Ratings based on 45 Verified Reviews

3.0 out of 5
50% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
2.9 Service & staff
2.8 Room comfort
2.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Good deal

Posted Jul 26, 2015
This place is perfect for a budget traveler or backpacker. The owners, a married couple, were friendly and helpful. I found the room comfortable & warm, about a 10 minute walk from shops & attractions. I would certainly stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Cosy comfort.

Posted Jun 25, 2015
In the city centre, easy access to major attractions, home away from home.
3 out of 5
by Neena from Perth

Not cosy but ok for just sleeping

Posted Nov 26, 2014 on Hotels
Not cosy but good for just a place to sleep...hot water a little problem....friendly people and close to centrum.
1 out of 5
by Thibaut from Canada

Worst place ever! Hidden additional tax,no service

Posted Oct 19, 2014 on Hotels
Everything wrong with Egilsborg Guesthouse: 1) You will pay up to 10% more than the price announced by this reservation website (the owner will tell you it is additional tax and credit card supplement… this has never happen in any others hotels we stayed in Reykjavik) 2) nobody to welcome you. A key with a piece of paper with your name in the common room 3) rooms that smell humidity 4)Contrary of what it advertised on its OWN website, the kitchen is not accessible (« Once breakfast is over kitchen facilities are available to our guests »… this is not true at all!) 5) forget the pictures, it does not look like this at all 6) the shower has a push button timer that last less than 15 secondes (not a joke). So you have to push the button every 15 secondes… really annoying! 7) owner that put its own music, brush his teeth and argue with employees in the common room during the breakfast time (but forget the breakfast, it was even written on a paper in the common room that tea, coffee and cereals would be available from 8:00 to 10:00am… we did not see anything) 8) blankets are too small for the beds Morality: don’t stay there at any price! We planned to stay two nights, we left after just one horrible night to the Capital Inn, a really nicer place!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Clean, simple and nice

Posted Sep 23, 2014 on Hotels
Very comfortable, though basic. A fair walk from the centre but a nice place to get back to after a day out!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

solid

Posted Aug 28, 2014
decent place, rooms are clean, staff quite helpful, a bit distant from points of interest but overall good stay
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Leiden

Cheap stay in Reykjavik with friendly staff

Posted Aug 16, 2014
We booked Guesthouse Egilsborg at the last minute for a couple of nights in Reykjavik. It is conveniently located in town and has excellent staff. There is an optional breakfast for Ikr 500. The room was clean and tidy with a comfy bed but it was small. We shared bathrooms with other rooms which were also clean and tidy. It was a comfortable place to stay and great to explore Reykjavik!
2 out of 5
by Nemo from Upstate New York

Hostel at Hotel Prices

Posted Oct 6, 2013
Expedia needs to review this place. Egilsborg should be listed and priced as a Hostel. Listed as "shared bath": 17 rooms, 50 guests - with THREE (3) Toilets and Two (2) showers. That is not a Guesthouse. We were charged $180 per night for a $50 per night hostel situation.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not so nice, but convenient.

Posted Sep 1, 2013
Pros: The one friendly staff member, who told us eating their dinner and breakfast was probably the cheapest in the city. We appreciated the honesty
Cons: The blankets and sheets and towels could use some fabric softner.
If you are looking for basic bed, basic sink and basic service and attitude for one night, this guesthouse will cover it. We stayed in guesthouse around the country, and pretty much everyone was much better than this one. It felt like you were staying in the bathroom of a gas station. Not worth the stay.
2 out of 5
by Jason from Reykjavik

Guesthouse not a hotel.

Posted Aug 17, 2013 on Hotels
Well, maybe I am spoiled by hotels in the U.S.A, but this place was kind of shabby. I have never experienced a guesthouse before and there was only one toilet and one shower on each floor. With 6 rooms on the floor, it was a scramble for the facilities. Our room was never serviced in the 5 days we stayed here. Not my idea of nice for the expensive price. This was a last resort for us as everything else in town was full. The lady at the "desk" told us that folks will book rooms up to one year in advance this time of year.