Ratings based on 149 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Good value hotel - ideal for road trippers

Posted Mar 15, 2017
Great value hotel in great location (easy to find) if you intend to drive around yourself. Breakfast was good & set you up for the day. Stayed 3 nights and no issues.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bradford, West Yorkshire

Surprisingly good hotel

Posted Feb 23, 2017
Pros: Friendly staff, cleanliness and location.
Cons: It would be nice if there was a small bar area for the evening.
Location: Short walk from a small shopping mall and is in a quiet area.
Stayed here with 2 friends on a short break. We chose the hotel for price more than anything as we were travelling on a budget. On arrival we were met by a very friendly, helpful and knowledgeable young lady who was willing and able to answer all our questions. We were slightly early for check in and she checked if our room was ready which it was so we were able to go straight to it. The room was extremely clean and tidy. It was warm and the beds were comfortable. The shower facilities were good with plenty of hot water for 3 ladies to shower one after the other! The breakfast buffet was very good - much better than the description provided on Expedia and this was a very pleasant surprise. The food was hot and well cooked and included a selection of cold meats, cheese, salad, fruit, yoghurt, fresh and sliced bread, bacon, sausages and scrambled egg as well as croissants, pan au chocolat, pastries and a selection of hot drinks plus orange juice. All the staff were friendly and able to access the tour companies details so they can check whether your trip is still running. Excellent!! The location of the hotel was fantastic for us as it was quiet and just a short walk from the local shopping mall where you can also purchase souvenirs. There is a small selection of cafes including Subway and TGIs within the mall. It is also within the pick up areas for Grey Line and Reykjavik Tours. You can purchase bus tickets from reception and it is easy to get to the city from there.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Budget Hotel

Posted Feb 9, 2017
Pros: Clean.comfortable.Good staff.
Cons: Breakfast time , Shower.
Location: Far from Reykjavik.Bad connectivity from Kopavagur to Reykjavik. Positive : The hotel is located near a shopping centre.Good restaurants nearby.
Our room was a twin bed room.Clean.Comfortable.However, we requested for a double bedroom while booking online.Our request was taken care later when we prompted the hotel staff.The shower was not working properly.Breakfast was included.However, since most of the tours start early in the morning.We couId not eat breakfast.mportant point : We read online reviews from trip advisor where reviewers said that different tours do hotel pickup.However, the tours we booked ( from different tour operators) refused to pick us up from Hotel.Beware!The location of hotel is outside Reykjavik, far from BSI Terminal ( where most of the tour operators do pickup)The local Bus service from Kopavagur ( where Hotel Smari is located) is not very frequent.Taxi is the only option.Taxi Cost around Kr 2700-3500.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 8, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

close to Reyjavix city center and shopping

Posted Nov 17, 2016 on Hotels
the carpet is old. Otherwise,It has an old fashion but nice furniture.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 1, 2016 on Hotels
The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. We had lots of questions, which they answered willingly. The wardrobe door in our room was off one of its hinges, so that should be taken care of. Also, it would be a nice addition to the bathroom to have some hooks for clothes and / or towels. Otherwise, the room was very comfortable.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Friendly and Welcoming - They go the extra mile

Posted Sep 27, 2016 on Hotels
Very good service. They took care of us very well. Gave us early check in and let us keep our stuff in the room so we can go on our early tour. Even though we just arrived in the morning, the front desk person was very nice and insisted we eat some breakfast since he knew we just got off a flight and came straight to the hotel. I would definitely go back. Very welcoming place.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Pleasant hotel

Posted Sep 15, 2016 on Hotels
Great friendly and helpful staff. Hotel is not in central Reykjavik. Ten minutes to the nearest bus stop and then 20 to thirty minutes to the center. If traveling by car about ten minutes to the center. Staff were absolutely amazing and nothing was too much trouble for them. A few restaurants within a few steps of front door. Also the largest shopping center in Iceland is about 200 yards away with a number of fast food restaurants inside.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Philadelphia

Posted Sep 9, 2016 on Hotels
The stay was nice. Room was clean and cozy and the breakfast was awesome.
5 out of 5
by Suresh

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 31, 2016 on Hotels