice hotel in centre of Reykjavik

Posted Feb 22, 2017
The hotel was quirky and well designed. It is quite small and space is used well. Although we booked a deluxe double our room was still quite small and wouldn't have liked to stay in the standard double. Our room was generally clean however there was a cereal bar wrapper found after a few days (which wasn't ours) covered in a thick layer of dust after I dropped something under the sofa. Also a sticky patch on the floor never was cleaned up during our stay suggested it had not been mopped the whole week. We stayed in a room at the back of the hotel and the windows were wooden. At the weekend, we could hear loud music from nearby pubs until 4am and lots of merry people. The windows at the front of the hotel seemed to have been updated so I would hope the noise would be better in those rooms. The 'spa' was also a little disappointing too' Saying that the breakfast was very good and being gluten intolerant they provided a warm gluten free roll every morning which was a lovely treat. The hotel was also in a very good location.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cwmbran, UK

Great hotel in great location

Posted Feb 20, 2017
Pros: Great location, really nice atmosphere.
Cons: More than happy with our stay.
Location: In centre of city, close to main shopping street, restaurants and city attractions.
The hotel is just yards off the main shopping street. Plenty of restaurants and bars within easy walking distance. You can easily walk to all the main attractions in Reykjavik. Lovely helpful staff. Good selection at breakfast (fill up, because it is very very expensive to eat and drink out). Room was very nice. Happy hour is good for a beer/wine. Nice lounge area to relax in. We would stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great

Posted Feb 18, 2017
Modern hotel, cool interior design. Great breakfast. Really close to shops, restaurants and tourist information centre.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 18, 2017
Great hotel. Lovely atmosphere and I enjoyed the real fast buffet.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Somerset, England

Centrehotel living upto it's name

Posted Feb 17, 2017
Lovely hotel centrally located just a stones throw from Hallgrímskirkja, the waterfront and the Harpa concert hall. Surrounded by a plethora of restaurants from Italian & sushi to more traditional Icelandic. The hotels own restaurant was wonderful as well the breakfast was filling and the dinner was brilliant.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from England

Center Hotel, Thingholt

Posted Feb 16, 2017
Pros: It was so clean, so modern and all services were first class.
Cons: Cot - Found it quite expensive.
Location: Very near to everything, the harbour, the hop on hop off bus and lovely shops.
Hotel was so central and so near to everything. Staff were so friendly and the breakfast and room first class.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Great hotel in the middle of town...very walkable

Posted Feb 15, 2017
The folks at the front desk were the best. Very friendly and helpful!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Excellent quiet, stylish hotel

Posted Feb 12, 2017
Beautiful, stylish hotel hiding behind a plain facade. Only a few metres from the main street for restaurants & shops. Excellent staff, very friendly and helpful and they made the stay less stressful. Lovely buffet breakfast with a great selection for a smaller hotel. Upgraded to a larger room, which was very comfortable and had a huge bathroom.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Glasgow, Scotland

Great location and great staff

Posted Feb 11, 2017
Iceland is a really interesting country and this hotel is a perfect base in Reykjavik. Close to good shops and many restaurants and cafes. I thought the staff were excellent and couldn't do enough to help. The room was not very big but was comfortable. There was not a lot of cupboard space but we were only staying 4 nights so it was enough. I enjoyed our stay. The only issue we had was live music on Thursday night coming from the cafe next door. It started about 10pm and carried on until 1am. As we were leaving the next morning at 4am for an early flight, the noise kept us awake. I don't know if this was a one-off but it was very disturbing so if it happened more often it would be a problem.