Ratings based on 591 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from tewksbury ma

Nice for the price

Posted Feb 1, 2017
We stayed here and it was nice! Staff was great, breakfast was good, I loved the oatmeal! All of our tours picked us up and dropped us off! Easy bus ride to Reykjavik
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Montreal

Nice hotel, incredible staff

Posted Dec 13, 2016
Pros: There's a bus stop at the corner direct to downtown and it's a very quiet area. Very pleased for the price!
They provide our room before 12h, that was very appreciated.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Clean and quiet hotel

Posted Dec 13, 2016
Pros: The clean rooms and very quiet.
Cons: The clarity of what type of room that you are booking and make sure that all is working well in the room, like the nighttable light and television.
Location: Since they do not serve dîner or supper, there is a fast food place next door or a little walk to Subway.
A very clean and very quiet place to stay, the tours are on time and well organized. The employees at the reception area are very welcoming and super nice. The price is reasonable. The continental breakfast was pretty good. Only a few things that were not to my liking was that I booked a superior room, but had no fridge and no microwave, there was no light bulb on my nightstand light, even though I asked the cleaning lady to get me one and no working t.v. remote and only 1 t.v. station. But overall, a really nice place to stay. I would recommend it for sure.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from C

A very pleasant stay when you are on a budget

Posted Dec 4, 2016
My partner and I weren't sure what to expect. We heard all the rumours of how expensive iceland is and what seemed like an appropriate hotel stay price made us concerned we may be in a dive. Boy were we wrong! The lobby is nice and simple but comfortable. We were in here a lot waiting for excursion buses that stop right outside the hotel. Our room was spacious with 2 sofas, hob, microwave, fridge with freezer compartment. We were in a double room but had 3 beds available in it and huge windows to look out across the street. The room was very well heated (a little too heated at night but balance between radiator and open window hatch was perfect). The beds were comfy. The bathroom looked nice and yes... the was a strong sulphurous smell but it's iceland. That smell is everywhere! Shampoos and soaps updated daily. I just wish the towels were. The staff were friendly, helpful, and always smiling. One in particular had shoulder length blonde hair, young (never caught his name) was extremely reassuring when the occasional excursion bus was late or if you needed advice about airport transfers.. great guy! Breakfast was your simple continental breakfast.. pastries, porridge, yoghurt, toast, cold cuts and of course Coffee/English Breakfast tea/Juices and had a nice seating area with catering staff that worked silently around you but always had a smile. There is a luggage hold too! And local amenities within walking distance! :)
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Quite place.

Posted Nov 27, 2016 on Hotels
Front desk staff were so helpful with booking tours and helping to make changes when needed.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 14, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient Hotel for all the Bus Tours

Posted Nov 12, 2016 on Hotels
Hotel breakfast was excellent and very healthy. Coffee for me was best I'd experienced as I'd come from the UK and on way to Canada. I would add Espresso to my cup and it was delicious. Front desk staff were very helpful and you never felt like you were 'bothering' them.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from P

Your Average, Modern Hotel

Posted Nov 9, 2016
Location: There is a 20 minute walk from the hotel to Hafnarfjordur harbour. It's definitely worth a look for the scenery alone.
The hotel appears modern from the outside and is decorated modern within. Although the decor is modern it is shabby in places. The hallway on the second floor can do with the carpet being cleaned. There is a games room containing a new pool table, new table football, board games et al. The room is large, spacious and newly decorated. The room is unorganised. There are sofas in the room which is fine, however there are tables and chairs scattered around. There is a flat screen tv on the wall with only one working channel. It would be a very good room if it was laid out appropriately. The cleaners do not do a great job of cleaning the room. I had to inform the cleaners that there was no shower gel inside the shower. The cleaners failed to clean a glass left inside the room for a period of days. The cleaners didn't once sweep or wash the floor and the bed wasn't made in a neat fashion. My room isn't an apartment room. It's a double room. The room could do with having a mini fridge as a minimum. The bonus is that the central heating system works really well.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient and clean hotel

Posted Nov 8, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel is fairly clean and comfort; its staff is helpful. The hotel is located in a safe area, within walking distance there are restaurants and supermarkets. It is quite far from downtown Reykjavik; but don't worry about that since the bus stop is located in front of the hotel, youjust hop on City Bus No.1 and reach the downtown in 15 minutes.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

average hotel friendly staff

Posted Nov 5, 2016 on Hotels
free breakfast although only warm food was the toast you can make, bed too soft, only 5 channels on tv, staff helpful and friendly, everything other than room rate is expensive