Ratings based on 471 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Denver

Nice, centrally located, Reykjavik location

Posted Aug 19, 2017
Pros: Unique original artwork throughout.
Cons: Some new carpeting would be a nice update.
Nice, centrally located, Reykjavik location, with free parking, ample, hearty breakfast, and wireless included. Friendly, professional, staff. Very clean, if a bit dated interior. Our Junior Suite was spacious and comfortable.Very easy access by car about 45 minutes from Keflavik International Airport.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Do not expect the American style of hospitality

Posted Aug 13, 2017
Pros: Breakfast is included Especially foods are outrageously expensive,one coffee is$4.95
Cons: Stop ripping off the tourist especially for a country just recover from bankruppcy although Icelanders have so much pride and try not mention it
Location: Perlan,the landmark church, old harbor ,blue lagoon, Geysir,Vik,black beaches, golden water fall
Friendliness is not the stength of Icelanders, the staff usually will not say hi/ bye to you unless you say to them first For 7d 6n, there is no staff asked me how I felt about their hotel, services or their city and country The holt hotel is really out of date, one elevator can only carry 4 people each time ,the carpets are torn all over the places the tour guide said the art works and paintings on the wall are more worthy than the hotel itself 4 stars for Holt is over ratted
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Park City, Utah

Totally over - rated hotel!

Posted Aug 8, 2017
Pros: NOTHING
Cons: Remodeled, working Wifi
Location: Great location to the main walking/tourist area
Wifi was horrible, the carpet is GROSS, very tired property that needs a serious overhaul. When I asked about the wifi I was given some ridiculous excuse for it not working - it's down, she supposedly rebooted the router, which didn't HELP at all. Even in the lobby the wifi was bad. Electrical outlets where all along the floor. VERY EXPENSIVE for this many issues.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

checked out early

Posted Jul 27, 2017
We arrived to find a large party still going strong after 1am and signs several people had gotten sick on the sidewalk outside the hotel entrance. The room was very tired and showed signs of wear. Very loud too. We checked out early.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK.

Hotel in a quiet road very close to all amenities.

Posted Jul 15, 2017
Pros: The food, the staff the proximity to restaurants, and shops.
Cons: The weather!!
My sister-in law and I could not fault the Holt. The staff were delightful, the food fantastic and the room far better than we had hoped for.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from michigan

Moved to Hotel Ion

Posted Jul 8, 2017
Due to computer error, our reservation was transferred to the Hotel Ion. Great location, lovely room and shower, helpful staff. Very noisy street below with partiers out until the wee hours. No parking. Free wifi. Breakfast voucher.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 6, 2017
Housekeeping services not great--no turndown service or change of towels at night.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from balto maryland

Five day visit to Iceland

Posted Jun 30, 2017
Great location - older hotel with modern features. Would recommend to friends. Would book again. Expensive but in line with Iceland.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sandy Hook, CT, USA

Wonderful hotel.

Posted Jun 27, 2017
Pros: We noticed many locals schedule special events (dinners, banquets, etc) in one of their "private rooms" that are available-good sign!
Location: Great location if you want a more quiet street and short walk the many of the activities
I was hoping and we received a "non-modern" hotel with local character, rooms that had local charm versus the typical hotel chain. We stayed in a junior suite that accommodated the three of us. A separate room with a sofa pulls out to a sofa that my 20+ year old daughter said was very comfortable Small, cozy bar available and very nice restaurant attached. Our rate included morning breakfast which was a terrific typical European layout(breads, pastries, fruit, meats, cheeses, various yogurt, toppings, different juices, eggs, bacon, coffee, tea, etc). The breakfast sitting areas was wonderful to meet other guests and very nice with all the wood paneling, etc. Staff was very friendly and was happy the hotel was in a more "residential area" versus the main street/shopping a restaurant areas. Only a five minute walk from the busy streets with shops/restaurants. The walk from the hotel to the harbor/ocean was only 15 minutes/20 minutes for a" leisurely stroll".
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 29, 2017 by Hótel Holt, Hotel Management
Dear John, Thank you very much for your wonderful review! We are delighted that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us. It sounds like you found what you were looking for :-) We hope to see you back here very soon! Warm regards from everyone at Hotel Holt
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location and free parking

Posted Jun 23, 2017
Pros: Free parking and very helpful staff
Cons: Breakfast is expensive. Should be free with price of room.
Convenient location for seeing sights in town. Was a bit hard to find.