Ratings based on 498 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London/Oxford

Excellent hotel

Posted Oct 21, 2017
I've stayed in many of the 4-star hotels in Reykjavik and travel a lot for business staying in 5 star hotels. I strongly recommend Holt Hotel if you want a comfortable, less corporate and more Icelandic experience. Nice art-deco feel, great art work in the common areas, great Art Deco bar - popular with locals - and one of the best old-school restaurants in the country. The hotel is in the leafy embassy area and 10 minutes from most points of tourist interest. Lovely and helpful staff. The facilities are good for an older hotel but not the same quality as a newer corporate hotel - e.g. No gym or spa - but for a long weekend that's no big deal and they have passes to the local biggest gym / pool about 10 minutes by cab. All in all a super quirky and characterful hotel. I'd strongly recommend it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Glad to have discovered the Hotel Holt!

Posted Sep 30, 2017
We arrived in the early morning after our overnight flight - we were delighted to find that our room was ready and we could get settled and sleep instead of having to wait until the afternoon check in time - what a bonus! We also received extremely helpful suggestions from the staff for our time in town. We would not have known about the Settlement Museum otherwise . Our had booked a suite in order to have a bathtub in the bathroom (for our achy backs!) - the room was spacious and comfortable. the bathroom was on the small side , but not objectionable for a night or 2. Very clean. Breakfast buffet was substantial and delicious. Location perfect - could walk to all parts of town easily from there, which we did! Also close to restaurants. Yes it's pricey, as is everything in Iceland, but we knew this in advance. We hope to return to Iceland and would certainly book the Hotel Holt again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 17, 2017 by Alda Marín, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you so much for your wonderful review! We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. Hopefully we will see you back here very soon :) Best regards from everyone at Hotel Holt
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Like staying in a museum!

Posted Sep 22, 2017
Pros: Art work
Cons: shuttle service to bus points
Location: wonderful location
This classic, old world style hotel in the heart of the historic district displays Iceland's largest art collection (according to hotel staff). Beautiful pieces adorn the walls throughout, along with sculpture pieces. Only negative is Reykjavik's new laws (since mid July 2017) that prohibit any buses or even vans from the historic section. This means taking a taxi or walking to bus pick up, drop off points surrounding the historic area. But on the positive side, this area is filled with wonderful restaurants and shops.Art
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 17, 2017 by Alda Marín, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you so much for your lovely review! We are very proud of the beautiful artwork we have on display in the hotel and are glad you appreciate it too. Regarding the shuttle service business... yes, it is inconvenient but we try to assist our guests as best we can with arranging transport to and from the hotel. We are glad you enjoyed your time in the city and hope to see you again soon :) Warm regards from everyone at Hotel Holt
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Comfortable Hotel

Posted Sep 15, 2017
Pros: Location. Art Work.
Cons: Will need new carpeting in the hallways sooner rather than later.
Location: Close to downtown Rekyavik. Easy walk to restaurants, shopping etc.
Stayed for three days in a Suite on the fourth floor overlooking the back of the Hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from irvine ca

Lovely and well located hotel

Posted Sep 12, 2017
Pros: Great location, friendly staff and amazing art collection.
Cons: Rooms and decor are a bit dated.
Location: Near are all the major sites and shopping streets so it's easy to walk to everything. Located on a quiet street which is a real plus.
Very pleasant stay at hotel holt. The staff was friendly and helpful and the room, though a bit small, was very functional. Loved the location because we could walk to everything in the city; shopping, restaurants, museums, etc. The hotel has an amazing art collection and really nice public spaces and bar. We would definitely stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Great hotel with free parking in Rekjavik center

Posted Sep 5, 2017
Easy to reach by car from the airport the hotel has free parking and is very close (5 minutes walk) to the historic and shopping center. Staff was very nice and helpful. We enjoyed the ambiance, kind of Iola fashion, and the breakfast. Highly recommend it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Orleans, LA

Hotel location great

Posted Aug 30, 2017
Hotel is in walking distance to most Reykjavik sites. The breakfast was wonderful with many food options. The hotel has free parking. Nice comfortable hotel with art work throughout.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oregon, USA

It's all good!

Posted Aug 27, 2017
Pros: Everything. Especially: service, food, location, cleanliness, ease of parking.
Cons: Maybe it'd be nice if they extended their room service hours.
I can't say enough good things about Hotel Holt. Our room was spacious (we had a suite and our son love the memory foam pull out), clean, comfortable and quiet. The neighborhood is low-key but only a couple of blocks from al the action, parking was easy, close and FREE. The restaurant is amazing (but very pricy) and the included daily breakfast was the best we had all week. But the staff really are the frosting on the cake. the restaurant is very, very upscale, but the staff were extremely friendly -- I would even say fun. Magda at the front desk is an angel. Our son broke his collarbone while mountain biking while we were there and she went WAY out of her way to help us. Not only would I recommend HH, If I return to Reykjavik, I would never consider staying nowhere else.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Northumberland, UK

city hotel

Posted Aug 25, 2017
Pros: Very clean and with a pleasant friendly feel to it
Location: On first arrival you may think you are slightly away from city centre but access to the main shopping and restaurants area is very easy to get to
Very nice hotel close to the main restaurants and shops.Friendly helpful staff were always available when needed and the hotel has a good bar and good breakfast
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 25, 2017 by Alda Marín, Hotel Management
Dear David! Thank you very much for taking time to review your stay with us. We are so happy that you enjoyed your time with us. Hopefully we will have the chance to welcome you back very soon :-) All the best from everyone at Hotel Holt!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Austin

Comfortable and great location

Posted Aug 24, 2017
Pros: Location and small size of the hotel.
Cons: Could be updated a bit.
Location: Easy walking distance to shops, restaurants, parks and museums.
Very nice hotel in a quiet residential neighborhood. 5 minute walk to great shopping and restaurants. Friendly and helpful staff. The free breakfast had more than adequate food and drink options. The only drawback is that we used the Gray line airport shuttle. They tell you they drop you off in front of the hotel. where in actuality the bus stop is 6 blocks or so from the hotel. Evidently the shuttles are not allowed to enter the residential area where the hotel is located. And it is a bit of an uphill walk to the hotel, which can be difficult depending on your luggage and physical status.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 25, 2017 by Alda Marín, Hotel Management
Dear Bob! First of all, thank you very much for sharing your thoughts, following your stay with us. I am so happy to read that you enjoyed your time here. We are constantly working on renovating and updating the hotel in order to provide our guests with the best experience possible. We love to get suggestions and feedback from our guests, so thanks for that! Regarding the airport shuttle pick up/drop off, you are right, just recently the city council decided that buses and shuttles are no longer allowed to drive around the city center. The nearest bus stops are No. 2 (by the Pond) and No. 8 (Hallgrímskirkja church), but like you say, it is a few minutes' walk from there to the hotel. Another option would be to take a taxi from the BSI bus terminal. We try very hard (and I know that the bus companies do too) to inform our guests about this new regulation - so I apologize if the information did not reach you in time. Again, thank you Bob for choosing Hotel Holt for your Reykjavík visit, we hope to see you again soon! Warm regards from everyone at Hotel Holt :-)