Ratings based on 661 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Comfortably informal, great location

Posted Jul 15, 2017
Pros: Fine, fairly standard breakfast. Hotel ready to hold luggage before check-in or after check-out. Very helpful.
I have no complaint and would stay again. Three things might matter to some clients, though they didn't bother me: some rooms are in an annex across the side street, there is no lift, and the toilet & shower were in the smallest space I've ever seen [of course, other rooms may be different].
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Baltimore, Md.

Best location in Reykjavik

Posted Jul 4, 2017
Pros: Staff was helpful and friendly.
Location: I have covered this above.
If you are talking only about hotel amenities, the Leifur Eriksson is overpriced. But if you want a base from which to explore Reykjavik, this is the place. You pay for the location, and it is worth it. The hotel has two buildings across the street from each other, both on the central plaza dominated by the imposing Hallgrimskirkja. From here, everything you want to see in Reykjavik is in walking distance: shopping, the Culture Museum and State museum (both highly recommended), the two best restaurants in town (3 Frakka and Dill), the picturesque harbor (with more modest food), "The Pond," a lake for strolling, the parliament (Althing) building. You can get a more modern hotel for less money on the city's outskirts, but then you will eat up your savings and time getting taxis to drop you at the Leifur Ericsson as the starting point for your exploration. We stayed here two nights, the first and last of our visit to Iceland. The first night we were in a hideously cramped 4th-floor walkup room under the roof eaves. The last night we were again in a 4th-floor walkup, but not under the eaves and with a fine view of the church and plaza. Staff carried our bags up the fourth floor. In the other building across the street there is an elevator. One day, I suppose, a hotel chain will buy the Leifur, raze it, put up a fine 5-star hotel and triple the room price. That will be a shame. Book your Iceland vacation now and stay at the Leifur while you can still afford it.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Red Deer Alberta

Very expensive for what you get

Posted Jul 3, 2017
Pros: The breakfast was good.
Cons: I paid $762.64 Canadian for two nights , plain Jane hotel, biggest tourist rip off ever!!!! Never again.
Location: walk around town and watch all the tourists.
There was a problem with the floor drain in the shower , the room smelled, no reeked of raw sewage. I mentioned it to the hotel reception before I left and was offered no restitution /compensation. I was told there was sulphur in the water supply. (volcanic groundwater). Sulphur smells different than raw sewage.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from charleston, SC

5 stars!

Posted Jun 26, 2017
Great location within walking distance to shops and restaurants. Friendly staff, wonderful breakfast. Highly recommend.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Cos,opolitan Hotel next to Hallgrimskirkja

Posted May 29, 2017
Pros: Position and staff
Location: Next to Hallgrimskirkja, a very famous church. Everything was within walking distance from here in the city.
An excellent hotel with a lovely staff. Nothing was any bother to them.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Comfortable, but small

Posted May 22, 2017
Room hit a bed for the most part, but it was comfortable. Could hear every time someone came and left their room with the closing of doors. Hotel a convenient location
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Welcoming hotel with good service and a great loca

Posted May 21, 2017
Pros: Staff, location, breakfast, 24 hour free hot drinks
Cons: TV can be improved but not essential
Location: Hotel is in front of the famous Hallgrímskirkja church. It is near restaurants, grocery store, swimming pool and bus terminals.
We chose this hotel because of the reviews and its location and we were not disappointed. We took the flybus from airport to BSI terminal and found it easy to walk to the hotel which took us about 10 minutes. We were welcomed by a friendly staff who gave us a room with a view of the Hallgrímskirkja church. We liked the free breakfast and 24 hour availability of free hot drinks in the cafe. The hotel also offered light meals which were relatively affordable compared to the cafe/restaurants outside. In expensive Iceland, this is a big bonus! The rooms were basic but comfortable. The TV had problems with reception initially but improved during our stay. Although not a problem for us, there was no lift but we noticed that the staff were willing to help if this was an issue.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from dallas, tx

Having construction work, didn't know

Posted May 21, 2017
There's some construction going on at the hotel and it was LOUD, they were doing some ground breaking work. I understand that this is not always going to be the case, but we weren't warned about it in advance, usually hotels have a note on their website in situations like this and I don't think they noted it on their website and it wasnt addressed when we checked in, it was just LOUD. We were in their 2nd hotel building across the street from their main hotel, which I didn't know existed until we got there and was extremely underwhelmed with the room. Of the 3 hotels we stayed at in Iceland, this was the worst and I went into it thinking it would be the best. Just disappointed. Location wise, it's great for the center of Reykjavik if you're looking for good downtown location.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Colorado

Needs updating

Posted May 18, 2017
Pros: The staff was helpful, and the breakfast buffet was bountiful and quite good.
Cons: Better bathrooms...better arrangements in small rooms.
Location: Right across the street from the church - and easy to get into downtown.
Rooms are small, as most in Iceland are, but this particular room was so badly arranged that two of us could not do anything at the same time. The bathroom is OLD...and there's no shelf to put your kit. The shower just has a "lip" - and water easily gets the whole bathroom floor wet.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

so so

Posted May 17, 2017
My hotel was just ok. My TVs did not work and no compensation for that and no converter so I had to leave my phone at the desk for charging. I was ill with food poisoning and no phone in the room in case I needed help