Ratings based on 648 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago, IL

Great location

Posted Mar 21, 2017
Best location in Reykjavik! Rooms were unique and room. Staff was super nice and helpful. Only downside is no free parking.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location, great price

Posted Mar 14, 2017
Great location, right in the center of town. Everything was walkable, and the staff was very friendly and helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Napier, New Zealand

Right in the middle of everything

Posted Mar 9, 2017
Pros: Location, amazing staff
Cons: Vacuuming rooms daily
Location: All tour companies either pick up outside the door or across the road at the next hotel (2min walk)
Fantastic friendly staff, right in the heart of it all. Room was clean and tidy on arrival, but upkeep was limited on my 6 night stay. Staff couldn't have been more helpful. My tour to the northern lights got cancelled (the only company to cancel that night) and the wonderful lady on the front desk got me on another tour company that night with a hours notice (including hotel pick up). All staff smiled as you walked in the door even if helping someone else. Always keen to hear of your travels and activities too. Room had everything I needed.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from uk

Great location, noisy at weekends!

Posted Mar 8, 2017
Very good location, short walks to some great sights and restaurants. We stayed over a long weekend and unfortunately Friday and Saturday were so noisy with the nightlife as this hotel is situated opposite and next door to some lively clubs. The noise was really bad and we aren't exaggerating when we say it kept us up most of the night. Normally we wouldn't mind but had early trips booked each morning so didn't get much sleep. Hotel were really accommodating when we mentioned it and swapped us into a room that wasn't facing the street, but it was just as noisy really the following night. There was no noise Sunday or Monday! Breakfast really nice with lots of options from cooked to continental and the staff really kind and happy to help. Our room was great, incredibly clean and well kept with good facilities! We would stay here again and recommend it to people but would be mindful of the nightlife noise at weekends. 😀
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Maryland

Great location, wonderful staff

Posted Mar 6, 2017
Pros: Location, friendly and efficient staff
Cons: Location - saturday night was very noisy
Location: restaurants - the Grill Market and Kopar!
The staff made all the difference in this moderate city center hotel. They were great and went above and beyond to help us with our stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ireland

Perfect location

Posted Mar 6, 2017
Pros: Staff, Location and Cleanliness
Location: Right in the middle of the city, only a minutes walk to the harbor and shops.
Stayed here in March and could not have been happier with the choice. Location is great and central. Staff at the hotel were so helpful and friendly (would really make you want to return to the hotel). Rooms were bright and very clean. Really could not praise the hotel enough.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

excellent location in restaurant and bar area

Posted Mar 5, 2017
a very nice small hotel during a stop over between Canada and Europe
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 25, 2017
City Center Hotel is a great location for walking to restaurants and shops. The front desk staff was so helpful and polite.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Friendly staff and convenient location

Posted Feb 22, 2017
Simple, affordable, friendly and convenient. These are not luxury accommodations, but that's why I chose it ... to fit my budget. Staff is extremely friendly and helpful. Rooms are small and simple. The location can't be beat. Yes, there is a nightlife scene in Reykjavik and it was a bit noisy on the street. Maybe bring earplugs if you are a light sleeper. Bed for comfortable and I slept well despite the street noise. Will definitely stay here again on a return trip.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Staff

Posted Feb 17, 2017
Pros: Modern facilities; good breakfast buffet (extra charge)
Cons: The rooms are a bit small, but well-designed. The towels were a bit skimpy.
Location: Great location; close to everything in downtown area. There is a bar located almost below that is very noisy at night.
The staff were excellent and very helpful with tour arrangements and making sure pick-ups were on schedule.