Ratings based on 1,102 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Cambridge UK

Great hotel and great location

Posted Oct 16, 2017
Lovely room in a great hotel and the room was fantastic. The hotel is right at the heart of the city in an area with lots of bars and restaurants but it is still fairly quiet. The room was spacious and comfortable and very clean. Very pleased with our stay here.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Washington, DC

Great location for exploring

Posted Oct 3, 2017
Pros: Location, location, location!
Cons: Breakfast not included the way it was at many other places we stayed while in Iceland.
This hotel was in a great location for exploring Reykjavik by foot, close to lots of shops and restaurants. Rooms are cozy (read: small by American standards) but have everything you need. We didn't eat at the restaurant but did enjoy the bar. It was a bit noisy with the window open, but that comes with a central location in a city with nightlife. Parking was easy, though not included. The also let us check in early, which was very much appreciated after a red eye flight.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Canada

Centrally located, disappointing otherwise

Posted Oct 3, 2017
Pros: Not much
Cons: Cleanliness
Location: central to all activities and restaurants
The cleanliness of the room and the old linen and bed covers were the most memorable features. The small bathroom was another issue. The price overall was a poor value.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

Great Hotel in Central Location

Posted Oct 3, 2017
Easy access to everything you want to see and do in Central Reykjavik. Loved our visit!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Miami, FL

Great stay

Posted Sep 29, 2017
Great quiet hotel within walking distance of the city center.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Edmonton, AB

Excellent site for walking tours of Reykjavik

Posted Sep 25, 2017
Pros: Clean, well presented, and appealing to most travellers.
Cons: Increase room space to allow room for a larger suitcase, and improve the beds.
Location: There is a lot to do nearby - many tours are available, the town centre is within easy walking distance, and many landmarks are easy to access.
When I checked in, I was greatly impressed by the cleanliness of the hotel and room, but a bit taken aback by the tiny size of the room. I barely had room to open up my suitcase and had to leave it on the floor by my bed for removing clothing. Staff were friendly if a little confusing at times - sometimes they did not quite understand my questions (in English), or would sometimes get the wrong idea of what I was requesting. But this seems to be usual for Icelandic people as they normally do not speak English as their first language. A few things really impressed me - one was that the hotel is built right above one of the oldest settlements in Reykjavik, which you can visit underneath the building. There is a superb restaurant in the hotel that serves a brilliant dish of sea trout and provides excellent food for breakfast and dinner. I really enjoyed wandering around Reykjavik as it is a truly unique city to visit, with a strong sense of history evident everywhere you visit. Biggest drawback with the site is access to and from the hotel - you need to allow up to 2 hours to get into and out of the Reykjavik town area to the airport, because you have to take 2 buses each way.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Overall an Excellent experience

Posted Sep 18, 2017
Cons: The only down side is there is no parking for the hotel and you have to find your own parking and feed a meter.
Location: A few minutes walk to a number of attractions in the city.
The location is great and the staff were very accommodating. We arrived 3 hours early and not only did they let us in but we were given an upgraded room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Great Falls, VA

Three Days and Four Nights in Iceland

Posted Sep 15, 2017
Pros: Friendly accommodating staff, cleanliness, and central location.
Cons: Expedia's booking.
Location: Close to tourist attractions and great restaurants.
One of my companions cut her stay short, which created all kinds of problems for the group. I phoned Expedia several times and each time what the agent told me, was not in the email I received or in the hotel records. However, the staff were very kind and accommodated us as best as they good and our overall experience was very good. We loved the bar: food and service. And one can't beat Hotel Reykjavik Centrum's location.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 11, 2017
Comfortable, clean hotel. Staff is extremely friendly and helpful (figured out how to get me to the airport around major road closures for a city bike race). Best location for nights out near restaurants, shopping, bars. Highly recommend.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from southampton

Great Location and staff

Posted Sep 9, 2017
Pros: Location and staff
Cons: Electrical appliances need checking that they all work
Location: Downtown close to city centre and tour bus stop
Location is great, near Reykjavik city centre and bus stop 1 City hall for tour pick ups. Bar staff very helpful especially Anna. Reception staff great. Down side standard room a bit small. Hairdryer faulty, under flight path to Reykjavik domestic airport, but no flight between 7pm and 7am and not that many. TV channels not reliable. Also they were fitting new carpets throughout our stay.