Ratings based on 932 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from philadelphia

Location , Location, Location

Posted Sep 17, 2017
Pros: Location
In the middle if the main area of Reykjavik, you can't get any more central.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect downtown location

Posted Sep 16, 2017
This hotel is perfectly situated in downtown. Excellent location. Great hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Huntington Beach, CA

Great Location

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Breakfast area was a little crowded
Location: Close to my husband's favorite vegetarian restaurant, Glo. In the center of the shopping district. Easy walk to the church.
We were upgraded to the two bedroom apartment. I only wish we had booked more than one night. It was spacious and nice that after a long flight our son had his own room. The staff was very friendly when we arrived. The hotel is located in the shopping area of town and many great restaurants are nearby. We would recommend this hotel to anyone.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from FL

Posted Jul 28, 2017
Pros: Location
Location: Good downtown location within walking distance of all a lot of activities
Friendly staff and excellent breakfast. Stored our luggage so we could tour for the day after checkout. Excellent location
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NZ

Central but noisy.

Posted Jul 17, 2017
Located right in the centre of the old city area. Reception staff was abrupt and did not smile much. I was able to check in earlier which was great. Room was clean but needed paintwork refresh; over-priced for what it was, though it was ample for a single traveller. No blackout curtains and what curtains and blinds there were, were tired and sadly deficient for their purpose (2 drops where 3 were required). The room, 220, was located at the noisy front of the building facing onto the main walking thoroughfare. Noise from the local bars did not stop til about 2am. At 7am more noise began with the cleaners conversation and activities and departing guests in the hallways. Doors, though heavy, offered no soundproofing. Breakfast was standard and sufficient. Definitely need earplugs! Other rooms in the hotel may have been better appointed and located.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ottawa

Nice hotel right in the middle of th action!

Posted Jul 11, 2017
The room was great, staff was too. The hotel is on the main street with a lot of shops and restaurants around. The breakfast was also great!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Albera, Canada

Great location!

Posted Jun 26, 2017
Pros: Close to shopping and many interesting sites. Great breakfast buffet. Room small but clean. Secure luggage storage provided after 11 am checkout.
Location: Take the I [Heart] Reykjavik walking tour - you will learn everything you need to know, and will enjoy the guide's dry sense of humour!
The hotel is an excellent starting point in a lively city with a fascinating history. Lots of bookstores, cafes, interesting landmarks and sculptures. The seaside location makes it all the more beautiful and fascinating. There are many tours available, some within the capital city or just outside, many to more distant locations on the island. Allow at least three or four days to explore Iceland. If you rent a car and tour on your own, check the spelling of your destination and get a map! GPS won't help you if you have even one letter wrong in the name of your destination. Dress for the weather; e.g., on June 23-24, it was windy and cool - rainy one day, sunny the next.
5 out of 5
by Kristine

Perfect Starting Point

Posted Jun 13, 2017 on Hotels
This was a great spot to settle into our trip around the ring road. We were even permitted an earlier check-in (so appreciated after such a long journey to get to Reykjavik.) Limited parking on site, but free parking at a church an easy walk away. Central to restaurants "downtown".
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Austin, Texas

Pretty good choice for us.

Posted Jun 5, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Sound barrier.
Location: Walking distance to many shops and restaurants.
Great location. Reasonable price. Nice staff. Small but clean room. Adequate breakfast buffet. Only real negative was that we heard the band playing each night from 9 pm to 3 am in the restaurant/bar next door.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from St. Albert, Alberta, Canada

Nice hotel, right in the shppping core

Posted Jun 4, 2017
Nice hotel close to lots of little pubs, grocery stores, shopping, and also a short walk down to the ocean. I would recommend this hotel. Reasonably priced for what you get, at least to Iceland standards, very expensive country. Just opened a brand-new huge Costco. This has truly affected the economy of the country. Most prices, including gas and diesel, have come down dramatically because of this big US box store. But still very expensive by Canadian standards.