Ratings based on 69 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Montreal

The hotel is in a good location

Posted Jan 17, 2017
Hotel is in a good location but the rooms are very small I never had such a uncomfortable bed! The bathroom is small and not well organised, small shower with a gigantic shower head, cant take a shower without getting your hair wet.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from w

I would say that it is a nice location on the harb

Posted Jan 16, 2017
I would say that it is a nice location on the harbor but is nowhere near the center of Reykjavík. The staff is overall friendly and helpful. I think the breakfast is average at best. But considering the prices of everything on this island it is a considerable savings eat breakfast on location. The coffee was excellent. The management was courteous and friendly. When we asked for help they were happy to assist us
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Review

Posted Jan 2, 2017
Pros: Staff was helpful, but there is not computer usage. As a result, if you do not bring your own computer or cell phone, you are out of luck.
Cons: I would get a hotel in Reykjavik city.
Location: It is further out of Reklavik than I originally thought when I booked the hotel. Viking restaurant is good but expensive.
Hotel is far from Reykjavik; however there is a bus nearby. The problem is that several tours will not pick you up at the hotel Viking and it cost me $50 to take a taxi 6 miles to a tour pick-up site. I also got a room for one person and there was no place to put your luggage, the heater and TV did not work. they gave me a larger room with double bed, but they charged me $26/day more for the new room. Breakfast was good and the hotel staff was helpful, but they close the desk at around 8pm.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 29, 2016
We stayed at the Hotel Viking for 7 nights and found it to be very pleasant. There's not much around the location though, it's a bit out the way and about a 15min drive to Reykjavik. Would recommend if you're staying there to book a hire car like we did. The staff were very friendly and helpful, as were all the locals we had contact with.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from gb

Beautiful themed hotel

Posted Nov 13, 2016
Lovely stay, great staff the building is decorated with such beauty and you feel as though your in another time compared to the rest of the country. Only down side was the fact the hot tub was by my room and you could hear everything.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Glendale, United States of America

Nice hotel and excellent staff

Posted Nov 10, 2016
Pros: Staff and decor
Cons: Smaller rooms are tiny
Location: Everything is close by
Definitely opt for the upgraded room. The regular rooms are tiny and impossible for 2 people. The staff are excellent and helped out with anything we needed. The restaurant and viking dinner is actually really nice. The decor was very fitting. In an excellent area right on the ocean. Would definitely go back...
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 17, 2016
Facilities are Good, but staff is not that helpful
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel

Posted Sep 24, 2016
Good base for exploring Iceland. 15 minutes car ride to centre of city and 30 minutes to the airport. All staff very welcoming and helpful !
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Fun night for kids

Posted Sep 6, 2016
It's a theme hotel, but it does it well and kids will love it. Large clean rooms with modern bathrooms. The restaurant is surprisingly good, and the hidden hot tub is lovely.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Atlanta, GA

Nice show off hotell, but noisy

Posted Aug 21, 2016
Pros: Decoration.
A nice, decorated in a kich viking style (still nice :)). Unfortunately, hotel's restaurant attract too many noisy diners (well, there is an alarm sign in a viking style there :)). And the road is too close. Otherwise that would be 5 stars.