Ratings based on 1,233 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ontario, Canada

a great find

Posted Aug 17, 2017
Great location! The staff was extremely helpful and knowledgeable about airport shuttles, restaurants, and anything else I asked them. I was super happy with it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from North Carolina

Excellent taste of Iceland

Posted Aug 13, 2017
Pros: Courteous staff, convenience.
Cons: Street noise was a little loud, but not sure how to improve on that.
Location: Centrally located in Rayjevik. Everything within walking distance as far as eating, arts centers, museums, lakes and harbor. Very fun.
Our stay at the Hotel Odinsve (pronounced Odinthsvie) was wonderful. The night clerk checked us in after a long flight with no hassles at all... and introduced us to how hospitable the Icelandic people can be. Our room was in an older part of the hotel, which made it all the more charming. The hot water was HOT and the cold water COLD (and very good to drink). The attached restaurant (SNAPS) was extremely convenient for breakfast, though dinner was almost always crowded. However, the hotel is close enough to walk to any restaurant in the down-town area. It was also only 3 blocks away from major tourist/bus line pick-up and drop off locations. Parking is a bit of challenge, as you do have to search for on street parking (and pay during the day)... but we usually found parking always within a block or two of the hotel. Internet is free and most cable channels originate from Britain, and almost everyone in Iceland speaks English. I would highly recommend this hotel and in fact, we will probably book our next stay in Iceland back at Hotel Odinsve.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Edmonton AB

far too expensive

Posted Aug 10, 2017
Pros: Central location
Cons: Reduce the price by a factor of 3 or so.
This hotel is located close to the center of Reykyavik. It is quite pleasant, although modestly appointed. My main issue is that it is approximately 3 times more costly than comparable hotels in North America and Europe. Just like everything else in Iceland. Not a good deal.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A fisappointment

Posted Jul 30, 2017
The bathroom sink leAked / flooded onto the floor.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Very close to city center!!

Posted Jul 29, 2017
The hotel was very nice, rooms were clean, and staff were very helpful. The restaurant next door had delicious food. It is well located to near by sites. I would stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Very clean & Basic

Posted Jul 27, 2017
Pleasant hotel, good for few days stay. Good location. Bedroom very clean & bed comfy, smallish room with minimum decor. No aircon but fan can be borrowed. Good ensuite. Lift & stairs. Good breakfast in nice adjoining bistro. Lovely staff. Not luxury but pleasant.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Friendly staff Comfortable but austere room

Posted Jul 24, 2017
Cons: There was an odd odor when draining shower
Location: Convenient to church and shopping
Delicious breakfast buffet Staff extremely helpful
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Pleasant Staff

Posted Jul 20, 2017
Pros: They let me check-in very early.
Location: The city is small. The location is fine.
I had the room above the restaurant that others have complained about. I had no issue, though the water from the shower smelled awful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Waterloo, ON

Great location

Posted Jul 20, 2017
Location: This is a great location for walking to restaurants and shops; parking is a pain (street parking; you have to pay from 9am until 4 or 5 pm).
The hotel is in a great location. They have some strange rules, like they want you to turn in your room key every time you leave the hotel. They want your passport number. I know the latter isn't too unusual in European countries but it still seems like an invasion of private information. There is one tiny elevator, was fine. There is no breakfast included, which was the only hotel out of 6 in Iceland without- and this was the most expensive hotel. Just odd by comparison. The shower is a typical Icelandic shower, measuring about two feet square, so pretty tiny and difficult to shave your legs ;) The room was well-equipped with a hair dryer, tv, desk, and decent square footage. Nice to have a heater in the bathroom and in the room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent location

Posted Jul 16, 2017
We enjoyed our stay at Hotel Odinsve. Its just a few minutes from restaurants and shops. Its right in the middle of Reykjavick downtown. They have free wi fii. Grayline and Reykjavik excursions pick and drop their customers at this hotel.