Ratings based on 427 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Right down town

Posted Aug 24, 2015
Great place to stay No air conditioning but not sure it gets to 70 f in Iceland Breakfast was good A little slow with coffee No help with luggage but otherwise very nice. We will book here again
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Great stay.... But

Posted Aug 10, 2015
Pros: Loved the location, look, if not for the above (the noises in the room were big in my evaluation) I would have given the hotel a much higher review.
Cons: Start construction and repairs later, walls are thin not much to do about that. Stress that breakfast is at a cost...and a high cost at that.
Location: So much to do can't fit it all in ....the hotel has info and there are plenty of tour places to go. We would stay at hotel again because of location.
First I must say that the Hotel is located in a great location very close to the harbor, the shopping the bars and eateries. The room was it was like a mini apartment, nice couch and chairs, huge bathroom, big closet, stocked mini refrigerator bar, safe, lots of windows facing the park. When we got there our room was ready the desk manager stated breakfast was served daily 7-10 and pointed to a a location across from him he didn't mention a price and the way it was delivered and what you paid for the room you almost assumed it was free. BEWARE....it is not free it is one of the most expensive not worth items we encountered during our stay in Iceland...and we don't mind spending money at all. 2800 krona per person per day. That's like 22 dollars US per person per day if you eat there when in fact you could go to the local shops and had a much nicer breakfast for half the price for two. The breakfast spread was OK but not worth it at all. I realized that the walls in hotel were thin when twice during our stay drilling, hammering and other construction started at 9 am inside the hotel in another room....that's right 9 am and it was loud...I don't know what there thinking we stayed out and had fun at the English Pub one night til 3 am and were woken by construction. The walls are thin and you can hear voices and other sounds ex. (cleaning) very easily. The fly bus is the way to go to and from the airport...a taxi for two was like 120.00 american when the fly bus was like 75.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from London

Beautiful Art Deco Hotel

Posted Aug 4, 2015
If you like Art Deco you will not be disappointed - beautiful place to stay !
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely and welcoming hotel close to City centre.

Posted Aug 1, 2015
Pros: All of it.
Cons: The price
Location: Close to great restaurants.
Very pleasant and helpful staff. Good central location.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Very well located in town center yet very quiet

Posted Jul 23, 2015
Pros: Very professional bi-lingual staff.
Cons: Their scrambled eggs are the worst in the Northern hemisphere. Definitely the kitchen needs a bit of training. Great otherwise.
very nice refurbished hotel in art Deco style with good beds. Excellent location. 10 mn from harbor.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NC

Great location in view of Parliament and centre.

Posted Jul 16, 2015
Pros: location and aura; close to a great bakery (Bergssons) to the side of the Parliament bldg. near the lake.
Cons: the cod at the Hotel Borg dinner; everything else was great but cod (torskur) with buttermilk was not the excellence expected.
Location: Walk to Sandholt bakery, near the Apothek restaurant with great quality, near the Hallgrimskirkja and its fantastic view, near the waterfront and lake
Great place; tried to rent a car via expedia but the options would not allow me to select the dates so I asked the concierge for their recommendation and they gave me the Pro Car site located a short distance away.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Cleanest hotel I've ever visited.

Posted Jul 15, 2015
Super clean, centrally located. Would have appreciated light blocking, blackout shades in room, as sun never really sets during mid July.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Raleigh,NC

Excellent hotel but learn about parking

Posted Jul 10, 2015
The Borg is a first class hotel with an excellent staff and wonderful restaurant. The staff was very friendly and helpful and the room was very nice. If you are renting a car at the airport you should know that the hotel has no parking, valet or other. The street in front of the hotel is closed most of the day so you are on your own to find pay parking on the street and to haul your luggage. This could be a problem and we were sometimes not able to find parking within 4 or 5 blocks of the hotel. Parking on the street is free from 6:00 pm to 9:00 am and 125 kr/hr after that. If you buy time from the pay and display meter after 6 it will automatically give you time starting at 9 the next morning.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 16, 2015
Super friendly and helpful staff. Great location. Comfortable rooms and spacious bathrooms with heated floors.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Posted Jun 4, 2015
Pros: Lovely rooms. Laid back style.
Cons: Breakfast lounge is a bit gloomy
Very nice stay. Central location. Everything within walking distance