Ratings based on 152 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dorset

Nice Guest House close to the town centre.

Posted Mar 19, 2017
Pros: Close to town, small and personable, clean and homely.
Perfect for what we needed, did not spend much time in the hotel, just wanted somewhere close to town with a nice bed and bathroom. This guest house was perfect and we could not have asked for anything more. We did not really speak to the hotel staff only to ask for some more tea...
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Southampton, UK

Pleasant stay

Posted Mar 1, 2017
Pros: It's proximity to the sights and shops. Friendly staff.
Cons: Nothing
Location: Main church was a 10 minute walk, as was the main shopping streets and restaurants. There is a park with lakes, 2 minutes away.
We stayed at the Galtafell for 3 nights over February half term with our 2 boys (aged 4 and 6). The 1-bed apartment slept 3 in the bedroom and one on the sofa, but this arrangement was fine with the 2 children The guesthouse was in a quiet, safe residential, area but close enough to walk to the main sights and shops. The staff were always friendly and helpful. Breakfast includes the usual breads, cheese and cold meats, fruits and pastries and the price was reasonable in comparison to other places. Children eat for free. I would recommend filling up on breakfast, as food prices out and about are extortionate in comparison to English prices! The apartment had everything we needed for a comfortable stay - endless hot (geothermal) water, tea, coffee, microwave etc. The Galtafel was a good value for money place to stay, particularly if you have children.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from england

town penthouse

Posted Feb 24, 2017
as a group of 4 we offered there town penthouse which was perfect for our needs with plenty places to eat and close to all tour pickups
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from essex

Awe were given a fabulous apartment,

Posted Feb 24, 2017
Pros: Everything
Cons: Mirror in bedroom ,few hooks in bathroom to hang nightwear and towels,and a teapot,minor details.
Location: Fab right in the main drag,could walk to everything.a very pricey place a beer £8 ,a simple meal for two £70 upwards,need a big budget.
Fab apartment,were meet by owner who took us to the apartment,couldn't do enough,had asked for a view and boy did we get a view mountains and snow. The apartment was super modern and clean ,we realy enjoyed it.
5 out of 5
by Dawn

Lovely place to stay.

Posted Feb 10, 2017 on Hotels
Lovely location and staff really friendly and helpful. Wouldn't hesitate to stay there again. Close to bus station for trips and walking distance to the centre. Picturesque and quiet residential streets. Good breakfasts too.
4 out of 5
by Bethany

Apartment style not for everyone.

Posted Jan 31, 2017 on Hotels
We had a nice stay at the guesthouse galtafell. The owners were kind enough to accommodate us even though we got there around 1:00am. The one bedroom apartment was roomy-especially the living room. We had two adults and one child. I would say that the one bedroom is better for couples since there isn't a door separating the bedroom from the living room and the bathroom does not have a lock either. We managed but if you want privacy, opt for a bigger room. The staff was very friendly. Keep in mind that since this is An apartment, you have to clean up after yourself. They provide soap for washing your dishes.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 31, 2017 on Orbitz
I was greeted by a staffer early in the morning, and while check-in wasn't until noon I stored my bags, was given a cup of coffee and overall felt very welcomed. I returned after breakfast and my room was ready, well before noon. Lovely service, room was cleaned daily.
5 out of 5
by Katelyn

Perfect!

Posted Jan 23, 2017 on Hotels
Our stay at Guesthouse Galtafell was great! It was in a lovely area just out of the city centre. Our room was clean and very comfortable, and our room was also a favourite with the cat which was great. Most of all the service was fantastic, and the staff were so lovely and so helpful. Would definitely stay again!
5 out of 5
by Matthew

Stop looking elsewhere in Reykjavik!

Posted Jan 18, 2017 on Hotels
As a frequent traveller, there's nothing more important than finding great accommodation for a great price. Guesthouse Galtafell was exactly this. Just five minutes walk from the real centre of Reykjavik, 2 minutes to the Hallgrímskirkja Church and the main roads out of Reykjavik really close. From the minute we arrived we felt welcome, our room details were on the door outside and we walked into a really cosy guesthouse with amazing room. The owners were happy to accommodate any questions we had be it about the guesthouse or even our trip. We stayed Friday to Monday and after the second night had a knock on the door telling us they had an apartment spare and if we'd like to move there. This had our own shower, a spare room and a huge kitchen. Our first room was great but this was something else and really added to the unique experience we had in Iceland. If we are ever going back to Iceland, this would be the place i'd want to stay in, it was 10/10 in every aspect. In short: I've never felt more at home when travelling!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Canada

Convenient but not in the Historic guesthouse

Posted Jan 8, 2017
Apartment was modern, spacious, and clean, however it wasn't actually at the Guesthouse, but along the road at 101 Apartments. Breakfast was pricey for cereal, bread, cold meat and cheese.