Ratings based on 1,668 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

centrally located

Posted Mar 20, 2017
Cons: Paint some art work on the concrete outside room 102.
For - close to restaurants, shops, harbour. Very friendly and helpful staff, spacious rooms, excellent choice at breakfast. Against - external noise. Not the place to stay on a Friday or Saturday night if you actually want to sleep, as the local clubs/bars don't close until early hours (a fact pointed out to us by our coach driver on Sunday morning. Too late!). View from our room was of a grey concrete wall, not very inspiring. Reported the safe in our room not working on Sunday morning - still wasn't working when we left of Thursday (though we were given a drinks voucher and spa access for the inconvenience of having to take bits and pieces to reception every time we wanted to go out.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from south west scotland

Central location

Posted Mar 19, 2017
This hotel is in an excellent location just off the main street and within easy walking distance of all shops, bars and restaurants. Only downside, there was very little storage space for clothes etc especially for 2 women travellers !!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location. Don't book standard room.

Posted Mar 18, 2017
Breakfast was included which was really good. Very relaxed hotel and great location.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 16, 2017
A good hotel for travellers, though rather poorly lit for business trips. The wifi was good though and the staff very helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bradford, UK

Lovely hotel.

Posted Mar 15, 2017
Pros: Staff. Geographical location. Decor.
Cons: A bath would have been good.
Location: Centrally located - the main shopping street is yards and the harbour not much further.
Extremely well situated, clean hotel, with superb staff, especially on reception. Everything ran smoothly. Good quality breakfast. Well appointed rooms, though could have done without the huge leather cushions! Very pleasing - would certainly stay there again. Exceptional service.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

central location good for shops bars restaurants

Posted Mar 12, 2017
Pros: Location. Good selection at buffet breakfast. Staff very helpful and friendly.
Cons: Shower screen needs to be larger to prevent water going all over the bathroom. Information at reception that choice of room with sofa rather than bath
Location: Central location near bars restaurants and shops. Everything within walking distance.
Central location and short walk to the main area for shopping restaurants and bars in Reykjavik. Staff very friendly and helpful, good buffet breakfast. In deluxe double room with bath in the bedroom didn't realise that rooms were available with sofa instead of bath,this would have been more useful and comfortable. Shower in bathroom had an inadequate screen plus curtain- neither of which kept the water from running out over the floor. Room was at front of hotel and with window open at night was a little noisy as very close to a couple of bars. Despite these minor problems would use the hotel again .
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brooklyn, NY

Well designed, comfortable, downtown hotel

Posted Mar 7, 2017
Pros: Very comfortable. Nice, modern design esthetic. Great location.
Cons: I thought the selection of channels on the TV was very limited, but this may be typical of Iceland.
Location: The hotel is right off of the main shopping streets of Reykjavik, and just a few blocks from the municipal center and museums, the Harpa concert hall.
The Center Hotel Thingholt is a beautifully done hotel conveniently located in downtown Reykjavik. Within a short walk are numerous sights, restaurants, clubs and shops. The breakfast buffet is included and provides a varied selection of hot and cold breakfast items in a nice restaurant setting. The rooms are compact, but very comfortable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston

Posted Mar 7, 2017
Pros: location and breakfast buffet
Cons: more space in rooms
The hotel was clean and in a great location. The free breakfast buffet was excellent had several choices. the staff was very friendly
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Good central location, beware the noisy night club

Posted Mar 4, 2017
Pros: Location, friendly staff and good breakfast choice
Cons: Showers in the rooms and closing the adjacent night club down!
Location: Good central location in town, everything within an easy walk, even in 2 ft of snow. Many restaurants and bars close by.
Our first night at the hotel (24/02/17) was unfortunately not a pleasant one due to a night club next door and very loud music playing until 4 am. Fortunately, we assume due to heavy snow the following day, the night club was closed for the next 2 nights of our stay. We stayed in a junior suite on level 4 which was fairly spacious, clean and warm. Using the shower was a challenge as it was just a flexible attachment from the bath taps, however it was adequate. The breakfasts catered for all tastes and were quite good and the staff were very friendly and helpful. In summary I would recommend the hotel but maybe enquire directly with the hotel on the night club status before booking.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from England

Great location

Posted Mar 3, 2017
The hotel is perfectly located and very stylish - staff were extremely friendly and very helpful. The standard double rooms are a little small when you have luggage, but as you're out and about most of the time, it's not really an issue. We were incredibly lucky to see the Northern Lights from our room! (Room 308) - I think any room facing that direction would have been as lucky as us. I also emailed the hotel advising them it was my husbands 30th birthday and they took the time out to have a desert plate delivered to the room - catered to what my husband likes!