Ratings based on 287 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Alabama

Great hotel with great breakfast and friendly staf

Posted Feb 16, 2017
This hotel was wonderful. The staff was great. The buffet breakfast was great. Don't expect many hot foods but in spite of that it was still great with tons of selection. There is also a machine with hot drinks available in the lobby all day. the front desk will help arrange any transportation or tours. It is about 50 mins from the capital city of Reykjavik so if you have a lot planned in the city it may not be a good choice. We only went into the city 1 day so the location was great for us. Close to the Blue Lagoon and close to the airport. There is also a great tour company(Travice) that picks up directly from the hotel for all your tour and transportation needs.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 15, 2017
Booked hotel as needed a room for 3 adults which this hotel offered.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new york

Posted Feb 13, 2017
Service was great everyone staff and all were winderful
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful Touches

Posted Feb 11, 2017
Pros: Very clean - Great deep soaking tub =)
Location: Close to the harbor and the main street. Shop walk hike. Just minutes from the airport.
The hotel is a stunner to look at - the interior is magnificent.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Stranraer, Scorland

Convenient location to airport

Posted Feb 6, 2017
Pros: breakfast was amazing, lots of lovely local dishes. The complimentary coffee & hot chocolate machine in reception
Cons: Better sound proofing between rooms
Chose this hotel because of close proximity to airport and free taxi transfer back to airport
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Great hotel

Posted Jan 25, 2017
This hotel is great and although it's further out from Reykjavik about 45 mins it was ideal for us as it's 15 mins away from the Blue lagoon and 10 mins from the airport. There isn't anything to do in the area but you will be on the tours so it doesn't matter and as vegetarians the hotel restaurant wasn't good for us. Thankfully we found a lovely Italian restaurant called Fernandos 5 mins away! The only gripe about the room was there was no mirror outside of the bathroom, in a triple room its difficult to get ready if someone is in the bath. The sheets were not changed when the room was cleaned either which we did not like as we stayed for 5 nights.. I would still definitely recommend staying here! We also got a taxi driver who took us on the tours which was fantastic as we could plan our own time. We had a fabulous and memorable stay in Iceland. Nature lovers will be in heaven!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice hotel

Posted Jan 1, 2017
Great hotel, friendly staff. Specially Koolla front desk agent.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice hotel, great staff!!!

Posted Dec 26, 2016
Nice hotel, excellent staff. Specially Koolla receptionist. Always there to assist with any questions and arrangements to various excursions. We loved Iceland!!, definitely going back in summer.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Charlotte,NC

Classic European hotel

Posted Dec 16, 2016
Great hotel very nice will definitely stay here again very friendly staff, great breakfast!! We saw the northern lights right behind the hotel!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Close to hospital

Posted Nov 30, 2016
Pros: This hotel is very close to the airport. The breakfast was very tasty, too.
Cons: I wasn't there long enough to suggest any improvements.
Location: The only places I saw in Iceland were the Hotel Keflavik, the hospital, and the airport.
I was only in Iceland for 30 hours. Three hours after we checked in to the hotel, my friend fell and broke her arm. The first ten hours were spent at the hospital which is located a few miles from the hotel. We spent the next morning booking a return flight to the United States. Hotel Keflavik's manager told us they would speak with Expedia about a refund. Still haven't seen a refund.