Ratings based on 567 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from P

Your Average, Modern Hotel

Posted Nov 9, 2016
Location: There is a 20 minute walk from the hotel to Hafnarfjordur harbour. It's definitely worth a look for the scenery alone.
The hotel appears modern from the outside and is decorated modern within. Although the decor is modern it is shabby in places. The hallway on the second floor can do with the carpet being cleaned. There is a games room containing a new pool table, new table football, board games et al. The room is large, spacious and newly decorated. The room is unorganised. There are sofas in the room which is fine, however there are tables and chairs scattered around. There is a flat screen tv on the wall with only one working channel. It would be a very good room if it was laid out appropriately. The cleaners do not do a great job of cleaning the room. I had to inform the cleaners that there was no shower gel inside the shower. The cleaners failed to clean a glass left inside the room for a period of days. The cleaners didn't once sweep or wash the floor and the bed wasn't made in a neat fashion. My room isn't an apartment room. It's a double room. The room could do with having a mini fridge as a minimum. The bonus is that the central heating system works really well.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Gettysburg, PA

Very nice, affordable hotel

Posted Nov 2, 2016
Cons: No safe in the room and no hairdryers. Apparently there are hairdryers that you can borrow from the front desk.
This is a very nice, quiet, affordable hotel. The beds are super comfortable and the facility is spotless. The breakfast is the same each day but there was plenty of food to make choices. The staff, for the most part, were very accommodating. I must give a special thank you to Daniel who was always smiling and pleasant and went out of his way to assist guests. The hotel is on a direct bus line into Reykjavik and it is worth making the trip.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Located too far from the city center

Posted Oct 26, 2016
Located too far from the city center. There is a bus connection but still was inconvenient to use.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

romslig

Posted Oct 11, 2016
Stort og flott rom med en fantastisk god dobbeltseng. kjøleskapet bråkte litt, men d må man vel regne med. Veldig kjekt med kjøleskap på rommet. mikro og vannkoker var der også. Iskaldt, friskt vann i springen. Litt lytt nede fra lobbyen. God service fra personalet og grei frokost. Mange spiseplasser, matbutikker og kiosker i nærheten.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great place to stay

Posted Oct 11, 2016
Location: Not far from airport or Reykjavik.places to eat nearby
Hotel clean and easy to find ...had fabulous room
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Clean accommodations, helpful staff!

Posted Oct 9, 2016
I stayed at Hotel Hafnarfjordur while on a long weekend vacation in Iceland. I was traveling alone and wanted somewhere affordable and outside of Reykjavik since I knew I'd be driving out of the city on most days. The hotel was easy to get to and had parking which was great! The staff were nice and helpful when needed (I had to ask for a hair dryer from the front desk, they didn't have one in the room). The breakfast was a basic buffet, but fresh and filling each day (yogurt, cereal, oatmeal, breads, deli meats, cheese, orange slices, cucumbers, tomatoes, hardboiled eggs, juices and coffee). he gentleman at the front desk did tell me that they booked tours for hotel guests, but I didn't use that service. Also, there was free wi-fi which worked very well while I was there. The room itself was clean and updated, but quite small (I got the single standard). The small room was totally fine with me since it had a double size bed and was quite comfortable. My only negative comment about the size of the room is that there was nowhere to put my suitcase; there were hangers over the desk area and a shelf above that, but it would have been nice to have some dresser or luggage stand. As others have mentioned, there is a slight smell of sulfur which didn't bother me and I didn't notice after being in the room for a minute or so. It's to be expected when the water is heated geothermally. All in all, the hotel was exactly what I needed. No frills, but clean and comfortable!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 5, 2016
Location: You need a car or Taxi to get to anywhere .. this is not inconvenient but it is not downtown. There are some good restaurants nearby.
The hotel met our expectations. There is no A/C so on sunny days the rooms facing south can be a bit hot.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Utmärkt hotell med bra läge

Posted Oct 4, 2016
Pros: Läget, standarden och förhållandet mellan pris och nytta
Utmärkt hotell med bra standard på rummen, bra med utrustat kök. Hotellet ligger närmare flygplatsen Keflavik vilket är en fördel. Det finns även en hel del intressant i Hafnarfjördur och till Reykjavik tar det 10 minuter med bil. Området där hotellet är kanske inte jättevackert men där finns det mesta, flera mataffärer, enklare restauranger, vinboden (systembolaget) och snabbmatställen. Frukosten var helt ok, mycket trevlig och hjälpsam personal. Inget lyxhotell men ett hotell som är perfekt för den som vill ha en bas för utflykter och utfärder och kanske vill rå lite mer över sig själv.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from hongkong

有車位,有早餐,亦有自己厨房。

Posted Sep 30, 2016
房間夠大及清潔,沖涼水好快,自己可以煮食!近機場半小時車程,早餐就一般啲火腿麵包,沙律個D!有啲房近馬路會比較車声多,總之以價錢而論,是不二之選。
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 27, 2016
Pros: Convenient location and great breakfast.
Convenient but economical hotel,a short drive from Reykjavik and a short walk to the old port area of Hafnarfjordur, with shops, restaurants and parks.