Ratings based on 385 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago, IL

Clean, comfortable, and elegant

Posted Aug 23, 2016
Pros: The great art collection and helpful staff, and the clean and comfortable rooms-especially the down pillows.
Cons: Add some fresh berries to the fruit at breakfast. Please don't change anything else--this was a wonderful, understated, elegant European experience!
Location: Perfect for exploring downtown Reykjavik.
My husband and I enjoyed our 2-night stay at this clean, comfortable, elegant, and very European hotel with a museum-worthy Icelandic art collection. I really appreciated the hotel website's chat function for asking questions before our arrival--I wanted to know how to get a bus to the hotel from the Keflavik airport late at night and the chat operator was very helpful in providing a link to the Gray Line website, which enabled us to make a reservation in advance.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The smallest room we ever had

Posted Aug 11, 2016
And it came with half a closet as a bathroom. Our view was the roof of the hotel backroom. It was a very disappointing stay.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 2, 2016
Good location and easy access. Breakfast was plentiful.
5 out of 5
by Cindy from Los Angeles, CA

Would stay again if ever in Reykjavik.

Posted Apr 12, 2016 on Hotels
This hotel is a few blocks from the famous Hallgrimskirkja church and the shopping area. Good staff, good location, and good breakfast. Would stay here again.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Friendly, helpful staff and great location

Posted Mar 29, 2016
Pros: The large junior suite room, lounge and front desk staff.
Cons: Breakfast. It would be nice to be able to pay extra to order some other options like eggs over easy or poaches or waffles.
Location: So convenient and walkable. The main shopping and restaurant areas are only a couple of blocks away. Downtown and museums are all within 10-15 mins.
We arrived early in the morning after traveling for roughly 24 hours. We were spent. The young man at the front desk on 3/20 did his best to get us a room quickly. We made ourselves at home on the comfy leather couches and took a snooze then we walked about downtown which was only a couple of blocks away. The young man helped us with restaurant reservations at Seafood Grill which turned out to be the best meal we had all week. We got help all week long with suggestions and reservations. I don't know what we would've done without the people at the front desk. I got sick once I got there and they suggested a clinic and pharmacy. They were just indispensable to us weary travelers. Besides this, the hotel is on a side street which makes it quiet at night. The junior suite was so much larger than what we are used to getting in European cities and it was very cheap in comparison. I also liked the lounge to get a drink at night. You could walk to anywhere in the city easily and every tour bus picks you up at the door. I would go back again in an instant.
5 out of 5
by T A

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 27, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 13, 2016
Great location, great breakfast, great staff, great view over the city.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Washington, DC

Central Location & Amazing Staff

Posted Feb 22, 2016
Pros: The Art! The Staff The location
Cons: I loved it all.
Staying at Hotel Holt was amazing. I was deciding between this and the Hilton and was so glad I went with Hotel Holt. The Hilton is actually not close to anything. Everywhere I wanted to go in Reykjavik was within a 20 min walk of Hotel Holt. The room was clean and comfortable. The best thing about this hotel was the staff. They are extremely kind and helpful. My first day there, the tour bus for the South Shore left without me. The front desk staff helped me book another tour and called the company for me to get a refund. The daily breakfast is really good too. I am definitely going back to Iceland and am definitely staying here again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hong Kong

good location staffs are nice

Posted Feb 20, 2016
Pros: location is convenient.
Cons: no
Location: short distance walk to shopping area and the church
Staffs are very helpful. walking distance to shopping area and the church. buffet breakfast is good. rooms are big and comfort.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 3, 2016 on Hotels