Ratings based on 791 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 28, 2017
I enjoyed the location -- close to the airport, close to a long paved path along the shore, close to Reykjavik and the Blue Lagoon. The hotel is charming in style. The staff are pleasant and helpful. The complimentary breakfast buffet is great. The restaurant in the hotel is convenient and offers a nice selection of entrees, although several of the dishes were too salty for my tastes. I was disappointed not to be able to order a salad with my dinner. Other than that, I appreciated being able to enjoy dinner in the hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Canada

Pleasant hotel close by airport and Blue Lagoon

Posted May 22, 2017
Pros: Location
Location: Blue Lagoon and restaurants, close to airport
Nice pleasant stay at the hotel before departure from Iceland. Good breakfast selection. Blue Lagoon and airport are within 10 minutes drive and a few restaurants close by for lunch and dinner. Good value!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Update Needed

Posted May 18, 2017
Pros: Breakfast was suberb, great selection and friendly staff.
Cons: The facility needs a total update. Our room was fine, however the bathroom had water damaged cabinet doors, the shower glass was cracked.
Location: The location was excellent.
This hotel is very outdated. Clean, but not well kept. Not something you would expect when you think of a four star hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from South Carolina

Great location

Posted May 17, 2017
Pros: Location, breakfast
The hotel is conveniently located in town, just blocks from the church which is a must see. Our room had been decorated by a recent interior design graduate - fun. The included breakfast was quite nice - cold meats and cheeses, boiled eggs, yogurt, cereal, juices, coffee and tea. The front desk staff were very nice, friendly and helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ontario Canada

Close to airport

Posted May 14, 2017
We were stranded 5 hours away for 6 hours due to high winds closing the roads and couldn't check in until after midnight. They held our reservation for us as they knew where we were going and they monitor the road closures...which happen anytime...so pack for overnight if going on day trips.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dallas TX

Cheap hotel, coffee to the airport

Posted May 13, 2017
We stayed for 6 nights. The only thing that we were interested in was the free breakfast and somewhere to shower and sleep at he end of each day. This hotel met those needs. It's an old place with no thermostats to control room temperatures. We had to leave the window open because the room was so hot. A couple of the nights it was so windy that the wind through the open window kept us awake. The staff were all very pleasant and helpful.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 21, 2017 by Costas, Hotel Management
Thank you for finding time to write this review. Next time please ask us to show you how to adjust heat in your room. Thank you
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Maryland, USA

Nice Hotel, Nice STAFF! Great Breakfast !

Posted May 12, 2017
Pros: GREAT! Can't think of ANYTHING I didn't like about the Hotel.
Cons: I think it's newly renovated so everything to me was great.
Location: Walk to the water area, bike around, walk to the Ice Cream shop was like good 15 minute from Hotel.
I highly recommend Keflavik Hotel. Very close to the airport, close to the Blue Lagoon and about 30 minute drive to Reykjavik. We requested a waterfront view and we got one. Staff are very very pleasant. ALL of the Front Desk staff we encountered on our 5 days stay were great. Nice coffee machine at the lobby. Five minute walk to the harbor. And the breakfast was lovely and very clean dining area. Definitely will stay in this Hotel again when we go back. ( very soon ) ICELAND is a great place!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

nice clean hotel

Posted May 12, 2017
Pros: clean and food good, hotel restaurant very good
Cons: staffing level and public transport links to could be made simpler
Location: nice location next to the sea , a few shops and nice restaurants and close to blue lagoon and airport
seemed a bit short staffed at times but staff pleasant and helpful enough
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Germany

Nice hotel/free breakfast

Posted May 7, 2017
Nice room, friendly staff, free breakfast and free one way shuttle to airport. It would be wonderful if they offer free pick up from airport too. Bathroom was slightly not clean (found men's hair clippings).
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Worcestershire,UK

Very nice well looked after hotel

Posted May 6, 2017
Good quality buffet breakfast, was obviously built as a quality hotel although some of the decor is a bit dated in its design it is very well maintained and clean. Room was well equipped although the fridge turned off during the day which was a bit annoying as it took so long to get cold it was essentially pointless. Having said that, the beds were comfortable, plenty of room for three of us, very warm and cosy and although we didn't need the staff for anything in particular they always gave a warm greeting. The location is quiet and great if flying into keflavic and close to the blue lagoon, and shops and bars nearby. Would definitely recommend.