Ratings based on 531 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Philly

Nice hotel, but the room was on the fourth floor

Posted Aug 14, 2016
Location of this hotel is perfect. But the rooms leave a lot to be desired if you want something large
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Seattle WA

It's about the location.

Posted Aug 11, 2016
Pros: Ease of check in and check out. The continental breakfast was a nice touch. Location was a plus. I would look at staying there again in the future.
Cons: My only suggestion would be a few more amenities in the room.
Location: I travel to Reykjavik for work. I tend to find locations that are within easy walking distance for meals. This location meets that and more.
Hotel Leifur Eiriksson is a quaint conveniently located hotel. Easy access to surrounding shops, attractions and restaurants. I have stayed in several Reykjavik hotels over the past 2 years. This hotel is a good value for the money. I see some posted reviews that have some mixed comments. This is a four story older building. It is unique in styling. I feel it is worth checking out. Reykjavik is an easy walkable city. Much to do and see.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from teaneck nj

Location ok , wirst room layout and no elevator

Posted Aug 9, 2016
Room was on 4th floor no elevator! We are both retired sr citizens. Had to ask for help w bags. room ceiling slanted, tiny, could not stand up in 50% of room. Felt like I was camping. Staff was ok. Pipes started knocking - we had to change room to sleep. Nite clerk was helpful in our room change. Checking out we had to ask for help w bags again we were told to go upstairs and find someone to help us???. Other rooms may be ok but our was not for anyone over 21 it should not be rented. Bkfst was ok.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Monterey, CA

Okay for one night stay...

Posted Aug 1, 2016
We chose this hotel as it was close to where we needed to be in the morning. Hotel was very busy. We got put on the (top) fourth floor, and we are not young! No elevator. Room was so small that the bathroom door wouldn't open fully. It caught on the end of the bed. About one foot on each side of the bed. Bathroom had no shampoo or bar soap, just a liquid soap on the sink. However, the room was clean, it appeared. I guess we are just getting too old for such a small, inconvenient room.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NORTHWEST USA

Old Hotel great photo view of beautiful church

Posted Jul 31, 2016
Pros: LOCATION
Cons: AS ABOVE
Location: OLD TOWN SECTION OF REYKJAVIK TOUR BUSES COME TO HOTEL ALL DAY LONG MANY CAFES NEARBY---ALL EXPENSIVE
OLD MANY SAFETY HAZARDS NO ELEVATOR FOR 4 FLOORS WATER LEAKING FROM DOOR FRAME INTO BATHROOM 10" STEP UP INTO BATHROOM "DOUBLE" BED IS 2 VERY NARROW SINGLES PUSHED TOGETHER HOTEL IS GREAT SITE BUT THE STRUCTURE NEEDS MAJOR RESTORATION EFFORT FOOD PRICES ARE A JOKE! CHICKEN CESAR, CLUB SAND AND 1 GLASS OF HOUSE WINE WAS $70.00 "LOCALS" DO NOT EAT WITH TRAVELERS DUE TO THESE OUTRAGEOUS PRICES.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 19, 2016
Extremely noisy. Eating area was too small for the number of guests. Location was good.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel at good location

Posted Jul 16, 2016
Pros: Staff were great
Cons: Parking is a problem if you have a car. There is parking at the church but during tourist season it is often filled.
Location: At Hallsgrimkirka so very good location
This hotel is in Ericsgata at the top of the hill, so the location is terrific. There are lots of places to eat in the area and lots of shops as well. We are walkers so we could get to all the Reykjavik city sites by foot from there. Rooms were clean and staff were great at accommodating requests and recommending things to see or places to eat. Rooms were small and not terribly modern, but comfortable.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Good hotel next to prime landmark

Posted Jul 9, 2016
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We arrived some hours before check in and were allowed to leave our bags so we could start to explore Reykjavik unencumbered. We were also invited to use the complimentary tea and coffee facilities. Our room was clean and looked directly at the large church which is one of the main Reykjavik landmarks. You can see it from all over the city and for miles around - we could clearly see it from the harbour when we went out whale watching - so you will always easily find your way back. Being so central with everything on our doorstep was a big plus, but we were a little concerned that there could be noise from outside at night. These were unfounded and we had no problems all week despite leaving the windows open. The blackout curtains were a great help as Reykjavik doesn't get dark at all when we stayed in early July. The room itself was very good with a comfortable bed, double aspect windows and an en suite wet room with fabulous shower and ample towels provided. The room had a TV which looked good though we didn't use it as there were far more interesting things to do in Reykjavik. Breakfast was plentiful and available at good times. When we checked out at 0545 for an early flight we were delighted to discover that a basic breakfast service was provided even at that time. The friendly chap at reception even phoned the bus company to confirm that they would be picking us up on time. We'd happily go back.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ba-Wü

Zentral gelegen

Posted Jul 7, 2016
Das Hotel gegenüber der Hallgrimskirkja ist wunderbar zentral gelegen, die meisten Sehenswürdigkeiten erreicht man zu Fuß. Das Hotel sieht von außen sehr charmant aus, auch der Frühstücksraum ist schön. Unser Zimmer war allerdings sehr spartanisch eingerichtet. Praktisch: Kaffee, Tee und Wasser gab es den ganzen Tag in der Lobby umsonst. Und man konnte sich am Frühstücksbüffet Waffeln backen - lecker!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 29, 2016
Hotel Leifur Eiriksson is ok hotel, nothing too special, only one of the many staff were helpful. The fourth floor rooms are not practical and can be very uncomfortable