Ratings based on 21 Verified Reviews

2.4 out of 5
44% of guests recommend
3.1 Room cleanliness
2.1 Service & staff
2.7 Room comfort
2.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from bogota

Posted Jun 23, 2015
The area was clean. The staff wasn't there the whole time which made it difficult to check in. Rooms were ok, no black outs but beds were comfortable.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, N.Y. - Moscow, Russia

A guesthouse in a suburb

Posted Nov 3, 2014
Pros: The surroundings.
Cons: The hotel might be renovated, whereas the TV fixed to the liking of international guests.
Location: It's in a beautiful suburb of Reykjavik, so for any entertainment, you should go downtown.
I got accustomed to it very soon. They have a kitchen, and a fridge. The bathroom might be renovated, to my taste, while the television was not working properly. After two nights, I even started liking to go to downtown Reykjavik by regular bus, which would take you 20 minutes. The streets are clean, and very calm. There's a supermarket nearby.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 29, 2013 on Hotels
1 out of 5
by Sally from California

Cheap for a Reason

Posted Jun 28, 2013
Pros: Nothing.
Cons: Customer service and building maintenance. The front door does not unlock from the outside-you have to stick your hand through the window to open it.
Location: An easy bus ride from downtown. Nothing nearby.
It was one of the worst guest house experiences. Staff was rude, and unhelpful. There was a mixup with our room so they voluntarily upgraded us. Then the manager appeared and yelled at us for being in the upgraded room even though it was the staff's solution. We went to bed early because we had just gotten in from a long flight, so we didn't hear the manager knocking on our door at 10:00 PM. We did hear him as he let himself in with his key to show some prosective people around the accommodation. They made us feel very unwelcome. Stay somewhere else..anywhere else!
1 out of 5
by Donna from Ireland

I hated staying here

Posted Jul 24, 2012
Pros: Nothing
Cons: The owner manager and the dirt of the place and the smell of the place
Location: Not near town.
This was the worst place I ever stayed in my life. Place was dirty and manager was not nice to us at all. I couldn't believe the way we were treated when we asked was there a bus nearby. We had four nights booked but left after two. Bathroom was so smelly. Hated staying here but thankfully found a place in town that had a room for the two nights that we needed. It is ages from town and it's cheap for a reason. There is no owner or manager living there and there is just a sign on the door to call a phone number when you get there. We waited for 20 minutes but thankfully one of the guests left us in rather than standing outside. Not sure what people do if they arrive late at night. I guess they stand on the street. Make sure you have a working mobile phone to call them.
2 out of 5
by John from Cheltenham, UK

Cheap and clean but not the Ritz

Posted Jul 9, 2012
Pros: Cheap and close to our friends
Cons: No service at all; unsightly linen.
Location: 5 or 6 kilometres from the city centre, in a pleasant suburb and close to a main bus route to the centre.
We chose this hotel, despite some bad reviews, partly because it was cheap but mainly because it was close to some friends we were visiting. The biggest disappointment on arrival was the bed linen, which was clean but tatty and unsightly. We borrowed replacements from our friends but later found more acceptable duvet covers in a cupboard in the kitchen. If you want a cheap place to stay in Reykjavik, bring your own linen. Even if you buy replacement linen in Reykjavik, it will still be cheaper than most other hotels. The "guest house" is not actually a proper guest house. It's a large family house with a small number of separate bedrooms plus two (I think) other bedrooms en suite. The owner is happy for the guests to use it as a home from home. Unfortunately, this means there is no-one on site for registration and to help with problems. The owner seems to use regular guests to help with some administration but there is no welcome pack or instructions on how to find help. The electricity went off one evening and nobody knew what to do. This lack of basic service is a pity because it spoiled what was otherwise a pleasant stay. A little bit of effort by the owner to provide a welcoming service to guests, with information and facilities to resolve problems, would make a huge difference to customer satisfaction. Even if a little extra were added to the price to cover this, it would still be the best accommodation bargain in Reykjavik.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Unfriendly and unwelcoming

Posted Aug 6, 2011 on Hotels
The owners of this guest house like the income but don't actually like the concept of people staying at their house. It was difficult to find and the owners were unfriendly and not accommodating at all. We were simply told to pay and then shown to our room. It was unclear whether we could use the kitchen to make our own food or whether we could use any of the living spaces. Please keep in mind that the power plugs throughout the whole house are unusual old Italian plugs and hence require specific adaptors, but the owners make no effort to provide any. We had no capacity to use any appliances at all during our stay. We were also not allowed to shower after 11pm. We certainly would not stay here again and suggest others to throughly consider their options before opting to stay here!
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Canada

Comfortable, Cheap, and Convenient

Posted Sep 1, 2010
The hotel was much like a well kept hostel. It was very convenient for me because I wasn't looking for anything but a bed and shower. It was very clean. I was backpacking, so I was walking everywhere. Shopping, and restaurants are very close by. The front reception has a ton of tour pamphlets for your different interests. A continental breakfast is served until 9:30 in the morning. The only issue I had during my stay is the caretaker/owner is not very friendly, otherwise, just ignore him [he admits he is a grumpy old man] and enjoy your stay. Its a great deal.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 13, 2016 on Hotels
Nosotros reservamos el apartamento que tiene cocina y baño en la misma habitación, mucho mejor que las demas habitaciones con baños y cocina compartidas. No es un hotel, es una casa de huéspedes,por lo que cuando llegamos había un cartel en la entrada que llamáramos a un teléfono para darnos la llave.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Heidelberg

Günstige Übernachtungsmöglichkeit in Reykjavik

Posted Aug 4, 2016
Pros: Es ist vergleichsweise günstig.
Cons: Die Badezimmerarmaturen sind reparaturbedürftig.
Es handelt sich um ein Einfamilienhaus, bei dem die einzelnen Zimmer (schätzungsweise 5 bis 6) als Übernachtungsmöglichkeit für ein bis 3 Personen pro Zimmer genutzt werden. Es gibt eine Toilette und zwei Bäder mit Toilette, die von allen Gästen genutzt werden. Es kann also zeitweise zu Wartezeiten vor den Bädern kommen. Außerdem gibt es eine Küche mit Kühlschrank, Herd und Geschirr, ein Essbereich und ein Wohnbereich, der von allen Gästen benutzt werden kann. Vor Ort ist kein Personal vorhanden und bei der Ankunft musste man zunächst einen Manager anrufen, um eingelassen zu werden.