Ratings based on 521 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

nice hotel close to restaurants and shopping.

Posted Jan 18, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Our room had dormers and slanted ceilings over the tub and beds. They did offer to move us but we had already unpacked.
Location: conveniently located walking distance to everything in town.
staff was friendly and very helpful. Good recommendations for restaurants.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Great Hotel very close to everything in town.

Posted Jan 16, 2017
Pros: Clean tidy friendly staff. Great location.
Cons: Temperature control in rooms. Chill out area. Choice of food for breakfast, paying a set price if you just want a yoghurt and drink does not work
Location: Loads to do and see, Great walks by the harbour and sea front, Well worth visiting the church and taking the lift up to enjoy the views.
Great hotel and very close to everything. Staff very friendly and helpful. The room was clean and tidy tho no way to control the temperature so was quite hot and uncomfortable at times, tried opening the window but was too loud due to traffic noise. Could have done with a chill out area as with Iceland being very exspensive it would have been great to have had somewhere comfortable just to read or relax other than the room. Only had the breakfast buffet once as £18 for breakfast is a bit much esp if you just want a yoghurt and cup of tea. With our £ being rubbish at the mo would recommend you fill up at duty free as alcohol and food is very expensive.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good hotel, very friendly staff. Great location.

Posted Jan 16, 2017
Great long weekend in Reykjavik. No northern lights but never mind!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, Excellent Location

Posted Jan 13, 2017
Pros: Location, warm, best hot chocolate ever. Nice restaurant and food.
Cons: The practicality of the room.
Location: Very central. Lots of places to eat nearby, and plenty to do.
The hotel is nice, and its in an excellent location, right in the centre and has everything you need around you. The only downside of the hotel was the room. It was quite small and there was no place to put the suitcases! It also wasn't very practical for women. There is no mirror or plug over or near the dresser, which means getting ready was quite awkward.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Munich

Excellent central location but overpriced

Posted Dec 30, 2016
Pros: Location and Staff were efficient.
Cons: Rooms are small and there were only 5 working TV channels, no CNN. Not good When there is only 4 hours of sunlight per day during the Winter.
This is a typical commercial city center hotel. It is very over priced and the poorest value for money vs. any of the other hotels we stayed at in Iceland. Breakfast was not included and was an expensive add on. A downtown Apartment hotel would have been a better option.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely and clean.

Posted Dec 21, 2016
Immaculate. Late night snacks available in the lobby. You will need them after you experience sticker shock from the restaurant prices in Reykjavik. Didn't keep sandwiches stocked though even after multiple requests. A very nice lounge on the premises with a Happy Hour. Centrally located. Good wifi. I would definitely stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from West Sussex

The Hotel is in an nice central position.

Posted Dec 17, 2016
Pros: The bar area was very pleasant and served very good food. They had a daily happy hour which was useful
Cons: The corridors leading to the bedrooms were very dirty.
Location: The hotel is near an interesting village type area, and a short walk to the Art Gallery Shops etc. It is in a central position
Very enjoyable stay although the weather was very wet, but not cold. We did three trips with Grayline which we highly recommend. The Hotel was very nice with a very nice bar that served good food. Everywhere was very very expensive though.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from warrington, england

Great location

Posted Dec 14, 2016
Hotel is in a perfect location. Close to everything and is well kept. Would 100% recommend and will definitely go back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Staffordshire

Great location for city sightseeing.

Posted Dec 11, 2016
An excellent hotel in the prettiest area: the Old Harbour. Full of character and with a friendly staff. Nothing was ever too much trouble from emailing before our trip to sorting excursions whilst there. Room was quiet (4th floor ) and very warm. Loved the bar area. Would definitely recommend.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from fl

Good location, however one costly issue

Posted Dec 11, 2016
Pros: Location. Breakfast buffet
Cons: Staff accuracy. New carpet needed. Softer bottom sheets.
Location: Within walking distance of town and skating rink
Good location. Staff very accommodating overall. Had one costly problem though. Staff called grand circle to confirm horseback riding and blue lagoon trip we had scheduled and we were told we would be picked up at 14:30 when the correct time was 12:30. As a result, we missed the horseback potion of the trip. This had been. $450+ trip and we missed a good portion of it due to this mistake.