Ratings based on 1,023 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel, wonderful room & staff & breakfast

Posted May 21, 2017
Location: Location is a taxi ride, or a 30 min walk to downtown. There are some restaurants around (pizza, Vietnamese, sushi) and a sculpture museum.
Grand Hotel Reykjavik was great to stay at. Though they have some construction currently (to their conference centre?), it was quiet in the evening and nights. The staff are very helpful and quick to respond - they helped us figure out the hotel safe, they help book trips, they answered questions about the buses, etc. The location is good (quiet, safe area) but doesn't have many restaurants around (and the hotel restaurant is super expensive, as are a lot of things in Reykjavik). They do offer a shuttle (really, just a taxi service the hotel pays for) 5 times a day, which was great to use, but they only bring you downtown, they don't pick you up. The walk back is ~ 30min, or you can bus (many options) or take a taxi. We had breakfast included, and it was great! Buffet, American-type options (eggs, bacon/sausage, potatoes etc) and more European (fresh breads, ham, cheese, tomatoes/cucumbers, veggies), many types of yogurt and fruit.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from HALIFAX,N.S.

Great hotel

Posted May 16, 2017
Pros: We had an inside room which looked down into a lobby/reception area, that was also beautiful !
Cons: There was no pool, which was okay with us , but there was a sauna & steam room in the spa, which was not included & was very expensive for a day pass.
Location: It was a 15 minute walk to downtown Reykjavik ! A great walk & easy walking tour.Our tour bus picked us up promptly & returned us to the hotel everyda
One of the nicest hotels we have stayed at , & we travel extensively ! We booked 1year in advance & got a very good price, considering hotel prices are high in Iceland ! We were there for 4 nights, & it was always welcoming to return to such a beautiful hotel !
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Nice hotel short walk from downtown

Posted May 15, 2017
This was a reasonably priced hotel about a 20 minute walk from the main downtown area, although just a few minutes from the seawalk. The included breakfast buffet was fantastic with lots of variety and good quality food, and with the cost of meals in Reykjavik, is a huge bonus. We ate so much we didn't need to get lunch! The hotel is easy to find off the highway and has free parking, which is another bonus. Our room was clean and quiet and everything was well taken care of. Didn't use any of the spa facilities, so can't comment on those.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Nice lobby area

Posted May 12, 2017
Pros: The $12 breakfast was a deal compared to food costs elsewhere.
Cons: Cheaper beers. ;)
Definitely a nice, clean and friendly place. Some rooms had great views. close to walking downtown..
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 11, 2017
Experience was great Good lockation to see the countryside Food was of vey high standard
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from g

Not impressed

Posted May 8, 2017
Lots of construction going on. Woke up to drilling sounds. Front desk were moody. Restaurant was a great experience as well as breakfast.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Baltimore, MD

Nice hotel in town, great views

Posted May 1, 2017
Pros: Comfortable bed, breakfast buffet, modern, clean, close to town, beautiful views, nice staff, free transport to town. Food is good.
Cons: More communication on shuttle pick ups. More amenities, louder music in lobby for enjoyment
Location: Can walk to water nearby. Can walk to town if feeling energetic but there is free transport in the day, must find own way back.
Very convenient to town with free transport to shopping area. About 45 mins from airport so set up a shuttle transport or rent a car. They were able to accommodate us when we arrived early (at 7am) to check in without additional fee. All staff speak English. Fabulous views from room. Fabulous buffet breakfast (make sure you purchase it to be included). Food is expensive EVERYWHERE in Iceland. Modern look and was clean despite construction going on. There was noise during week days but we received free gym pass for the noise disturbances. Friendly staff. Heated floors in bathroom. No closet or drawers to put clothes away but there was a shelf and place to hang items. Room was listed as 2 beds with soda bed but is really one big bed (two twins pushed together I think) with a sofa bed. Bed was comfortable and they set up sofa bed for us. Great experience and I would go again! Definitely go to the Blue Lagoon, it's not to be missed. Also loved Golden circle tour (6 hour one).
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 27, 2017
Nice modern hotel, good breakfast buffet, friendly staff
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice place, good staff, fair location

Posted Apr 26, 2017
Pros: good staff and shuttle service access
Cons: n/a
Location: no much in walking distance, but great shuttle service
Staff was great, room was as expected. Shower not being fully enclosed was curious, but fine. Overall was pleased. Breakfast bar was great.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

Hotel was undergoing renovation while we stayed.

Posted Apr 20, 2017
Pros: Staff were very friendly - especially Fey, who works in the kitchen/dining area -
Cons: N/A
Location: Close to Kringlan shopping Mall and not too far from their downtown. Good location.
We visited for a week and chose this hotel. Very nice, I would stay there again - even though they were undergoing renovation, it was a nice place to stay - breakfast buffet was very good - plenty of variety and I recommend getting it with your hotel package - it saves one meal a day that you won't have to eat out, which is not cheap in Reykjavik.