Ratings based on 227 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

An average clean hotel next to KFC and mountains

Posted May 21, 2016
For one nights stay the hotel is comfortable and had all the necessities required for a good nights sleep. It is a bit outdated and quite far from Reykivik. The included breakfast was adequate. Although, a nice touch was the waffle maker which made delicious crisp and fluffy hit waffles! The value for money was not there.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Loveky hotel

Posted Apr 22, 2016
Pros: Clean and tidy and quiet.
Lovely hotel in a beautiful location with a great views of the mountains. We had a lovely large bedroom and balcony so could get some good photos.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Stepping Stone

Posted Apr 17, 2016
You cannot say enough of the Staff at the Laxnes. They were incredibly helpful and accomadating. Laxnes is a worn and warm hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Shropshire UK

Good View

Posted Apr 12, 2016
We arrived in the middle of the night. Luckily, the hotel staff had organised a key to be picked up so we could fall into bed. The room was warm and clean. The bed comfortable. Breakfast was plentiful. We wish we had had more time to get to know the staff but our itinery was so full that we had very little time in the hotel. We did enjoy the Liverpool/ tottenham game that was on in the afternoon/evening though in the bar! Would go there again. Warm welcome. Every organised for us and nothing too much trouble.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from napa

Cozy place about 15 min from Reykjavik.

Posted Apr 8, 2016
Very cute place. Nice location. Good, simple European style breakfast. Staff was very helpful. Would stay here again.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 24, 2016 by Shaun , Hotel Management
Many thanks for your kind words and can you please post a review on trip advisor please . Many Thanks
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Swansea

Good hotel for short stay

Posted Mar 18, 2016
Location: Circle tour .. we drove ourselves and go to Fontana Spa on route... less commercialised than Blue Lagoon and very relaxing. Buffet there is excellent
Didn't like room we were given on arrival last weekend as there was a faint sewage type smell No problem....we were given another room straight away. Breakfast was OK although every morning was exactly the same. Shaun the manager was only on reception for one day while we were there but he couldn't have been more helpful giving advice on when and where to go....we had a hire car. Would definitely recommend this hotel
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from iceland mosenboeur. .hotel laxnes

Beautiful surrounding..staff excellent..

Posted Mar 4, 2016
We felt welcomed..room was lovely staff excellent..breakfast waffles are the best..was lucky see northern lights on the 3rd night stay above hotel..
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

location,location,location

Posted Feb 19, 2016
It really is all about location at this hotel, ideally situated with the main capitol one side and sensational mountain views the other. The best of both worlds depending on which way you decide to venture. Very helpful staff and they can even book excursions. The rooms were beutifully heated and we would definately return.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK Isle of Wight

fantastic place

Posted Feb 9, 2016
Pros: Friendly staff and great view
Cons: nothing need changing
great place and staff our very helpful and they will sort your tour out, there is also a bus stop out side and it is very easy to get in to Reykjavik at a cost of £2 each way and they are on time. There are also 2 super markets near by ( 1 minute walk) as well as a bar that dose happy hour from 4 to 7. we had a lovely view from our room and on our last night we could see the northern lights from are room. also the hot tub was fun especial in the snow. When we go back we will stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great 3 night stay

Posted Jan 24, 2016
Great 3 night stay at Hotel Laxnes. The staff are very helpful and assist wherever possible. The only one thing to note is that this hotel is about a 30 minute bus journey into downtown Reykjavik. Overall a great stay and would definitely stay again. P.S The waffle maker is a delight!