Ratings based on 354 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, Canada

Simple hotel close to shops and cafes

Posted Sep 16, 2017
Cons: They could hang a picture or two on the walls of the rooms to warm them up, and get better quality towels.
I booked this hotel mainly because is had free parking and it is close to the shops and cafes in Reykjavik. It is basic and very plain, but clean. The breakfast, which was included in our room rate was good.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 19, 2017 by Geir, Hotel Management
Dear Kim Thank you for staying at Hotel Klettur. We are glad to hear that you liked your stay and we will have a look into the cons you described and see how we can do better. Best regards, Hotel Klettur
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Halifax

Posted Aug 31, 2017
Pros: Looked and felt modern and up-to-date. Comfortable bed. Breakfast included.
We only stayed one night, but it was a positive experience. Room was clean and the bed was comfortable. Nice quiet area.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 1, 2017 by Ída S, Hotel Management
Dear Corinne, Thank you so much for the 5* rating! We are super happy that you liked us this much :) Take care and we are looking forward to welcome you again and again :) Kind regards, Hótel Klettur team
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Two single beds... do not make a double . Beds kept pushing apart. Two blankets. Not ideal
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 30, 2017 by Ída S, Hotel Management
Dear Anonymous, Thank you for your review and for choosing Hótel Klettur. We are sorry to read that you did not like the beds. Please note that in our rooms, we have two single beds - pushed together. We hope your trip to Reykjavík was great and we look forward to seeing you again :) Kind regards, Hótel Klettur team
5 out of 5
by Steven

Great place to stay

Posted Jun 5, 2017 on Hotels
Staff was very friendly and helpful. We enjoyed our stay at Hotel Klettur. Just off a Main Street to downtown. Easy access to everything we needed. We also appreciated the parking space on the lower level of the hotel. Did not make it down to the bar for happy hour but the breakfast area was well laid out and frequently restocked at breakfast time. Next time we are in Reykjavik we will definitely stay here again, and will recommend it to friends who come to Iceland as well.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 7, 2017
Dear Steven, Thank you so much for your great review following your stay at hotel Klettur. It was delighted to read your feedback and that our team took care of you. We look forward to welcoming you back very soon! Best wishes, hotel Klettur team
4 out of 5
by Tyler

Hotel Klettur

Posted May 16, 2017 on Hotels
It was a good stay in a fairly quiet hotel. The breakfast was good, the bar was almost always open in time, and the amenities were more than sufficient for me. The cleanliness of the shower leaves a little to be desired. All in all, I would gladly stay once more
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 7, 2017
Dear Tyler, Thank you so much for your review following your stay at hotel Klettur. It was a pleasure to read your feedback and that our team took care of you. We always appreciate feedback from our guests as this helps us to ensure we work on any areas which are not up to our usual standard. We want all of our guests to have a thoroughly enjoyable experience and return on many more occasions. We look forward to welcoming you back very soon! Kind regards, hotel Klettur team
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 15, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Jacqueline

Good value, not so good wifi

Posted Apr 4, 2017 on Hotels
Very pleasant staff, OK breakfast, poor wifi connection in the room. The location is good, with restaurants and a store within walking distance. Charged extra for morning check in, but I was exhausted so gladly paid a few extra dollars. A good value overall.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great value in Iceland

Posted Mar 29, 2017
Hotel was very nice for the price, especially with the breakfast. Location is convenient - a short walk only to the main part of town. The room was spacious, clean and comfortable. The staff was fairly nice and somewhat helpful. Overall, I would recommend this hotel and would stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Unfussy hotel an easy walk to the main streey

Posted Mar 27, 2017
Nice, clean, unfussy hotel. The rooms were clean yet felt basic despite having the extras sometimes missing like tea and coffee making facilities and hairdryer. The breakfast was buffet style and very good having a good selection of cold choices like fruit, toast, cereal and more continental choices like ham, cheese and herrings. Apart from the charming Banu who warrants a special mention because she was delightfully helpful and showed a genuine passion in Iceland and all t had to offer, the staff were a bit disinterested, stopping just short of being outright rude. The girl who checked us in didn't even look up from her computer as she handed us the room key. That said, there was a free car park, bar and tour booking desk on site and the hotel was an easy walk to the Main Street. We would book again because it was a nice, clean, warm hotel in a good location with good breakfast, free parking and free wifi in the rooms that made a good base for going out and about exploring Iceland. If you planned on spending much time at the hotel you would be disappointed but then again, you visit Iceland to see the sights not spend time at the hotel, stick to the Costa del Sol if a hotel based holiday is what you are after.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston, MA USA

Well run hotel

Posted Feb 17, 2017
Pros: location, breakfast, tour desk
We stayed for 3 nights. 5 minute walk to main shopping/restaurants. About 15 to 20 to downtown harbor area, Breakfast was excellent. No hot egg dish, but everything else. The food was high quality, good coffee and juice. Nothing bad about the hotel, we would stay again.