Ratings based on 153 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ontario, Canada

Great hotel

Posted Oct 7, 2017
Great hotel - easy to find, great location for walking and discovering the city. Helpful staff, very clean, comfy room with everything you need. Breakfast was fabulous!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Close to the city w/ free park and Bfast A+ stafF

Posted Oct 6, 2017
Pros: Close to the city Free garage parking Excellent staff Free Breakfast
Cons: Everything was excellent. They were able to assist whenever I had a question or request.
Location: Walking distance to all the attractions. I Would highly recommend Perlan Museum they have a rea Glacier exhibition where you can walk through
My check in was at 2p.m however; the receptionists there were so nice, they allowed be to get breakfast at 7 a.m. and even checked me in at 8 a.m. Although; I traveled alone, the room was large enough for 2 adults and an extra person i.e.: child. Since parking in the city can be an issue I was happy that the hotel had free garage parking unlike most hotels in the area that have metered and outside parking. Also; it is so close to all the attractions in every direction. The front desk always gave me travel recommendations for my day trips and greeted me with smiles everyday. I will definitely stay in this hotel again on my nest trip to Iceland.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Doncaster

Quiet and comfortable hotel

Posted Oct 2, 2017
Pros: Warm and quiet - great staff and location.
Cons: I found the beds to be a bit too hard and they were two singles rather than a double (although that wasn't a actually problem).
Location: Situated just off the main strip in Reykjavik. The location is central enough to be able to walk to the main street within 5 minutes.
A lovely hotel situated just off the main strip in Reykjavik. The location is central enough to be able to walk to the main street within 5 minutes but quiet enough not to be affected by lots of traffic. Staff were really friendly, helpful and knowledgeable. The room was just the right size for the two of us, plenty of wardrobe space, a flat panel tv mounted on the wall and a bathroom incorporating a shower, toilet and basin. Breakfast was included in the room rate (and very nice it was too). We are planning another visit to Iceland and will be booking the same hotel. A++++++
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A good find

Posted Oct 1, 2017
Central location, comfortable, and helpful staff. I find Icelanders in general to be surly and even boorish, but the people here were extremely nice and accommodating. I will stay here again when I return to Iceland.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Jersey,USA

Near City Center

Posted Sep 22, 2017
Pros: see above
Cons: see above
Location: Restaurants, grocery store etc.,nearby/ walking distance..
We stayed in Rm #313, just below the stairs, not a good idea to have stairs like that esp. if you're carrying big luggages or with Disability, need to have a ramp way...The shower is half covered so the water splashes to the floor, risk to slip and fall esp. for children and elderly....We stayed for 6 days and the toilet bowl wasn't cleaned coz it turns yellowish ....The water in the room smells like geothermal smoke but not on other places even near the geothermal areas.. The breakfast was the same for 6 days that we stayed... The good side is the hotel location and the staffs hospitality...
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Maryland

Great location - friendly staff

Posted Sep 20, 2017
The hotel was easy to find in downtown. The staff was very friendly when we checked in. There is a 2 for 1 happy hour for beer and wine. The on-site parking was convenient and most welcome after a long journey. The twin room was spacious and we had a view of the spiral church, which was lit at night. There is heavy traffic on the street below (we were on the third floor), so if you are a light sleeper, then ask for a room on the opposite side of the hotel. The breakfast (which was included in the price of the room) was very enjoyable. Eggs, bacon, cereal, etc., lots of choices. The staff was always ready to help with a smile. About a block or so from the hotel is a lovely street, which has great shops for browsing (we didn't purchase anything as we were on a limited budget). Enjoy!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bloomington, IL

Great Location

Posted Sep 6, 2017
I booked this hotel several months before my arrival. Like all hotels in Iceland expect to pay maybe double what you would pay at a similar hotel in most American cities. The staff were all super friendly and when I complained about my first deluxe single room because of strong odor and no wifi connection they switched me to another single deluxe. A better room but wifi was very sketchy there also. I mentioned this to another woman who was manning the front desk and she immediately checked for available rooms closer to the wifi hub. So I moved a second time to a beautiful double deluxe for the same price where the wifi finally worked. My experiences with hotel wifi has been the worst part of my travel experiences. Typically hotel rooms get anywhere from 3 to 7 Mbps. I averaged about 4 at this hotel. Much of what I need to do on my iPad is cloud based so these are very slow speeds. I would pay for extra for a premium wifi if the hotels offered it. Hotels need to enter the 21st century because like it or not we travelers depend on a decent and dependable wifi service. Overall, I enjoyed my stay at the hotel. Close to one of the main shopping streets going into downtown. Also a small decent Asian restaurant right next door and a small convenience store a block away.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ontario

Reasonable hotel

Posted Aug 5, 2017
Pros: Good room, good wifi
Hotel is on the edge of the centre of town. Short walk to the very nice seafront in one direction and the cathedral in another. A few restaurants and store closeby, but the most vibrant entertainment part of town is about a 20-25 minute walk Reykjavik is a really nice city - in summer when we visited - with lots of outside cafes and restaurants
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 30, 2017 by Kristjana Rún , Hotel Management
Thank you for your lovely review. We are delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your stay with us. We are happy to hear that you like our location. We hope to welcome you again some day to Fosshótel Rauðará. Best regard Kristjana Rún
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good Location,

Posted Jul 5, 2017
This hotel was great for my family of 4. It is very difficult to find a hotel in Reykjavik that can fit a family of 4 including 2 teenagers in the room. This hotel confirmed that they could accommodate our needs. The weather was unusually very warm during our stay. Our room had only a very small window which we could open. There are no fans in the room or a/c After several nights of barely sleeping, I spoke with the manager. He was so nice and moved us into the renovated section of the hotel and gave us 2 rooms which had windows that provided much needed air. I definitely would recommend this hotel because they did not have to help us but they did!
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 30, 2017 by Kristjana Rún , Hotel Management
Thank you for your lovely review. We are delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your stay with us. We do our best to make sure that our guest enjoy theyr stay with us. We hope to welcome you again some day to Fosshótel Rauðará. Best regard Kristjana Rún
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Aurora, On, Canada

Good location; great breakfast !

Posted Jun 25, 2017
Pros: I liked the helpful and friendly staff; the great breakfast, the comfortable bed and having a room on the second floor.
Cons: Better instructions about the hours and pick up locations for the Hop On Hop Off Bus.
Location: Hotel near shopping and restaurants and famous church. All tour companies would pick up customers from the individual hotels for daily tours.
Flight arrived many hours before check-in but we were given a room when one became available so we could get some sleep. The bus transportation to and from the airport was good (used two different companies) Our two tours were well organized and enjoyable despite wind and rain. The reception staff were very helpful -especially Joanna. The included breakfast offered a broad range of food and good coffee! The hotel is close to a main street for restaurants and shopping. Eating out was expensive but all very delicious and my daughter was delighted to find lots of vegetarian options available to her. The famous Hallgrimskirkja church is not far from the hotel but it was a steep climb for this 77 yr old woman.