Ratings based on 390 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NY

Vintage, classy

Posted Oct 15, 2016
Nice classy hotel with a classic, charming vibe. Full of great art and interesting objects. Breakfast was great.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location, charming hotel

Posted Oct 9, 2016
Pros: The hotel was clean, quiet and in a great location. I really enjoyed the art in the room and in the hotel's public spaces.
Cons: The bed was on the firm side, and the pillows were a little too thick. I didn't sleep as well as I might have liked to.
Location: Everything in downtown Reykjavik is within easy walking distance.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from USA

Great location!!!

Posted Sep 15, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: Considering what it has to work with, not much
Location: Walking, shopping and eating.
Hotel is quaint. An older place with great location within town. Room was small but comfortable. Staff professional and friendly. Would stay again.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Nevada

Posted Sep 6, 2016
Cozy comfortable room with great view from the balcony.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Sep 2, 2016
I will most certainly go back . Very central , helpful staff, very clean . Great breakfast. :)
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago, IL

Clean, comfortable, and elegant

Posted Aug 23, 2016
Pros: The great art collection and helpful staff, and the clean and comfortable rooms-especially the down pillows.
Cons: Add some fresh berries to the fruit at breakfast. Please don't change anything else--this was a wonderful, understated, elegant European experience!
Location: Perfect for exploring downtown Reykjavik.
My husband and I enjoyed our 2-night stay at this clean, comfortable, elegant, and very European hotel with a museum-worthy Icelandic art collection. I really appreciated the hotel website's chat function for asking questions before our arrival--I wanted to know how to get a bus to the hotel from the Keflavik airport late at night and the chat operator was very helpful in providing a link to the Gray Line website, which enabled us to make a reservation in advance.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The smallest room we ever had

Posted Aug 11, 2016
And it came with half a closet as a bathroom. Our view was the roof of the hotel backroom. It was a very disappointing stay.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 2, 2016
Good location and easy access. Breakfast was plentiful.
5 out of 5
by Cindy from Los Angeles, CA

Would stay again if ever in Reykjavik.

Posted Apr 12, 2016 on Hotels
This hotel is a few blocks from the famous Hallgrimskirkja church and the shopping area. Good staff, good location, and good breakfast. Would stay here again.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Friendly, helpful staff and great location

Posted Mar 29, 2016
Pros: The large junior suite room, lounge and front desk staff.
Cons: Breakfast. It would be nice to be able to pay extra to order some other options like eggs over easy or poaches or waffles.
Location: So convenient and walkable. The main shopping and restaurant areas are only a couple of blocks away. Downtown and museums are all within 10-15 mins.
We arrived early in the morning after traveling for roughly 24 hours. We were spent. The young man at the front desk on 3/20 did his best to get us a room quickly. We made ourselves at home on the comfy leather couches and took a snooze then we walked about downtown which was only a couple of blocks away. The young man helped us with restaurant reservations at Seafood Grill which turned out to be the best meal we had all week. We got help all week long with suggestions and reservations. I don't know what we would've done without the people at the front desk. I got sick once I got there and they suggested a clinic and pharmacy. They were just indispensable to us weary travelers. Besides this, the hotel is on a side street which makes it quiet at night. The junior suite was so much larger than what we are used to getting in European cities and it was very cheap in comparison. I also liked the lounge to get a drink at night. You could walk to anywhere in the city easily and every tour bus picks you up at the door. I would go back again in an instant.