Ratings based on 489 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Like staying in a museum!

Posted Sep 22, 2017
Pros: Art work
Cons: shuttle service to bus points
Location: wonderful location
This classic, old world style hotel in the heart of the historic district displays Iceland's largest art collection (according to hotel staff). Beautiful pieces adorn the walls throughout, along with sculpture pieces. Only negative is Reykjavik's new laws (since mid July 2017) that prohibit any buses or even vans from the historic section. This means taking a taxi or walking to bus pick up, drop off points surrounding the historic area. But on the positive side, this area is filled with wonderful restaurants and shops.Art
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Comfortable Hotel

Posted Sep 15, 2017
Pros: Location. Art Work.
Cons: Will need new carpeting in the hallways sooner rather than later.
Location: Close to downtown Rekyavik. Easy walk to restaurants, shopping etc.
Stayed for three days in a Suite on the fourth floor overlooking the back of the Hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from irvine ca

Lovely and well located hotel

Posted Sep 12, 2017
Pros: Great location, friendly staff and amazing art collection.
Cons: Rooms and decor are a bit dated.
Location: Near are all the major sites and shopping streets so it's easy to walk to everything. Located on a quiet street which is a real plus.
Very pleasant stay at hotel holt. The staff was friendly and helpful and the room, though a bit small, was very functional. Loved the location because we could walk to everything in the city; shopping, restaurants, museums, etc. The hotel has an amazing art collection and really nice public spaces and bar. We would definitely stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Great hotel with free parking in Rekjavik center

Posted Sep 5, 2017
Easy to reach by car from the airport the hotel has free parking and is very close (5 minutes walk) to the historic and shopping center. Staff was very nice and helpful. We enjoyed the ambiance, kind of Iola fashion, and the breakfast. Highly recommend it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Orleans, LA

Hotel location great

Posted Aug 30, 2017
Hotel is in walking distance to most Reykjavik sites. The breakfast was wonderful with many food options. The hotel has free parking. Nice comfortable hotel with art work throughout.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oregon, USA

It's all good!

Posted Aug 27, 2017
Pros: Everything. Especially: service, food, location, cleanliness, ease of parking.
Cons: Maybe it'd be nice if they extended their room service hours.
I can't say enough good things about Hotel Holt. Our room was spacious (we had a suite and our son love the memory foam pull out), clean, comfortable and quiet. The neighborhood is low-key but only a couple of blocks from al the action, parking was easy, close and FREE. The restaurant is amazing (but very pricy) and the included daily breakfast was the best we had all week. But the staff really are the frosting on the cake. the restaurant is very, very upscale, but the staff were extremely friendly -- I would even say fun. Magda at the front desk is an angel. Our son broke his collarbone while mountain biking while we were there and she went WAY out of her way to help us. Not only would I recommend HH, If I return to Reykjavik, I would never consider staying nowhere else.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Northumberland, UK

city hotel

Posted Aug 25, 2017
Pros: Very clean and with a pleasant friendly feel to it
Location: On first arrival you may think you are slightly away from city centre but access to the main shopping and restaurants area is very easy to get to
Very nice hotel close to the main restaurants and shops.Friendly helpful staff were always available when needed and the hotel has a good bar and good breakfast
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 25, 2017 by Alda Marín, Hotel Management
Dear David! Thank you very much for taking time to review your stay with us. We are so happy that you enjoyed your time with us. Hopefully we will have the chance to welcome you back very soon :-) All the best from everyone at Hotel Holt!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Austin

Comfortable and great location

Posted Aug 24, 2017
Pros: Location and small size of the hotel.
Cons: Could be updated a bit.
Location: Easy walking distance to shops, restaurants, parks and museums.
Very nice hotel in a quiet residential neighborhood. 5 minute walk to great shopping and restaurants. Friendly and helpful staff. The free breakfast had more than adequate food and drink options. The only drawback is that we used the Gray line airport shuttle. They tell you they drop you off in front of the hotel. where in actuality the bus stop is 6 blocks or so from the hotel. Evidently the shuttles are not allowed to enter the residential area where the hotel is located. And it is a bit of an uphill walk to the hotel, which can be difficult depending on your luggage and physical status.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 25, 2017 by Alda Marín, Hotel Management
Dear Bob! First of all, thank you very much for sharing your thoughts, following your stay with us. I am so happy to read that you enjoyed your time here. We are constantly working on renovating and updating the hotel in order to provide our guests with the best experience possible. We love to get suggestions and feedback from our guests, so thanks for that! Regarding the airport shuttle pick up/drop off, you are right, just recently the city council decided that buses and shuttles are no longer allowed to drive around the city center. The nearest bus stops are No. 2 (by the Pond) and No. 8 (Hallgrímskirkja church), but like you say, it is a few minutes' walk from there to the hotel. Another option would be to take a taxi from the BSI bus terminal. We try very hard (and I know that the bus companies do too) to inform our guests about this new regulation - so I apologize if the information did not reach you in time. Again, thank you Bob for choosing Hotel Holt for your Reykjavík visit, we hope to see you again soon! Warm regards from everyone at Hotel Holt :-)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel near town with parking at no fee.

Posted Aug 24, 2017
Really helpful staff. Good breakfast that is included. Good location. Old world charm.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 25, 2017 by Alda Marín, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for your kind words, we really appreciate your feedback :-) All the best from everyone at Hotel Holt!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Great service and warm hospitality!

Posted Aug 24, 2017
Lovely hotel with true Icelandic charm. The walls of the restaurant and bar are filled with beautiful artwork. The staff are very warm and welcoming. Rooms are perfectly comfortable but would benefit from some updates to decor and furnishings. Overall, a wonderful stay and central location to walk anywhere in Reykjavik.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 25, 2017 by Alda Marín, Hotel Management
Dear TJX49, Thank you so much for your kind comment. We are so happy that you had a comfortable stay with us. We are working on some renovations in the rooms - so now you will need to visit us again sometime to review the changes :-) All the best from everyone at Hotel Holt!