Ratings based on 692 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 9, 2017
Really enjoyable stay. The hotel is right in the centre and east walk of good bars and restaurants as well as kits of attractions.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel with excellent staff! Great location!

Posted Mar 8, 2017
We arrived very early and staff was extremely accommodating and friendly. Great location in the heart of downtown.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent location

Posted Mar 5, 2017
Lovely hotel, room was ready in early arrival & the staff friendly & efficient. Fab location for bars & other restarants, shame the hotel bar & restaurant was closed due to an ongoing refurb.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Four days in Iceland

Posted Mar 4, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: nothing really. I was very happy with the hotel.
Location: Restaurants and pubs within easy walking distance.
Had a wonderful experience in Iceland. The Hotel Borg was centrally located, easy access to everything. Very helpful staff, who all spoke excellent English.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lincolnshire UK

Central location

Posted Mar 3, 2017
Lovely hotel in downtown area. Great location and very pleasant staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Great central location

Posted Mar 1, 2017
Pros: Aside from the window comment above, this hotel is great! (I didn't even bother to speak to management about the window). Good size room, great bed.
Location: Everything is within walking distance! Shopping, 10 minutes to the harbour for fresh fish for dinner, 10 minutes to the Hallgrimskirkja church
The hotel is located close to everything - you can walk everywhere in Reykjavik. Based on the art deco design of Hotel Borg, we expected to see Jay Gatsby walk out of the elevator! It's lovely. We must have stayed in the old section of the hotel, because one of the windows seemed let more cold air in than we'd like, but otherwise the room was great. Our view was spectacular - we overlooked the square and watched tour groups come and go in the snow (we got over 50cm!). There wasn't too much noise from the bars as previous reviewers had noted. The staff are excellent - we were welcomed at 5 am and although our room wasn't ready, our bags were stored securely and we went out for a long walk in the coming storm (it didn't bother us). Any needs were attended to quickly with efficiency and a smile. Get the breakfast - the value is excellent and will get you ready for a full day of touring.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Beautiful Hotel right in the middle of Downtown

Posted Feb 28, 2017
Pros: Great location, nice rooms, coffee in room, free internet
Cons: $25.00 Gym access charge is way too high.
Location: Bars, restaurants.
Beautiful hotel with all the comforts and niceties you would want in a higher end hotel. You can get an airport shuttle right from the hotel, which is great because taxi to hotel is insanely expensive. Only complaint is the $25.00 fee to access the gym.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wales

Nice hotel in a central location.

Posted Feb 25, 2017
Ideal location within easy walking distance of restaurant, bars and shops. Staff were friendly and helpful. Breakfast was adequate. Limited choice and same every day. There was a jacuzzi bath in our standard room. The jets, however, seemed black and clogged so we did not use it. There was a large rain shower head. We could not get this to work. We had to use the hand held shower attachment. Clean towels were provided each day. Room was comfortable with pleasant decor. Good view of square from very large window.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Staten island new York

Centrally located. Can walk everwhere

Posted Feb 25, 2017
Hotel excellent. Excellent Restaurants within walking distance. Icelandic people are very friendly and helpful. Many interesting sites. However food and drink are very expensive.
5 out of 5
by John

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 23, 2017 on Hotels