Ratings based on 374 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good Hotel

Posted Mar 18, 2017
Pros: Friendly staff helpful nothing was to much trouble for them. Hotel rooms quite spacious views from room was good.Rooms were cleaned daily.
Hotel was in quiet location ,staff very pleasant and helpful, local shops and kfc,subway, just short walk from hotel bus stop across the road best part was watching northern lights above hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Leicester

A warm, comfortable hotel near Reykjavik.

Posted Feb 20, 2017
Laxnes Hotel is warm and comfortable. We loved staying there especially as we had rooms overlooking the mountains. We enjoyed the buffet breakfast of ham, eggs and cheese and the waffles were delicious. The bus service into Reykjavik is very regular. We would definitely stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

My experience was good

Posted Jan 9, 2017 on CheapTickets
Great breakfest. Down home local experience. Right on bus stop. No where to eat except for sports bar and fast food. Nothing to do in immediate area except for a great geothermal pool, 5 minute walk.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel!

Posted Jan 4, 2017 on Orbitz
We could see the New Years fireworks out the window! Clean hotel and verrrrry nice staff! Very helpful with tours and questions!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

We could not of asked foot more

Posted Nov 28, 2016 on Hotels
IWe thought at first is was a little far out. But it was amazing ,after seeing the modern Hotels on the way to Hotel Laxnes It was warm friendly, the beds were so comfortable (and I Hve a bad back ) Breakfast was delicious andlots of choice .
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Scenic position

Posted Nov 5, 2016
Pros: Out of the city, closer to the mountains. Very friendly, helpful front of house staff. Warm, comfortable room, complimentary breakfast.
Cons: No restaurant. There were tea making facilities but no milk, just powdered creamer, great in coffee but not tea.
Location: Loved the more scenic location which is why we picked it. Fast food places across the road, plus shops. Bus stop right outside for the city - 10 miles
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 16, 2016 by Shaun , Hotel Management
Thank you for your kind words .
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from virginia

where to stay in Iceland

Posted Oct 16, 2016
Pros: It was decent enough, but too far out of town, they advertise you can see northern lights from there, but we saw none.
Cons: Too far away from the center of Rekyavik. Inconvenient.
Location: Outskirts of town. Nothing to do nearby. You could arrange tours from there, though
The hotel was fine, but it was on the outskirts of town. The rental car company's office was supposed to be a shuttle bus away from the terminal, but turned out to be further than where the shuttle bus dropped you office. It was dark, and dragging luggage around the airport parking lot was terrible. By the time we reached the car rental office; and although there were 4 employees working, 50 people were waiting for their cars, the line was not movinh, and people in line were sitting on the floor asleep. After an hour of that, we dragged our luggage back across the black, dark parking lot and got a cab to take us for an hour long, expensive ride to our hotel. We never got a car. All other car rental offices were empty as those passengers were able to get through their line quickly and easily. I would recommend staying in the heart of Rekyavik at a hotel that has shuttle service and from there on, take tours or walk to local sites of interest. I wasted money on a car I never got
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Relax at Laxnes

Posted Oct 14, 2016 on Hotels
Staff very friendly and happy to help out in any way. We were really hoping to see the Northern Lights and they offered to come and knock on our door to let us know if they were out. As promised, a door knock and a short stroll outside and we were blown away. The Northern lights were dancing across the sky right behind the hotel. After heading back up to the room, we were able to see them directly from our windows so were able to keep taking photos. Breakfast was great and again friendly staff on hand to help out if needed. Would definitely stay again!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 10, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wyoming

Mixed feelings

Posted Oct 5, 2016
Pros: The general location was excellent. Close to the city, but centrally located to ring road.
Cons: The pillows and please put something on the tub floor.
Location: The ring road is 2 minutes away and their is an N1 gas station on the way. Nice bakery right up the street and KFC next store.
There was both good and bad about Hotel Laxnes. The location is perfect if you want to access the Golden Circle or the Ring Road. Our room had four people in it and never really felt too cramped. We saw the Northern lights from the hot tub in the back of the hotel in their full glory. That experience made the whole trip worthwhile by itself. The staff were all very nice, but often not there and the Kentucky Fried Chicken next to the hotel appears to be the local teen hangout. You have to request the hot tub be filled and one night it was too cold to sit in for any period of time. The morning buffet was enough to get you started with cereal, hard boiled eggs, and waffles among other things. The rooms have a bit of a college dorm feel to them with laminate floors and small single beds in the case of our room. I was ok with all of that. The pillows, however were another story. Even with two under my head my neck was kinked. The bathroom was a decent size, but the shower/tub floor was very slick. Everyone fell at least once during the trip even with the mat on the floor. I know this review sounds awful, but I still had a great time on this trip and for the price of the hotel it should be considered. No problem with the wifi and the hotel gave us an extra key when we couldn't find our original. If you intend to do a lot of traveling in Iceland and want a better chance of seeing the northern lights then being right in Reykjavik then Iam going to recommend this hotel