Ratings based on 117 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

The hotel is okay.

Posted May 24, 2017
Pros: cleanliness, breakfast
Cons: it's very worn and dated.
Location: it's a bit far from downtown Reykjavik.
This hotel is rather pricey for being just "okay". The positives: The room was clean, and I felt safe, and the breakfast that was included was nice. The negatives: Everything about it feels dated and worn. It is all functionally fine, but just not that nice. This hotel could certainly benefit from things like new sheets/blankets/comforters, as well as new carpet, etc. Maybe these prices are the going rate in Reykjavik, but for what I am used to getting at a hotel when I pay this much, I expect more. The hotel seems to be trying to position itself as a "spa hotel", and to me that speaks to a much higher level of quality and comfort than they deliver.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Iceland stopover

Posted May 20, 2017
Pros: Quaint and very good breakfast Hotel restaurant was very good. Lamb was tasty and mushroom soup came in a bowl large enough to bathe in:)
Cons: Air conditioning or fan
Location: Little too far to walk to downtown but could take taxi or bus. Most of the tours and things to see provided shuttle pickup so location fine
The hotel room was nice but no air conditioning so was warm and stuffy Opened window but smokers from restaurant below were outside and noisy.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice hotel not far from the city centre.

Posted May 18, 2017
Very spacious room. Nice breakfast. Reception staff very helpful in guiding us for our sightseeing plan.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Raleigh, NC

Pleasant experience

Posted May 15, 2017
Pros: Breakfast was included. Staff was pleasant, helpful, & responsive. We bought our city card and arranged our airport shuttle through a receptionist.
Cons: Have postage stamps available for sale.
Location: The hotel is a little bit away from downtown, but there are buses. Down the street, about a 10-15 min walk, is a nice neighborhood pool.
The room was large from an Icelandic perspective, with 2 twin beds, a couch, and mini frig. Be aware the bathroom is supplied with a liquid soap for both body & hair. We were glad we brought separate shampoo & conditioner. Nice breakfast. Something for everyone. We were on the 4th floor with a mountain view, but unfortunately a new building is going up that will likely block that view. On our first day, we walked to downtown. While walking gave a nice perspective of the surroundings, we probably walked at least an hour to get to the main downtown center although if you were hustling it might be done in 45 min. The walk back is nearly all up hill. Our next downtown trip was via the bus system, which was slightly confusing the first time but became easier. Get a map (available at the hotel desk). Best to take line 11, which we did on our way back. Going down we took 4 (because that was the station we found) and then had to switch to another bus at a transfer point. We bought a city card, which covered bus fare. It also gave us free access to the neighborhood pool, a discount on a puffin tour, and some free museum entries. My debit card did not work at any ATM although my bank said it would. Fortunately, we could rely completely on our credit cards. No cash was required during our weeklong stay. We took 4 tours with different companies. All the tours were good, and they all picked up at the hotel. Everyone we met spoke English.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Preston, England

Good value for money

Posted May 11, 2017
The hotel is not close to the city centre but it's an easy quite straight 30 min walk. It has spa and gym, buffet breakfast is good and my bedroom was massive (more than I thought) and very clean and warm. Bed was comfy and pillows very soft. There is a swimming pool not far, about 10 min walk, which is great for a swim or to socialise with the folks.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from edinburgh

Great hotel!

Posted Apr 30, 2017
Fantastic hotel, modern, trendy, spacious rooms. Breakfast was great, fantastic choice. Only downside is that's it's a little out of the centre, but easily reached by bus, which only takes 10 mins.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, would totally recommend it!

Posted Apr 27, 2017
The only thing it's missing is a microwave. Would stay here again
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kitchener, Ontario, Canada

Cozy boutique hotel

Posted Apr 24, 2017
Pros: The staff were friendly and helpful.
Cons: Update the rooms to match the style of the lobby and rest of hotel. Other than that, a great little hotel.
Location: The hotel is a bit out of the way from action of downtown Reykjavik, but if you're fine with a bit of a walk or have your own vehicle you'll be ok.
Nice, cozy boutique style hotel just outside of downtown Reykjavik. The rooms could use an update in appearance to match the style of the rest of the hotel but otherwise a decent place to spend your nights while in Reykjavik.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hampshire, UK

Nice hotel but decor needs updating

Posted Apr 17, 2017
Pros: The room was comfortable and very clean.
Cons: The TV was very limited. Only one channel in English which was a Chinese news channel.
Location: Location was good; only 20 minutes walk to town. Plenty to see in the town.
Hotel very clean. Excellent breakfast with plenty of choice. Easy to book trips out from the reception and the pickups were on time. Take plenty of money as Iceland is VERY expensive.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Canada

Good Value

Posted Apr 12, 2017
Decent hotel with good value. Food in Iceland is quite expensive so having free breakfast was definitely worth it, even though it was the same thing every day (I'm not picky so I didn't mind). The location is awesome, only a few kilometres away from the city centre and the free parking was great since we rented a car. Room was clean however the furniture was quite old - the sofas had burn marks from cigarettes from a time where smoking in a room was permitted. I would recommend this place to others mainly for the free breakfast, free parking, and free WiFi.