Ratings based on 1,126 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

location location location

Posted Nov 17, 2017
Clean comfy rooms, noisy room on the weekend (room 306) from street noise. People constantly using the smoking area adjacent to the room door. Bathroom has no shower, found it odd for a "deluxe" room. Overall a very nice hotel, this was our second stay here. But, this room is a terrible location and I would definitely recommend asking for a room off the Main Street if staying over the weekend.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from boston, ma

No complaints

Posted Nov 14, 2017
Pros: Housekeeping was nice and did a good job.
Cons: One of the front desk staff was not very helpful or pleasant.
The hotel meet all of our requirements. Rooms are not large but are sufficient and clean. Fairly quiet, in the center city area. Bus stop 1 is close by for tour pick-ups and airport transfers. Can walk to the Old Harbor. There is a small grocery store next door and bars / restaurants up the street. Overall a decent hotel!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Stoke-on-Trent

Excellent location

Posted Nov 14, 2017
Fantastic location in downtown Reykavic. Close to the old habour where the whale watching trips go from as well as Bus 1 where all the excursion companies pick up from. The hotel was very clean and the staff where more than helpful. My only slight negative was we did get quite a bit of road noise in our room which I think was mainly due to the vehicles outside starting to run on their studded winter tyres but overall I enjoyed the hotel and its facilities.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 11, 2017
Hotel was centrally located, staff was helpful and friendly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 6, 2017
Pros: The staff on reception were excellent and took the time to assist with planning of trips during our stay. very helpful.
We stayed in the hotel for a short break and the staff were very helpful for all necessary tasks.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Buckinghamshire, England

First trip to Reykjavik

Posted Nov 5, 2017
Pros: Great location. Room was fine. Bar (served food) was 11/10. Didn't use the restaurant (great menu), but they gave us a 20%-off voucher at check-in.
Cons: Only negative was that room was slightly too warm even with radiator turned off. Windows only opened so far so couldn't really cool room further.
Location: Great central location. 5 minute walk to harbour area (great seafood). At end of "tourist" shopping road. Near parks, cathedral, restarants, cafes.
Excellent hotel. Great location next to lots of restaurants, cafes and shops. Staff were excellent and very friendly. Would stay there again and would highly recommend to others.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Denver, Colorado USA

Excellent location

Posted Oct 29, 2017
Pros: I loved the convenience on its location and how easily one could walk to places.
Cons: A light in the shower would be nice.
Location: lots of places to walk to and my new favorite coffee shop is across the street.
This was my first time to Iceland and not knowing the geographical area, I was quite pleased on the location of the hotel. It was near everything in city center. I especially liked how the bus would pick one up and drop one off from the airport and for tours. Great experience!
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 30, 2017 by Front Desk Department, Hotel Management
Dear Cynthia, Thank you for your feedback which certainly helps us to monitor and improve our services. I am glad in general that you had enjoyable stay. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Sincerely,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Lovely, clean and friendly hotel in quiet location

Posted Oct 29, 2017
Pros: Very comfortable bed and good bed linen. Excellent service from extremely polite, friendly, knowledgeable staff.
Cons: Over bath shower should have a grab rail. Hairdryer cable is too short. If a balcony is not provided it shouldn't appear in the description.
Location: Walking distance to the tourist boats and just a couple of minutes to the shuttle bus stop. Also close to restaurants, bars, etc.
We booked a junior suite which, although small on the first level, was fine for a couple of nights. Stairs to the bedroom are quite steep, particularly as the bathroom is downstairs. Although we had booked a Junior Suite we didn't have a balcony which is clearly mentioned (and shown in the photographs) in the hotel's description of this accommodation. This was disappointing, particularly as the weather was fabulous during our stay. Anyone booking should check that the accommodation allocated actually provides what is advertised.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 30, 2017 by Front Office Department, Hotel Management
Dear Mary, Thank you for taking the time to post the review of our hotel. We do value all feedback from our guests, both positive as well as the more challenging. We are happy that you found some important aspects to be positive, and will improve the negative ones. We hope you will come back to Iceland and choose again Our hotel! Have a wonderful day.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 29, 2017
Excellent customer service with reception. Staff happy to help book excursions. Food and drinks in the restaurant good. Average rooms, beds comfortable but not enough pillows and room quite dusty.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 30, 2017 by Front Desk Department, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for spending the time to review Our hotel, it is very important for us to have your feedback. We are happy that you found excellent our costumer service and our reception staff. We will inform the housekeeping about the status of the rooms so they can improve the service. Have a nice day and we hope to see you again in the future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Rochdale, UK

Perfectly situated for our needs

Posted Oct 28, 2017
A very comfortable and clean hotel, close to restaurants, shops and sightseeing. The staff were very friendly and helpful and I would certainly stay there again.