Ratings based on 29 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

central location

Posted Aug 29, 2016
Pros: Small & freindly
Cons: Fine as is
Location: Close to city, walking distance to all restaurants and attractions.
Interesting city . Great trips. We enjoyed the walking and being in the city for the marathon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Canada

Wonderful hosts and charming hotel make stay a joy

Posted Aug 2, 2016
The hosts at Hotel Phoenix made our stay in Iceland an absolute joy. Their knowledge about Iceland and about all tours and companies and stores and restaurants was absolutely invaluable. We came to Iceland to celebrate our 20th anniversary and had the most amazing experience--and we must acknowledge that our hosts were a big part of that experience. Every day the breakfast was fresh and healthy and sustaining, and every time we returned to the hotel we were greeted with smiles and care and more expert advice as to how we might plan for our adventures tomorrow. They booked our tours with reliable companies who were always professional and on time and they even arranged for things like shoe repair when my husband's shoe soles wore out from all of our trekking around the island so we wouldn't need to miss a minute of our vacation time. We recommend this hotel as highly as possible.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Close to downtown easy to walk everywhere

Posted Jul 12, 2016
Very clean, quiet, great breakfast, nice small boutique hotel
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from washington DC

Superb small hotel with lots of character

Posted Sep 9, 2015
We love small European hotels with unique rooms and furnishings, and Hotel Phoenix was an absolute delight - from our room with a sitting area overlooking the garden, to the very knowledgeable hosts, to wonderful continental breakfasts. The location is convenient to the central part of the city, the harbor, and public transit.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ottawa, Canada

Amazing hotel in downtown Reykjavik

Posted Aug 8, 2015
Pros: Location, cleanliness, the cozy atmosphere, and the staff.
Cons: Can't think of any improvements. Stronger cofee and a little longer breakfast hours, maybe?
Location: The hotel is one short block away from the main shopping/dining district, within a walking distance from every point of interest.
I have no idea why the hotel is currently rated less than 5 out of 5. To me, it was 6 out of 5. Its location is perfect: right downtown, close to all the main sights of interest, but a little away from the noise from the bars. It is quiet and safe there. My room was beautifully furnished, perfectly clean, and overall very comfortable. The breakfast (included in the room price) was nice and filling, though if you stay for a longer period it might become boring. The best part of the meal was skyr (a delicious Icelandic yogurt-like product). The staff of the hotel is genuinely friendly, extremely helpful and reliable. There is no elevator in this three-story old building, but they help you with your luggage (thank you again, guys, and sorry about my heavy suitcase!!!). They are also an inexhaustible source of information about Iceland and give valuable advice as to where to go and what company to book your tour with (based on experience and not on their affiliation). I am very grateful indeed - they did help me to have a perfect stay in Reykjavik and see as much as was physically possible in a mere three days. I would happily return to this hotel next time I am in Iceland!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

No accommodation at this accommodation

Posted Jul 12, 2015 on Hotels
The room was reasonably comfortable and clean. No extras such as bathrobes or refrigerator/minibar. While the owners seemed friendly on the surface, they had no concept of what it means to be accommodating. Late checkout? Emphatic "no!" (Despite the fact that our original check-in was at 2 am). Lemon with your breakfast tea, or possibly hot chocolate? "No!" Any changes to the set breakfast tray? "No!" May we borrow the (unusually threadbare) towels to use at a hot spring? "No!"
2 out of 5
by MARY from Tracy, CA

Don't be fooled by lovely pictures!

Posted Jun 8, 2015 on Hotels
WARNING! beautiful decor, but very uncomfortable place to stay. You are never allowed your own key, must rely on the fastidious owner to open the door. We had requested early ck in and he opened the door , yelled no ck in until 4pm and slammed the door in our face. No open area or lobby, he is constantly using a chemical spray in the halls. There is a lovely backyard, but no one is allowed to go there, in fact when my husband opened the shade at breakfast, he rushed and readjusted the curtain. He has an odd sense of humor, a woman asked what time rhe stores opened and he said, "you can't wait to spend money." she had to ask 3 times. I asked for the wifi password and he said "10 Euros", which was not the password but what he charged, He was however unalble to connect to the net. If it had not npbeen a nonrefundale rate, I would have cancelled before cking in , due to his rudeness, it did not get better. This man should NOT be in the hospitality industry, you feel like a bother to him in his house and pay 200 euros a night for what feels like a hostel, where you cannot come and go as you please. Do not waste your money, try the Radisson Blu or ANYwhere but this odd place.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 19, 2015 by Steindor Ivarsson, Hotel Management
The owner did not slam the door in your face. We are not constantly using chemical spray in the halls. The backyard is open to guest but smoke free. The WiFI costs 5 Euros pr. day and we have a Microsoft certified system administrator working in the hotel to help our guests. Guests can come and go to the hotel as they please we have a 24 hours reception.
5 out of 5
by Paul from Boston

A Delightful Hotel in Central Reykjavik

Posted May 29, 2015 on Hotels
The Phoenix is a small, boutique hotel in central Reykjavik, a short walk from lots of good restaurants and pubs. Steindor, the owner, takes excellent care of his guests. The rooms are tastefully furnished and decorated. My room was a bit small, but comfortable nonetheless. The breakfasts were good. Given all its positive characteristics, the room rate was very reasonable.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Phoenix, AZ

Very relaxing and enjoyable stay

Posted Sep 5, 2013 on Hotels
Lovely quiet room at the back overlooking the garden. Very comfortable bed, clean, and great updated bathroom with nice bright lighting. Convenient to shopping, dining, downtown and the bus terminal. Especially enjoyed the breakfast with traditional Icelandic fare.
5 out of 5
by FH from Massachusetts, USA

A relaxing stay

Posted Aug 9, 2013 on Hotels
Although Hotel Phoenix is located on one of Reykjavik's main arteries, Laugavegur, there is little traffic or other noise to spoil a good night's sleep in the hotel's apparently newly refurbished rooms. And the Phoenix serves a substantial and tasty breakfast. The city center and essentially all of the city's tourist sites plus shopping and dining are within easy walking distance of the hotel. The hotel staff were friendly and very helpful (speaking impeccable English).